Fordmods Logo

Crow Cam Installed giving problems 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 21 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: Crow Cam Installed giving problems
Posted: Fri Mar 21, 2008 1:50 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 996

Joined: 9th Aug 2005

Ride: BA XR6T ute

Location: frankston
VIC, Australia

hey guys sorry bout another cam question but ive done research and answers are contradicting....

I installed what i was told to be "CROW STAGE 3" part #2222549 cam and ELXR6 head into my car .....

upon startup the car wont stay running unless idle is cranked to 1000RPM and then hunts in gear. Took to mechanic and they checked and said timing is correct but there is a vacuum loss of some sort and that i would need to install a performance chip to suit.

but looking at the sticky cam page it doesnt say it and guy i bought the cam off said that most likely wouldnt need chip upgrade

can any1 answer and if i do need a chip is there any places in victoria coz ive been pointed in the direction of "chiptorque" but being in queensland makes everythin a tad difficult
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 21, 2008 2:11 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 5858

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: '95 EF's

Location: Leederville
WA, Australia

i had a crow stage 2 in my ef, hunted, stalled etc, until i chucked in an xr6 ecu, then held idle - so i'm not surprised! mate of mine had crow stg 3 in his ef, and had a chiptorque to control it, otherwise it just ran like a pig

 

_________________

R.I.P. Scotty

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 21, 2008 2:16 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6166

Joined: 8th May 2007

i will assume its auto?

and you said the mechanic checked the timing..... does that mean he measured TDC of piston one instead of relying on the balancer mark thats possibly slipped?

did you give him the cam spec sheet and get him to dial the cam in at the specified lift? Probably not.......

I remember everytime i reset the ECU with my 1636 installed, it would take a week for the idle to settle so maybe give it time. And adjust the throttle body screw back to about 750rpm and so the revs dont 'hang' when revving the car.

Thats all i can say really, with the info given?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 21, 2008 2:39 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 56

Joined: 22nd Feb 2008

Ride: DF LTD

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

you do know how to set a base idle correctly?just disconnect the IAC, and with no accessories turned on ie. headlights, wipers, stereo, A/C, adjust the screw so the engine idles at 750 / 800rpm

 

_________________

'95 DF LTD - 18inch LWT wheels, Aunger snorkel, lowered 2'', 2'5inch cat back exhaust with magnaflow muffler, DBA slotted front rotors

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 21, 2008 2:41 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6166

Joined: 8th May 2007

limited wrote:
disconnect the IAC, and with no accessories turned on ie. headlights, wipers, stereo, A/C, adjust the screw so the engine idles at 750 / 800rpm


haha i did that then then i plugged in the isc again the revs went to 3000rpm and stayed theyre
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 21, 2008 3:16 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 66

Posts: 2548

Joined: 18th Mar 2006

Ride: EF-XR8chaser

Location: wollongong
NSW, Australia

go to crow cams web site and put your details in to the cam selector guide,you may get technical feed back on the problem.

 

_________________

R.I.P HANS HARTMAN

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 21, 2008 3:45 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 6467

Joined: 18th Dec 2006

Ride: 93 ED sedan

Power: 161 rwkw

Location: Rockhampton
QLD, Australia

FordFairmont wrote:
limited wrote:
disconnect the IAC, and with no accessories turned on ie. headlights, wipers, stereo, A/C, adjust the screw so the engine idles at 750 / 800rpm


haha i did that then then i plugged in the isc again the revs went to 3000rpm and stayed theyre


That sounds like a prob with the ISC valve.

 

_________________

http://youtu.be/jJTh9F3Vgg0

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 21, 2008 4:54 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6166

Joined: 8th May 2007

cjh wrote:
FordFairmont wrote:
limited wrote:
disconnect the IAC, and with no accessories turned on ie. headlights, wipers, stereo, A/C, adjust the screw so the engine idles at 750 / 800rpm


haha i did that then then i plugged in the isc again the revs went to 3000rpm and stayed theyre


That sounds like a prob with the ISC valve.


yeah it seems like it, but if you completely back off the throttle body screw and have the isc connected it runs fine..... so the isc must be doing something right?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 21, 2008 7:22 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 6467

Joined: 18th Dec 2006

Ride: 93 ED sedan

Power: 161 rwkw

Location: Rockhampton
QLD, Australia

How clean is the ISC valve & the throttle body????

 

_________________

http://youtu.be/jJTh9F3Vgg0

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Mar 21, 2008 8:03 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6166

Joined: 8th May 2007

both have been cleaned...... isc numerous times, prolly is buggered but cant justify spending 150 odd dollars on it when the car seems to run fine.

But the only problem is it wont let you set base idle
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 22, 2008 8:28 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 6467

Joined: 18th Dec 2006

Ride: 93 ED sedan

Power: 161 rwkw

Location: Rockhampton
QLD, Australia

Has the inlet man. gasket been replaced???? I have seen them come loose ( gasket shrinks ), and the gasket dries out, cracks, and a vacuum leak happens.
Another one I saw once was the BBM on an EL that wasn't machined properly between the top & bottom halves and had a vacuum leak. The customer complained that the car never seemed right from the day he bought it, and any wonder after finding that.

 

_________________

http://youtu.be/jJTh9F3Vgg0

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Mar 22, 2008 8:59 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 56

Joined: 22nd Feb 2008

Ride: DF LTD

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

try banging on the top of the iac with a screwdriver handle and see if the idle speed changes.also make sure the map sensor vacuum hose is on correctly, could also be your vacuum leak

 

_________________

'95 DF LTD - 18inch LWT wheels, Aunger snorkel, lowered 2'', 2'5inch cat back exhaust with magnaflow muffler, DBA slotted front rotors

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 23, 2008 12:16 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 996

Joined: 9th Aug 2005

Ride: BA XR6T ute

Location: frankston
VIC, Australia

where do i find the isc??
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Mar 23, 2008 2:13 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 48

Posts: 7029

Joined: 18th Apr 2005

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

on the T/B. cylindrical thingy that looks like a flux capacitor.

 

_________________

Mind f**k!!! it works on feeble minded ignorant sheeples... there's plenty of em on this site... some are very intelligent but by god they are so thick!!!

Pakrat wrote:
You can buy them seppertly

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Mar 24, 2008 3:19 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 996

Joined: 9th Aug 2005

Ride: BA XR6T ute

Location: frankston
VIC, Australia

im gonna need a bit more of an explenation
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: tidy au and 28 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 2:10 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names