Fordmods Logo

cruise stopped working 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 8 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: cruise stopped working
Posted: Sun Jan 18, 2009 8:08 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 238

Joined: 31st Jan 2008

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: EF

Location: ballarat
VIC, Australia

yesterday i went for a cruise only to find out my cruise control doesnt work. the cruise light comes on but when i press the set button nothing happens. has anyone had this problem or knows the solution?

 

_________________

If it has wheels or a skirt, You can't afford it.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 18, 2009 8:13 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

Check that your brake lights are not stuck on.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 18, 2009 8:54 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 61

Posts: 437

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

Ride: EL GHIA

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

check 2 c if your brake lights work at all

i had a simular problem after using a trailer with faulty wiring - fix was just replace blown fuse
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 18, 2009 8:58 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Posts: 244

Joined: 6th Apr 2008

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

i had the exact same issue the other week, turned out it was leading up to my brake pedal switch going completely cactus, id bet my money your switch is on its way out and has stopped your cruise
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 19, 2009 7:16 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 27

Posts: 238

Joined: 31st Jan 2008

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: EF

Location: ballarat
VIC, Australia

how do i diagnose it?

 

_________________

If it has wheels or a skirt, You can't afford it.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 19, 2009 7:52 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Posts: 244

Joined: 6th Apr 2008

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

only way to tell for sure is if A brake lights are stuck on, B brake lights dont work, C replace and hope for the best.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 19, 2009 7:53 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 11739

Joined: 17th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont, VFR400 racer

Power: 144 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

check if your brake light fuse is blown. If it isn't then sit in the car and push the brake pedal down, and get a mate to have a look if the lights come on, if they don't then switch might be broken....

but check fuses first.

phong =P~

 

_________________

phongus = Post whore 2006
EL XR6 motor, EL ECU + J3 chip, WADE 1673 Camshaft, 3" S/S intake, Pacy 4480, 2.5" Hi flow cat, 2.5" Lukey exhaust.
Max Power = 144.6 rwkw (03/05/2008)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 19, 2009 8:00 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 1110

Joined: 25th Mar 2007

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: BA MKII Fairlane GHIA

Location: Berwick
VIC, Australia

check to c if the cruise cable that goes to the throttle body is not broken happened to me in my el
hope tht helps
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 8 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot] and 17 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 3:11 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names