Fordmods Logo

CAPA's Flash Tuner 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 13 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: CAPA's Flash Tuner
Posted: Sun Nov 20, 2005 9:01 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 3

Joined: 20th Nov 2005

Ride: BA XR6

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

Im just wonderin about weather or not to use this product worried about the warrenty and all, but the car needs more go.

Has any1 used this thing (http://www.capa.com.au/ford_flash_tuner.htm)

and will i still beable to take it off and bring it back to standard without the guys at ford knowing, if need be to claim warrenty stuff when it goes into the workshop
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 20, 2005 9:22 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6449

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

you don't deserve warranty if that is your atitude.

 

_________________

PERMANENTLY BANNED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 20, 2005 9:56 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 3928

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: ED 5 Speed GLiXR

Location: Now in Brisbane
QLD, Australia

yes you can return the car to stock tune by the press of a button. Apparently they are really good, read a few magazine tests and reviews of it. My dad is about to put his order in for one, in the next month or so.
But i would definately get it.

 

_________________

17" Tezza Steelies, King F**king lows, pedders sports ryders, 2.5" cat back exhaust, pacemaker extractors, T5 manual
Low, loud and Slow

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 20, 2005 10:35 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 50

Posts: 480

Joined: 10th Feb 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: EF Fairmont Station Wagon.

Power: 150 rwkw

Location: Mandurah
WA, Australia

The Ford ECU will record fault codes when the flash tuner is used, and your friendly Ford dealer will know what has been done and you will void your warranty. This is not from personal experience but has been mentioned in posts several times.

 

_________________

4.0L EF Fairmont Station Wagon. EL GT Snorkel. K&N Pod in air box. 3" Intake piping.
Home port job. 1636 Wade cam. Wildcat Extractors, 2 1/2" cat and exhaust.
2200/2400rpm Dominator More Stall. Stage two mechanical shift kit. 3.73 4 pinion LSD. 15.078 @ 92mph.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Nov 20, 2005 10:52 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 2282

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: ED Fairmont Ghia & EF XR8

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

WagonDad wrote:
The Ford ECU will record fault codes when the flash tuner is used, and your friendly Ford dealer will know what has been done and you will void your warranty. This is not from personal experience but has been mentioned in posts several times.


yes even if the flash tuner is removed and the original system retured to stock the ecu will flash numerous error codes but there are places (herrods and ipv) who can install the flash tuner and give you a guantee that it will not void your warrenty (that is ofcourse if you dont do anything else to the car)

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 21, 2005 10:44 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 371

Joined: 28th Jan 2005

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

if u dont want the warrenty plug it in. if u want to keep it dont use it, i know for a fact its very simple for ford to see what you've done to the ecu.

 

_________________

EF XR8 - 5speed, Extractors & Exhaust

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 21, 2005 12:15 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 60

Joined: 31st Jul 2005

Location: auckland
New Zealand

tell us how ford will now that you have a flash tuner installed
when you return it to the original software programme before taking ithe car into the ford dealer
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 21, 2005 6:15 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 371

Joined: 28th Jan 2005

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

like the other guys said, error codes will show up, when ford plug in their computer they can see these codes and will be able to tell what caused them.

 

_________________

EF XR8 - 5speed, Extractors & Exhaust

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 21, 2005 6:54 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 573

Joined: 5th Jun 2005

Ride: BA XR6 Turbo

Power: 221 rwkw

Location: A
ACT, Australia

They plug in a thing called a WDS which is a computer which reads fault codes in ur cars ECU, it can read anything that has a sensor, and its how they work out what is broken on things. When u have a flash tuner plugged in even if u return it 2 normal then there is going 2 b codes that show up saying the ECU has been tampered with.
Like every1 said if u want warranty then don’t plug it in, and if u still don’t believe any of us then plug it in and see what happens next time u go 2 ur local dealer and try and claim something on warranty.

 

_________________

ED XR6 manual for sale. MOMO steering wheel and alot of extra's. PM for more info.


BA XR6 Turbo- 238.8rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 21, 2005 7:39 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 2282

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: ED Fairmont Ghia & EF XR8

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

xr8man wrote:
tell us how ford will now that you have a flash tuner installed
when you return it to the original software programme before taking ithe car into the ford dealer


the ford diagnostic tool will flash a s**t load of error codes meaning that the managment system has been tampered with

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 21, 2005 9:20 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 60

Joined: 31st Jul 2005

Location: auckland
New Zealand

well next time we get a falcon in at work that has been upgraded i will plug in the wds and see if there are a s**t load of codes. providing its been reset to factory settings
as we have sold a few capa flash units
we had training by the distributor
how it works it inhails factory settings then exhails the written programme
vice versa when it is reset to factory settings
the wds is not that smart neither is the new pds
are you talking from experence
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 21, 2005 9:37 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 573

Joined: 5th Jun 2005

Ride: BA XR6 Turbo

Power: 221 rwkw

Location: A
ACT, Australia

sorta, i use the WDS and the PDS when we cant use the WDS at work, but we have neva used it on a car that has had the Flash tuner on it....... or we could have but we just didnt know. I dout it though and besides the PDS is the same thing pretty much as the WDS, its just smaller.

 

_________________

ED XR6 manual for sale. MOMO steering wheel and alot of extra's. PM for more info.


BA XR6 Turbo- 238.8rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 21, 2005 9:48 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 60

Joined: 31st Jul 2005

Location: auckland
New Zealand

i do know if ya do a pcm upgrade it will wipe the flash unit settings
and return the pcm to the latest factory upgrade
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 13 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 29 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 4:01 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names