Fordmods Logo

camtech cam 

 

Page 2 of 2 [ 20 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2

 
 Post subject: Re: camtech cam
Posted: Tue Feb 09, 2010 11:16 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 24

Posts: 422

Joined: 10th Jul 2009

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Black EB 5 Speed EL Front End

Location: Bundaberg
QLD, Australia

IamSteve wrote:
Vernier adjustable what is that exactly a time wheel of some sort iam i right? a wheel to advance or retard? can some one explain please :!:

its the sprocket that goes on the front of the cam, but it is adjustable unlike the standard one. i think its so you can adjust your cam

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: camtech cam
Posted: Tue Feb 09, 2010 11:33 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 25

Posts: 164

Joined: 17th Oct 2009

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: EF FAIRMONT GHIA 125kw

Location: mildura
VIC, Australia

[/quote]
its the sprocket that goes on the front of the cam, but it is adjustable unlike the standard one. i think its so you can adjust your cam[/quote]


ok thanks so will i have to cut a hole into the head inorder to fit the sprocket to make it work??

 

_________________

OMG DOSE IT ULAY
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: camtech cam
Posted: Tue Feb 09, 2010 12:24 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 6467

Joined: 18th Dec 2006

Ride: 93 ED sedan

Power: 161 rwkw

Location: Rockhampton
QLD, Australia

The Vernier cam sprocket is so you can adjust the cam timing to where it needs to be OR where want it to be....ie: the cam has an advanced grind...meaning when it was ground, it wasn't quite in the centre spot, so it will need to adjusted to get it right.
I have a billet cam that has 1* adv grind.......they can be the other way too, retarded.
Now, when you want to have different timing, usually advance it, by 2* or 4* this gives you more torque off the line.......changing when the torque comes on.

 

_________________

http://youtu.be/jJTh9F3Vgg0

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: camtech cam
Posted: Tue Feb 09, 2010 4:28 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 4326

Joined: 30th Oct 2006

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: Envi EF

Location: Grafton
NSW, Australia

Its a replacement for your original, and no you dont need to cut a hole in the head/rocker lol. When you install it you adjust it to what you want, and to re-adjust you only need to remove the rocker cover, and intake off the BBM, if you have one. Its only a couple of bolts, no big drama.
Like CJH said, advancing generally brings the torque curve lower in the rev range, and for a street car this is what you want. You will lose top end, though IMHO, for a streeter, the extra usable torque down low is well worth it.

 

_________________

>>>EF Futura T build<<<

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: camtech cam
Posted: Tue Feb 09, 2010 7:08 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 25

Posts: 164

Joined: 17th Oct 2009

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: EF FAIRMONT GHIA 125kw

Location: mildura
VIC, Australia

Yer. Thx for all the help

 

_________________

OMG DOSE IT ULAY
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 2  [ 20 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 21 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 5:28 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names