Fordmods Logo

computer swap 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 5 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: computer swap
Posted: Sat Jan 07, 2012 2:24 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 51

Posts: 18

Joined: 6th May 2010

Ride: el falcon

Location: cairns qld
QLD, Australia

Q. can you swap the computer from a el or ef & swap it with an au model computer any help would be greatlt appreciated :mrgreen:
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: computer swap
Posted: Sat Jan 07, 2012 2:40 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

EF and EL cannot be swapped.

EF and AU Series 1 (smartlock) can be swapped apparently but i haven't had any success doing so.

EF and AU run Coilpack.

EA-ED, EL run Distributor and have 60odd pin ECU's. EF and AU run 100+ pins.
they physically wont fit.

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: computer swap
Posted: Sat Jan 07, 2012 3:23 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 25

Posts: 4599

Joined: 30th Aug 2010

Ride: BF XR6,

Location: NEWCASTLE
NSW, Australia

Krytox wrote:
EF and EL cannot be swapped.

EF and AU Series 1 (smartlock) can be swapped apparently but i haven't had any success doing so.

EF and AU run Coilpack.

EA-ED, EL run Distributor and have 60odd pin ECU's. EF and AU run 100+ pins.
they physically wont fit.

yeah mate as krytox said,
altho never herd of putting the au series 1 in the ef before and working

 

_________________

BF XR6
xr8 snorkel,typhoon lower snorkel,territory intake pipe,20% underdrive kit,pacemaker extractors,high flow cat,xforce exhaust,t56 conversion hd turbo clutch/ flywheel,m86 3.45 lsd,custom tune187.1rwkw as an auto

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: computer swap
Posted: Sun Jan 08, 2012 3:09 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 51

Posts: 18

Joined: 6th May 2010

Ride: el falcon

Location: cairns qld
QLD, Australia

thanks guys just wondering if it could be done may be someone will put au into ef 8-)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: computer swap
Posted: Sun Jan 08, 2012 3:52 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

Also tried AU Series 1 into EF and failed. Its not a direct swap of the ECU's BTW, there are a significant number of pins that have changed between the EF and AU. I reworked the EF ECU and Engine loom to accomodate these changes and I went to a large amount of research before hand and even with the AU motor and sensors was unable to get Injectors firing or starter to work. I believe that the issue wass incompatability with the EF BEM.
As a final try I did try an AU BEM and that did not work out either due to it either not being the issue or it being faulty. In the end I gave up after a week with the car off the road and returned to the EF ECU.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 5 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 26 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 6:48 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names