Fordmods Logo

Fordmods Advertising

Changing Serpentine Belt 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Changing Serpentine Belt
Posted: Sun Apr 12, 2009 4:39 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 3183

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EF Falcon

Location: Townsville
QLD, Australia

Bit of a school boy question here, i am trying to change the serpentine belt on the EF and havent done it before, how do i release the belt tensioner? :lol:

i've got the belt cover off and the thermos out, just not 100% sure on the workings of the tensioner

cheers

 

_________________

Nicco's M112 Blown, T-56 equipped EF
forums/viewtopic.php?t=68319

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Changing Serpentine Belt
Posted: Sun Apr 12, 2009 4:49 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 35

Posts: 4092

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

Use a 3/8th breaker bar (or ratchet as you've taken the thermo's out) and insert it in the lower pulley square hole.
Lever the tensioner so that the bottom heads towards the harmonic balancer.

ie: the top of the breaker bar goes towards the top radiator pipe.

You can actually replace the belt without any tools by pulling the belt from the alternator towards the power steering pump.


Follow the diagram above your head on the bonnet.

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Changing Serpentine Belt
Posted: Sun Apr 12, 2009 5:48 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 3183

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: EF Falcon

Location: Townsville
QLD, Australia

cheers for that, all done now

bit of an agricultural set up isnt it! :lol:

 

_________________

Nicco's M112 Blown, T-56 equipped EF
forums/viewtopic.php?t=68319

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Changing Serpentine Belt
Posted: Sun Apr 12, 2009 8:52 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 6351

Joined: 18th Dec 2006

Ride: 93 ED sedan

Power: 161 rwkw

Location: Rockhampton
QLD, Australia

nicco wrote:
cheers for that, all done now

bit of an agricultural set up isnt it! :lol:


Not really, the EA to ED is agricultural........ :lol:

 

_________________

http://youtu.be/jJTh9F3Vgg0

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Changing Serpentine Belt
Posted: Mon Apr 13, 2009 8:34 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 45

Posts: 360

Joined: 3rd Jan 2005

Ride: AU XR6 with BF Turbo engine

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

at least the ford has a diagram under the bonnet. Commodres have in the user manual

 

_________________

RIP :( 1x confused Falcon..EL Falcon with full AU running gear...VCT, 5 speed, IRS, AUII front suspension, brakes, and steering RIP

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: Changing Serpentine Belt
Posted: Mon Apr 13, 2009 9:42 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 44

Posts: 1057

Joined: 7th Sep 2007

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BF3 Egas wag SY AWD Terry Ghia

Location: Brookfield
VIC, Australia

I changed mine the day after I bought the car it shredded whilst driving home. I was near supercheap so got a new belt and swapped it with no tools. lasted longer the 2nd time.

I had a pulley seize 7 months ago and the like new belt got wrecked as well.
Don't ignore nasty noises from the front of the engine.

 

_________________

BF3 Egas XT Wagon
SY Territory Ghia AWD 6spA :))

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 6 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Allan Gray and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Sep 22, 2014 9:09 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names