Fordmods Logo

Can I safety D/C oil line to VCT unit if its not being used? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Can I safety D/C oil line to VCT unit if its not being used?
Posted: Mon Aug 22, 2011 5:14 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Posts: 376

Joined: 5th Feb 2009

Ride: Ford Falcon XG

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

Hi all,

I need to change the oil pressure sender on my VCT engine from an AU to XG item. I am still running log manifold and from how it looks there doesnt look like there will be enough room for the XG pressure sender to srew in while the oil line to the VCT unit is in place. It looks as if its going to foul on log manifold.

Am i about to disconnect the oil line safety if its not being used? do i need to do anything else when I unscrew it?

Cheers Dan
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Can I safety D/C oil line to VCT unit if its not being used?
Posted: Mon Aug 22, 2011 7:37 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

if the vct is not connected you can remove the oil line and fit your oil sender straight into the block, but you will also need to block off where the oil line goes to the head, otherwise it will leak some oil..

i have removed my vct oil line and just put a short bolt the same thread as the banjo bolt..

 

 

Attachments:
vct.jpg
vct.jpg [ 94.98 KiB | Viewed 28 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Can I safety D/C oil line to VCT unit if its not being used?
Posted: Mon Aug 22, 2011 8:34 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Posts: 376

Joined: 5th Feb 2009

Ride: Ford Falcon XG

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

awesome thanks Troyman. Also im looking at installing at aftermarket cam in the future and ive heard you say previously that you need to replace cam and cam gear... as in cam sprocket? is there a proper way of swapping cam gear to insure timing isnt effected?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Can I safety D/C oil line to VCT unit if its not being used?
Posted: Mon Aug 22, 2011 8:48 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

yes, i ment swapping cam and cam sprocket.
you can use a non vct au cam and you can also use a e series cam sprocket.
that way you just set the engine at tdc on compression stroke remove the vct cam and sprocket, fit up the au cam and set it up using the line on the sprocket as per e series..

just a heads up, the vct cam sprocket bolt is a large torx bolt.. and the vct unit needs to be removed from the head to un bolt the vct cam gear
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Can I safety D/C oil line to VCT unit if its not being used?
Posted: Mon Aug 22, 2011 8:51 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Posts: 376

Joined: 5th Feb 2009

Ride: Ford Falcon XG

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

many thanks much appreciated
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 5 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 5:27 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names