Fordmods Logo

Cant get my CMS3 cam to idle properly. 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 26 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: Cant get my CMS3 cam to idle properly.
Posted: Sun Sep 20, 2009 4:24 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 5889

Joined: 2nd Mar 2006

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: '14 Grand Cherokee

Location: Port Lincoln
SA, Australia

hi guys, my CMS3 cam was installed in my car yesterday, and i cant seem to get it to idle where i want it too.

if i set the idle at about 800ish, it hunts alot and stalls whenever i put the clutch in while driving.

if i set it about 900, it will idle at that on startup, but the revs will hang HEAPS (takesa bout 5 seconds to go from 2,500rpm to 1,000rpm) and it will idle at about 1,000-1,200 afterwards.

oh and its using over 22L/100km :shock: :shock:

Image

this is where it idles with the idle set to about 800, where it will hunt and stall if i turn the wheel, or apply the brakes.

can anyone shed any light on whats happening here? :?

 

_________________

11/93 ED OPT20 GLi | Full Boat Spec

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Cant get my CMS3 cam to idle properly.
Posted: Sun Sep 20, 2009 4:39 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 907

Joined: 13th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: ef futura/ef fairmont

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

firstly have you disconected the isc? and the 3 does idle rough abd the TPS has to be set to .7-.9.
Thats why a run a 2A cam much more better! idles like stock and still pulls the same as the 3 and doesn't run rich...

 

_________________

custom airbox,custom intake
paccie comps,lukey 2.5 cat back,high flow cat
CMS stg2 head,CMS stg2.A. cam,CMS hybrid auto with mod shift,3.9 lsd
custom 3500rpm hi stall
ANZ mayhem 18's,custom interior,venom body kit,xr wing,jumbo 2' low springs
143rwkw and 407rwnm on CMS dyno

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Cant get my CMS3 cam to idle properly.
Posted: Sun Sep 20, 2009 4:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 5889

Joined: 2nd Mar 2006

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: '14 Grand Cherokee

Location: Port Lincoln
SA, Australia

havent disconnected the ISC, would that help at all if i disconnected it and left it?

and im not too sure how to set the TPS...

 

_________________

11/93 ED OPT20 GLi | Full Boat Spec

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Cant get my CMS3 cam to idle properly.
Posted: Sun Sep 20, 2009 4:56 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 907

Joined: 13th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: ef futura/ef fairmont

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

The 3 wont run properly if the isc is connected! the only problem after this is the car will be a b**ch to start in the morning!but should idle sweet after it warms up, it will still idle rough.
The TPS needs to be set to .7-.9v, and to do that you have to drill the holes on the side of the tps screws out and make it longer to be able to turn the tps from side to side. hook up a meter to the back of the connecter (red pin into the green wire and the black pin to the bottom wire) and turn the tps till it's inbetween .7-.9v

 

_________________

custom airbox,custom intake
paccie comps,lukey 2.5 cat back,high flow cat
CMS stg2 head,CMS stg2.A. cam,CMS hybrid auto with mod shift,3.9 lsd
custom 3500rpm hi stall
ANZ mayhem 18's,custom interior,venom body kit,xr wing,jumbo 2' low springs
143rwkw and 407rwnm on CMS dyno

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Cant get my CMS3 cam to idle properly.
Posted: Sun Sep 20, 2009 5:24 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 3737

Joined: 22nd May 2006

Ride: BF F6 Tornado - #0077

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

Intake gasket? i know its a lumpy cam but it sounds like my idle problems almost exactly.
Is it worth a J3 chip just to fix the idle parameters?

ford-4l-and-6-cylinder-f1/idle-problems-now-made-better-t82446.html

 

_________________

** For Sale ** http://www.fordmods.com/ford-parts-for-sale-f17/assorted-e-series-parts-t124697.html

F6 Tornado 2006 Build

Is it about sex? The engine in my car? Or a cure for cancer?
No?

Then f**k off

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Cant get my CMS3 cam to idle properly.
Posted: Sun Sep 20, 2009 5:44 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

also give the ecu a few days to learn and adjust to the difference in manifold vacc drop the stage 3 cam has..

how does it go otherwise???
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Cant get my CMS3 cam to idle properly.
Posted: Sun Sep 20, 2009 8:14 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 2563

Joined: 19th Feb 2007

Gallery: 21 images

Ride: 98 EL Futura

Power: 199 rwkw

Location: Lilydale
VIC, Australia

I had the same problem with my Wade 1671 cam, it wouldn't idle anything under 900rpm. I d/c the isc but in the morning it was way to hard to get out of the driveway, everytime i would put it in gear and turn, it would stall. I connected the isc back up and got a SCT Eliminator chip and now you cant tell theres even a cam in it. Mine is auto though.

 

_________________

EL Futura: CVE head, Wolf V500, ICE Ignition and Coil, 36lb injectors, Walbro 255lb, Paci comps, 3" exhaust, T5, Harrop Truetrac with 3.9s. Now with 198.9rwkw, (~185rwkw and 13.80 @99.1mph) with more power to come

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Cant get my CMS3 cam to idle properly.
Posted: Sun Sep 20, 2009 9:52 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 5889

Joined: 2nd Mar 2006

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: '14 Grand Cherokee

Location: Port Lincoln
SA, Australia

TROYMAN wrote:
also give the ecu a few days to learn and adjust to the difference in manifold vacc drop the stage 3 cam has..

how does it go otherwise???



it goes brilliant apart from that. the pull it has from 2800rpm is pretty awesome lol. my exhaust is about 5 times louder now though :shock:

yeah i D/C the ISC and it runs a fair bit better now, but it still dosent want to idle on startup like you guys said, cold or warm. but i think i can live with that for a while, lol.

 

_________________

11/93 ED OPT20 GLi | Full Boat Spec

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Cant get my CMS3 cam to idle properly.
Posted: Sun Sep 20, 2009 10:47 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2839

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 50 images

Ride: MYSTERY EL's & Maverick LWB

Power: 198 rwkw

Location: parramatta
NSW, Australia

did you put on another head or did you just do the cam swap .
ive got the CMS3 cam and head package - i too had the same issue but it is just some thing you will get use too . when i start mine on cold mornings it just idles but sounds like a top fuel'r

 

_________________

Chance Favors The Prepared Mind !
For Sale : EL Fairmont 4L 5spd offers, AU Fairlane Ghia 4L vct Stock no mods $3.5k ono
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Cant get my CMS3 cam to idle properly.
Posted: Sun Sep 20, 2009 10:56 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 5889

Joined: 2nd Mar 2006

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: '14 Grand Cherokee

Location: Port Lincoln
SA, Australia

nah just did the cam swap.

 

_________________

11/93 ED OPT20 GLi | Full Boat Spec

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Cant get my CMS3 cam to idle properly.
Posted: Sun Sep 20, 2009 10:58 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1543

Joined: 7th Mar 2007

Ride: ED Pwnage Pwr!!

Location: onawhoopwhoop
SA, Australia

Hey did you put in HD springs aswell? gunna get one of these cams for my AU XR motor but I dunno if I'll need the springs!

 

_________________

Adelaide Motorplex < Click on it! You know you want too!
ED HP AU XR6, Wade, T5, and all the usual stuff!

Quote:
Thats not the point *a**hole

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Cant get my CMS3 cam to idle properly.
Posted: Sun Sep 20, 2009 11:02 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 5889

Joined: 2nd Mar 2006

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: '14 Grand Cherokee

Location: Port Lincoln
SA, Australia

4LEDboy wrote:
Hey did you put in HD springs aswell? gunna get one of these cams for my AU XR motor but I dunno if I'll need the springs!


my engine has a Tickford head so i didnt need to change the springs.

 

_________________

11/93 ED OPT20 GLi | Full Boat Spec

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Cant get my CMS3 cam to idle properly.
Posted: Mon Sep 21, 2009 9:34 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 907

Joined: 13th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: ef futura/ef fairmont

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

the 3 will need springs if not ticky head. thats why i'm not a fan of the 3 idles like s**t! and runs rich as.

 

_________________

custom airbox,custom intake
paccie comps,lukey 2.5 cat back,high flow cat
CMS stg2 head,CMS stg2.A. cam,CMS hybrid auto with mod shift,3.9 lsd
custom 3500rpm hi stall
ANZ mayhem 18's,custom interior,venom body kit,xr wing,jumbo 2' low springs
143rwkw and 407rwnm on CMS dyno

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Cant get my CMS3 cam to idle properly.
Posted: Mon Sep 21, 2009 8:07 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2839

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 50 images

Ride: MYSTERY EL's & Maverick LWB

Power: 198 rwkw

Location: parramatta
NSW, Australia

you loved driving my Green EL , troy :P

 

_________________

Chance Favors The Prepared Mind !
For Sale : EL Fairmont 4L 5spd offers, AU Fairlane Ghia 4L vct Stock no mods $3.5k ono
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Cant get my CMS3 cam to idle properly.
Posted: Fri Sep 25, 2009 1:04 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Posts: 264

Joined: 30th May 2006

Gallery: 16 images

Power: 165 rwkw

Location: Penrith
NSW, Australia

I had same problem with idle and fuel I was running about 18.9L/100, I got T.I performance to make me a chip and it runs a heap better and getting 12.2L/100. except for when cold,with isc on theres rev hang, I put a switch in to turn on/off the isc problem fixed.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 8:08 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names