Post subject: CamShaft Into ED 6 cylinder
Posted: Mon May 04, 2009 8:07 pm 
Technical Contributor

Gallery: 20 images

Ride: ED Falcon

Power: 133 rwkw

NSW, Australia

Hello,

Wanting to buy a wade 1636 cam... couple of questions for you guys out there who have done it...

* Is a vernier gear absolutely crucial?
* Is it possible for the vernier gears like the one pictured to have the bolts come loose?
Attachment:
9cd9_1.JPG
9cd9_1.JPG [ 15.05 KiB | Viewed 160 times ]

* If they can come loose (as i imagine that'd be bad?) can you buy multi keyed ones instead?
* Lastly in regards to dialling in...

They measurements wade gave me for dialling in are "lift @ TDC on no. 1 intake of 0.054" for the 1636 cam"

where would this be measured to? off the top of the cam? or off the top of the valve stem? also if its measured off the top of the cam, which side of the lobe would I be measuring to?

Bear with me as I have never done any of this sort of thing before and as such I am very new to understanding what the hell is going on in regards to cam details...

Thanks,
Tim

93 Red ED 5spd Manual Build Thread

Performance: Complete AUII VCT Wiring & Power Train, Pacey Headers, 2.5" Exhaust, Exedy Clutch, DBA Rotors
Visuals: FG XR Wheel, XR Front, 17's, BA 5 Spd Shifter, BA Ghia Window Switches, NL Cluster
Tunes: 8" Pioneer Sub, JBL Speakers, Clarion Double DIN Headunit

Post subject: Re: CamShaft Into ED 6 cylinder
Posted: Mon May 04, 2009 8:09 pm 
Getting Side Ways

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: 2021 Amarok V6

SA, Australia

well im putting in a CMS 3 cam with no vernier gear, will be interesting to see what happens lol

2021 V6 Manual Amarok - 245kw/750nm - many goodies
1997 EL Fairmont Ghia 4.0 - Heritage Green & Cappa
2010 Suzuki GSX650F - when I want to be silly

Posted: Mon May 04, 2009 8:37 pm 
Fordmods Junkie

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont, VFR400 racer

Power: 144 rwkw

VIC, Australia