Fordmods Logo

Car stalling with ISC disconnected 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Car stalling with ISC disconnected
Posted: Fri Jul 28, 2006 4:50 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 147

Joined: 9th Mar 2006

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

hey guys my cars been idling rough lately and i tried to disconnect the ISC, but my car just stalls? how come?

cheer's guys
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 28, 2006 5:08 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 53

Posts: 487

Joined: 8th Apr 2006

Ride: ba xls ute

Location: tweed heads
NSW, Australia

thats nomal they all do it
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 28, 2006 5:46 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

The car should run without the ISC. If it doesnt, turn the idle screw up until it does.

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 28, 2006 5:59 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 691

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Ride: EFII Sedan

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Only problem with that is that it will idle its nuts off after it warms up

 

_________________

EF II Sedan
Ex Chaser, Dual Fuel (Impco LPG)
LSD High, 3.23, Black wheels, other shiny bits.

EB II Sedan <--- R.I.P. (Rest in pieces - gone to the wreckers for $50...... bargain!)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 28, 2006 6:10 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 520

Joined: 23rd Dec 2005

Ride: EF Futura Wagon

Location: Toowoomba
QLD, Australia

The car should not run with the ISC disconnected until you turn up the idle speed screw. You will need to find a compromise between rough idle when cold and fast idle when hot. Make sure you count how many turns it takes as this will make it easy when you reconnect the ISC. To set ISC properly you need to put car into diagnostics, place a 0.75mm feeler between the idle stop and idle speed screw and adjust rpm to 650. Do this all within 2 minutes otherwise turn car off wait 30sec and start over.

cheers
Scott

 

_________________

If it doesn't fit, jam it. If that doesn't work use a hammer. - Engineers Motto

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 28, 2006 6:10 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3083

Joined: 22nd Sep 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: EF

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

i dont have an ISC, and mine runs fine :)

rough idle could be, isc, leads, bad plugs, all sorts of things, have you tried a computer reset? can sometimes help.

but as stockstandard said you should be able to get it to idle without the isc plugged in.

 

_________________

Image
latest mod: A Service
MY BUILD THREAD

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 28, 2006 6:16 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 691

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Ride: EFII Sedan

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

I suppose what you could do is have a switch inside to give the ISC full power when its cold, then turn it off for a warm setting. On the EB, I had a switch where I could flick it to "manual" control, and I had a Jaycar DC motor controller circuit control the RPM from a knob on the steering column.

If you just used a switch, and idle was too much when it was on, just make another gasket with a smaller hole in it.

My EB ISC was closed till power was applied, but I think the EF one is partly open with no power. You'll need to check this first.

 

_________________

EF II Sedan
Ex Chaser, Dual Fuel (Impco LPG)
LSD High, 3.23, Black wheels, other shiny bits.

EB II Sedan <--- R.I.P. (Rest in pieces - gone to the wreckers for $50...... bargain!)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 28, 2006 8:40 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 1687

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: 1994 ED Ricer

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

thats a great idea ebgizmo.

Mine is d/c and idles at about 900rpm..
bit of a b**ch in the morning but once its running for a coiuple of minutes it wont stall at idle..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 28, 2006 9:58 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

I have a kind of automatic manual version on mine.

First there is a thin metal gasket with 4mm holes cut so that the full open to full close difference is 200-300 rpm on a warm engine. The +ve side of the IAC is connected as normal and the -ve side is grounded by one of two relays. The first relay is controlled by engine temperature, so when the engine is cold the IAC is open. The second relays is activated by the A/C clutch so the engine wont stall whent he air con switches on and off.

Its a bit of a complicated setup, but the ECU cant control the IAC for s**t when you have a decent sized cam and this works well.

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jul 28, 2006 11:24 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5924

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Ford FPV FG F6 310

Power: 149 rwkw

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

thats not a bad idea at all but im too lazy to have a go at it.

 

_________________

NEW RIDE - FPV FG F6 6spd Auto. 12.26@114MPH, 1.88 60FT on Cheapy Tyres with 38PSI - Stock except K&N filter!

R.I.P. BF XR6 Turbo - You will not be forgotten :( 12.06@120MPH

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Facebook [Bot] and 30 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 9:32 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names