Fordmods Logo

cruise control stopped working 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 17 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: cruise control stopped working
Posted: Mon Oct 05, 2009 7:03 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 119

Joined: 26th May 2009

Ride: EF II XR6

Location: Donvale
VIC, Australia

i fitted cruise control to my ef xr6 about 3 months ago and it worked fine, a few weeks ago it would only work about half the time and now not at all. at first i thought it might be the automatic transmission link thing as when i installed it i just cut the wires and joined them together but last week i soldered the plug back on and attached the dummy plug that joins the two together but still nothing. i just replaced the cruise control module cos i thought it might be that but it still wont work. when i press the on button the cruise symbol comes on in the dash but thats about it, any ideas what it could be?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cruise control stopped working
Posted: Mon Oct 05, 2009 7:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1008

Joined: 21st Dec 2004

Ride: ED V8

Location: driving under the sun........now!
WA, Australia

Make sure your brake lights are working.

Common cause of this problem is the brake pedal switch, which forms part of the cruise setup too.

 

_________________

ED XR8 Spri-mitatio-nt

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cruise control stopped working
Posted: Mon Oct 05, 2009 7:21 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 119

Joined: 26th May 2009

Ride: EF II XR6

Location: Donvale
VIC, Australia

yeah brake lights are working fine
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cruise control stopped working
Posted: Mon Oct 05, 2009 9:40 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 638

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Ride: 1994 Ford EF Fairmont Ghia Sedan

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

So all your brake lights are working?

I have had cruise not work if even 1 break light or taillight does not work (blown globe) also re-check your brake switch and make sure the it is still connected with the cruise

 

_________________

1994 ford fairmont ghia - Currently 302 with T5 - Work in progress :P

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cruise control stopped working
Posted: Mon Oct 05, 2009 9:46 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 119

Joined: 26th May 2009

Ride: EF II XR6

Location: Donvale
VIC, Australia

yep all brake lights working, i removed my spoiler two weeks ago but the cruise control stopped working before that but would where the brake light on the spoiler was pluged in affect it?
i've also taken the brake switch completely out then re-connected it back up
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cruise control stopped working
Posted: Mon Oct 05, 2009 9:53 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 638

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Ride: 1994 Ford EF Fairmont Ghia Sedan

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

ok, so you removed your spoiler? Did you connect up the brake light in the rear window? If not, then this needs to be connected. I think that there will be an extension loom from the centre light to the spoiler light. Please correct me if i am wrong ppls.

Ok your brake switch. You should a wire that is connected to the cruise control module. Also is it manual? do u have a clutch switch? if so, have you checked the wirining on that.

And lastly but not least, have you checked the fuse?

 

_________________

1994 ford fairmont ghia - Currently 302 with T5 - Work in progress :P

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cruise control stopped working
Posted: Mon Oct 05, 2009 10:09 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 119

Joined: 26th May 2009

Ride: EF II XR6

Location: Donvale
VIC, Australia

I added the brake light to the back window but there was an empty bulb holder already there that i just added the globe and the plug for the spoiler light i just left empty in the boot lid.
All the wiring for the brake switch and druise control module looks to be as it was when i installed the cruise control.
I didnt know there was a fuse for the cruise control, where is it?
And the car is auto (unfortunately)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cruise control stopped working
Posted: Mon Oct 05, 2009 10:39 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 638

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Ride: 1994 Ford EF Fairmont Ghia Sedan

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Ok so we can rule out the clutch switch then :wink:

I think if i remember rightly it is in the fuse box next to the steering colum and it is the middle row about half way through.

sorry just checked and the middle row far right. Labelled "Auto CC"

 

_________________

1994 ford fairmont ghia - Currently 302 with T5 - Work in progress :P

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cruise control stopped working
Posted: Mon Oct 05, 2009 10:43 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 214

Joined: 7th Nov 2006

Ride: Territory TS TDCi

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

comhelp wrote:
Ok so we can rule out the clutch switch then :wink:

I think if i remember rightly it is in the fuse box next to the steering colum and it is the middle row about half way through.

sorry just checked and the middle row far right. Labelled "Auto CC"


iirc thats the [auto] climate control fuse. i don't think cruise has its own fuse, its with something else.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cruise control stopped working
Posted: Mon Oct 05, 2009 11:25 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 119

Joined: 26th May 2009

Ride: EF II XR6

Location: Donvale
VIC, Australia

ok ill check every fuse i can find and hopefully that will work, i need it to work im too lazy
thanks for all your help guys
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cruise control stopped working
Posted: Tue Oct 06, 2009 12:25 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 1934

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Ride: BA Falcon XR8

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

Could possibly be the clockspring too...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cruise control stopped working
Posted: Tue Oct 06, 2009 2:10 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 119

Joined: 26th May 2009

Ride: EF II XR6

Location: Donvale
VIC, Australia

all the fuses are fine
how could the clock springs affect it?

cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cruise control stopped working
Posted: Tue Oct 06, 2009 2:27 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 50

Posts: 259

Joined: 21st Aug 2008

Ride: Fairlane Concorde 4.0

Location: wagga
NSW, Australia

You will have to disconnect the connector on the side of the cruise control servo unit for the following checks. Check for 12V between pin 7 (from fuse)and pin 10 (chassis) with reds on. Check between pin 4 (brake light switch) and pin 10 (chassis). You should have nothing or a small voltage (couple hundred millivolts). If you press the brake pedal, this measurement should go to 12V or better.

Also make sure the horn works as this fuse powers the switches on the steering wheel.

If that checks out, we need to verify your cruise switches on the steering wheel are working. We know the cruise is turning on but is it engaging? If you measure between pins 5 and 6 of the cc servo connector(connector disconnected) with a multimeter. Press the SET+ switch and you should read approx 680 ohms.

PS. Have you checked the pressure switch on the side of the master cylinder. It is a safety switch (backup) if the brake light switch fails. It must be low resistance (Less than 1 ohm) to function correctly. This switch works opposite to the brake light switch. 12V to pin 9 when cruise engaged and open circuit when excessive pressure applied to pedal (backup mode).

 

_________________

NF Fairlane: Non Factory Dual Fuel - New coolant tank, New fuel injectors, New fuel pump, New earth cable, ECU capacitors replaced, New O2 sensor, leads and plugs, New Radiator/Condensor cleaned. 483,000kms. AU I6 Powered. Struts, Shockies, Tie rods and ball joints replaced.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cruise control stopped working
Posted: Tue Oct 06, 2009 7:09 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 119

Joined: 26th May 2009

Ride: EF II XR6

Location: Donvale
VIC, Australia

ok ill get my hands on a multi meter and try that. thanks
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: cruise control stopped working
Posted: Wed Oct 07, 2009 3:11 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 119

Joined: 26th May 2009

Ride: EF II XR6

Location: Donvale
VIC, Australia

i couldnt get a multi meter but i replaced the brake switch and i had a spare set of cruise control switches, so i put that in and it worked for a little bit then stopped again. ive replaced every component of the cruise control except the cable from the module to the throttle.
anyone have any ideas what it could be or should i just take it to an auto elec and let them worry about?
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Facebook [Bot], Google [Bot] and 25 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 6:55 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names