Fordmods Logo

cams and shims 

Page 1 of 2 [ 17 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

Post subject: cams and shims
Posted: Wed Jan 13, 2010 8:59 am 
Smokin em up

Ride: 98 EL Fairmont GHIA

New Zealand

I have been informed by the local engine rebuilder here that if i want to get a cam grind i dont have to replace my shims as the rockers or something are hydraulic and they all adjust automaticaly. Does this sound correct? Im no cam expert.

98 Fairmont Ghia, T5, 6 Puk Clutch, Extractors, 2.5" Exhaust System, J3 Chip, Dobi Superlows, 17's, B&M Line-Loc.

Post subject: Re: cams and shims
Posted: Wed Jan 13, 2010 9:10 am 
Getting Side Ways

no, you will have to get an extra shim in each rocker arm the same thickness as what has been ground off the cam

wade cams need an extra 1.9mm shim on top of the 1.9mm shim thats already in each rocker arm. The diameter im not sure of though.... just use the same thats already there

Posted: Wed Jan 13, 2010 10:47 am 
Getting Side Ways

Gallery: 27 images

Ride: 1995 EF Fairmont

New Zealand

FordFairmont wrote:
you will have to get an extra shim in each rocker arm the same thickness as what has been ground off the cam

Spot on!! If you get a regrind cam from a cam place, ask how much they take off the lobes so you can get a shim to match it and make up for the extra clearance.

I had a cam place over here in NZ tell me the exact same thing because the fact the run hydraulic lifters. The way i see it, it will only adjust itself to so much extra clearance. I guess it's okay if you like your rocker gear noisy as f**k though :lol:

I tried my regrind cam from (Franklin Cams in Auckland) without any shims and it tapped quite a bit. After speaking with them and a guy who was using a similar cam, i threw in an extra 1mm shim with the standard 1.9mm shim to take up the slack and it quietened down and runs fine now.