Fordmods Logo

Car 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Car
Posted: Thu Oct 05, 2006 12:53 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 144

Joined: 29th Apr 2006

Location: Moonta
SA, Australia

also just wondered how do you test the dash clusters before you put them in to cars can you do it yourself or do you have to get a mechanic to di it and also can a mechanic turn the electronic odometer in the electronic dash clusters to keep the same readings as the old analogue dash or do you have to send it away and if we have to send it do we have to send the old dash cluster as well and how long all up would it take and how much does it cost including freight. i look foward to your reply
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 05, 2006 1:17 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Test them by putting them into the car, unless you have a bunch of variable resistors, and a square wave generator (2 channel) there's no real other way of testing them.

As for the odometer, there is a way, but its easier to just keep the reading thats on there. not to mention its illegal to wind them around. Thats why lower Ks ones cost more than higher ks.


Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 05, 2006 2:41 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 144

Joined: 29th Apr 2006

Location: Moonta
SA, Australia

so why would you keep the readings on the new dash and not wind the new odometer to match the readings of the old one if you know how many kms the cars done what do you do with the old odometer readings if you suggest to keep the odometer readings on the new dash if i just wanted to upgrade to an electronic one and do you mean its illegal to wind the new odometer higher to suit the readings on the old one if you know how many kms the cars done or all up because i want to keep the exact reading for the new dash from the old one
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 05, 2006 3:50 pm 
Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 40

Posts: 2327

Joined: 6th Oct 2005

Ride: 93EB Fairmont / BA Falcon XR6T

Location: Western Sydney
NSW, Australia

:? think about it. if your car has less kays on it its value is higher hence lower clusters are worth more. i know you want the same kays but if you go to a place and ask them to wind up your speedo they will think your mad. and yes it is illegal to tamper with them.

 

_________________

93 EB II Fairmon8 with 17' EL GT's / Clear indicators / H.I.Ds / Sports exhaust / Lowered 2' / K&N / XR6 ECU.
2004 BA MKI XR6T in Lightning Strike paint / K&N / XR8 bonnet / BF lights and a few tweaks.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 05, 2006 3:53 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 1679

Joined: 9th Jul 2005

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: BA XR6 TURBO

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

of a***, there isnt much way they can find out but I wouldnt bother
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 05, 2006 3:57 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 26

Posts: 1028

Joined: 13th Jul 2006

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

In order to keep your readings, the cluster must be pretty much the same and you have to de-solder and re-solder to the new cluster the old cluster's EEPROM chip. This is fiddly, but in some cases worthwile.

You can't really test the cluster without attatching a car to it. :P

The KMs can't be wound forward either, as the Cluster computer reads the Speed being reported and calculates it based on that, rather than a throttle cable physically winding the clock.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 05, 2006 3:57 pm 
Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 40

Posts: 2327

Joined: 6th Oct 2005

Ride: 93EB Fairmont / BA Falcon XR6T

Location: Western Sydney
NSW, Australia

id be happier if my car had lower kays i wouldnt wind them up.

 

_________________

93 EB II Fairmon8 with 17' EL GT's / Clear indicators / H.I.Ds / Sports exhaust / Lowered 2' / K&N / XR6 ECU.
2004 BA MKI XR6T in Lightning Strike paint / K&N / XR8 bonnet / BF lights and a few tweaks.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 05, 2006 5:51 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 144

Joined: 29th Apr 2006

Location: Moonta
SA, Australia

so is there an authorised cluster callibration speciallist to swap the odometer readings legally of illegaly
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 05, 2006 8:08 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

As said you cans swap the EEPROMs over if you really want, but they're SMDs and as also said can be fiddley.

As for specialist, I wouldnt have a clue. But you'd be looking for someone with an EEPROM programmer, and someone that knows their s**t. The memory used is fairly common, so it shouldn't be too much a problem. Personally Id just keep the reading that is there.


Good luck

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 9 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 1:13 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names