Fordmods Logo

cams?? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: cams??
Posted: Wed Aug 12, 2009 10:46 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 210

Joined: 22nd Feb 2007

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EL Falcon 4.0

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Hey i got a Mild Performance Crow Cam and i was wondering do i get it dailed in or what

 

_________________

EL4LTR

mild cam, 2.5 inch lukey exhaust system n genie extractors,Boxed K&N Pod Filter n Big mouth intake,Rolling on 19s, slammed on superlows, shift kitted,XR6 seats,White dash insert with blue back lights n green needles

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cams??
Posted: Wed Aug 12, 2009 11:19 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 11739

Joined: 17th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont, VFR400 racer

Power: 144 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

FORD EL wrote:
Hey i got a Mild Performance Crow Cam and i was wondering do i get it dailed in or what


First it is good to know what cam it is. Standard ECU or aftermarket, manual or auto...

I'll take a stab that you won't really need to dial it in if it is a mild cam in a stock engine with an auto transmission with standard ECU. But if you really want to, you can get it dialled in, assuming you have a vernier gear. You might see a bit of an improvement.

phong =P~

 

_________________

phongus = Post whore 2006
EL XR6 motor, EL ECU + J3 chip, WADE 1673 Camshaft, 3" S/S intake, Pacy 4480, 2.5" Hi flow cat, 2.5" Lukey exhaust.
Max Power = 144.6 rwkw (03/05/2008)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cams??
Posted: Fri Aug 14, 2009 11:55 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 6467

Joined: 18th Dec 2006

Ride: 93 ED sedan

Power: 161 rwkw

Location: Rockhampton
QLD, Australia

ALWAYS dial in a cam.....on the sheet that comes with the cam, should be what grind the cam is and if it has been ground: zero, or advanced or retarded.
If the grind is retarded, and you set it at dot to dot ( std cam timing )...you'll be very displeased with the cam.

 

_________________

http://youtu.be/jJTh9F3Vgg0

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cams??
Posted: Fri Aug 14, 2009 1:50 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 2563

Joined: 19th Feb 2007

Gallery: 21 images

Ride: 98 EL Futura

Power: 199 rwkw

Location: Lilydale
VIC, Australia

With my wade cam i have it advanced 2 degrees to bring the power band back a little. Will this effect the power?

 

_________________

EL Futura: CVE head, Wolf V500, ICE Ignition and Coil, 36lb injectors, Walbro 255lb, Paci comps, 3" exhaust, T5, Harrop Truetrac with 3.9s. Now with 198.9rwkw, (~185rwkw and 13.80 @99.1mph) with more power to come

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cams??
Posted: Fri Aug 14, 2009 9:16 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 6467

Joined: 18th Dec 2006

Ride: 93 ED sedan

Power: 161 rwkw

Location: Rockhampton
QLD, Australia

GeZza200 wrote:
With my wade cam i have it advanced 2 degrees to bring the power band back a little. Will this effect the power?


Advancing the cam timing makes it come in earlier...handy for automatic cars...get off the line a bit quicker, stronger idle, too. It also helps if the ignition timing is bumped up a little too.
I have an EA cam & head, with ED rocker gear, on a 4.0 ED bottom end and running 16.6 degrees base timing, and no pinging on BP ULP....but will ping on Shell ULP....
I can notice the difference with BP ULP (91 RON) and BP PULP (95 RON) and BP Ultimate (98 RON).

 

_________________

http://youtu.be/jJTh9F3Vgg0

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 5 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 33 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 2:42 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names