Fordmods Logo

Dash lights (Blinker arrows and other lights) 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 14 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Dash lights (Blinker arrows and other lights)
Posted: Fri Jan 07, 2005 3:13 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 258

Joined: 9th Dec 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EL falcon - Skyline r33

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Im sick of driving my car with some Dash lights missing, The blinker lights left and right dont work, the kilometer and distance lights dont work (but can still read it if i use torch...

is it a hard job to buy the lights from ford and install them?

 

_________________

It's set up like a deck of cards, They're sending us to early graves. For all the diamonds, they'll use a pair of clubs to beat the spades.

RATM

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 07, 2005 7:03 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2839

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 50 images

Ride: MYSTERY EL's & Maverick LWB

Power: 198 rwkw

Location: parramatta
NSW, Australia

it is a really easy job to do ,
remove radio facia-
then remove the outer facia , disconnecting central locking ,clock,and the other 2 on the right side of it ,
then its 4 screws that hold inthe cluster - 2 wire plugs behind :)

 

_________________

Chance Favors The Prepared Mind !
For Sale : EL Fairmont 4L 5spd offers, AU Fairlane Ghia 4L vct Stock no mods $3.5k ono
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 07, 2005 9:12 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 1040

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EA Fairmont Ghia

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

You have checked all the fuses first right ?

 

_________________

Full working BA Shifter now upgraded to BF Shifter.
BA headlight inserts in my EA headlights.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 07, 2005 10:32 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 258

Joined: 9th Dec 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EL falcon - Skyline r33

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Just checked the fuses, they all seem to be ok .. no fuse for "auto cc" "pwr wnd" which would be like power windows and cruise control?

which fuse is for the dash lights? whats its calling on the fuse box?

 

_________________

It's set up like a deck of cards, They're sending us to early graves. For all the diamonds, they'll use a pair of clubs to beat the spades.

RATM

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 07, 2005 10:50 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 1040

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EA Fairmont Ghia

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

easy way is when you put the parkers on, the dash and other lights come on, so same fuse I believe.

Do the blinkers actually work ? , try the hazards too.

I do believe you will have blown bulbs, just remove the dash and replace, remember to test before putting it all back properly as if there is a short causing the problem pulling in and out all the time gets just a little frustrating.

 

_________________

Full working BA Shifter now upgraded to BF Shifter.
BA headlight inserts in my EA headlights.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:00 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 258

Joined: 9th Dec 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EL falcon - Skyline r33

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Dellboy999 wrote:
easy way is when you put the parkers on, the dash and other lights come on, so same fuse I believe.

Do the blinkers actually work ? , try the hazards too.

I do believe you will have blown bulbs, just remove the dash and replace, remember to test before putting it all back properly as if there is a short causing the problem pulling in and out all the time gets just a little frustrating.


naa the blinkers work, left and right outside,.. it only does not SHOW on the dash...

 

_________________

It's set up like a deck of cards, They're sending us to early graves. For all the diamonds, they'll use a pair of clubs to beat the spades.

RATM

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 07, 2005 11:03 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 8655

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 37 images

Ride: V8 EF Futura

Location: Adelaide CBD
SA, Australia

ThinkTank wrote:
Just checked the fuses, they all seem to be ok .. no fuse for "auto cc" "pwr wnd" which would be like power windows and cruise control?


Auto CC likely to be climate control... but anyways.

As the guys have said, just take the cluster out and replace the blubs which are likely to have been blown. Good chance to do a neon dash conversion if that floats your boat.

I dunno if there's a fuse for dash lights, i believe they are simply powered from the instrument cluster itself.

 

_________________

I promise..... I will never die.

Fordmods Administration Group MINOR PUNKED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 07, 2005 12:24 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 258

Joined: 9th Dec 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EL falcon - Skyline r33

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

ok i took the dash off .. im guessing i now have to unscrew the actual console thing , im scared that i wont know what to do once i pull that console off ... is it as easy as turning the ignition on and seeing which globes dont work and then replacing them with new globes?

i wanna make sure i dont fcuk something up.

 

_________________

It's set up like a deck of cards, They're sending us to early graves. For all the diamonds, they'll use a pair of clubs to beat the spades.

RATM

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 07, 2005 12:33 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 258

Joined: 9th Dec 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EL falcon - Skyline r33

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

I just called city ford and asked them for dashboard lights for my EL 98, and the dude said theres 3 types of globes, some were 9 dollars something each and some were 4 dollars or so.. how do i know which globe goes where

 

_________________

It's set up like a deck of cards, They're sending us to early graves. For all the diamonds, they'll use a pair of clubs to beat the spades.

RATM

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 07, 2005 12:34 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 1040

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EA Fairmont Ghia

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

the globes are all a half twist insterted from the back twist and pull em out, put a new globe in and put it back in, easy as to do, pain in the butt to get to the back of the cluster though.

And yes you can do what you said, igntion on, and see what lights and what doesnt, if you can spare the expense, maybe consider replace the lot so you dont find another one gone next week :D

 

_________________

Full working BA Shifter now upgraded to BF Shifter.
BA headlight inserts in my EA headlights.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 07, 2005 12:36 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 1040

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EA Fairmont Ghia

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Well you need 2 blinker ones, and a set of backlight ones, you can get from autobarn, repco etc as well.

 

_________________

Full working BA Shifter now upgraded to BF Shifter.
BA headlight inserts in my EA headlights.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 07, 2005 12:36 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 8655

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 37 images

Ride: V8 EF Futura

Location: Adelaide CBD
SA, Australia

ThinkTank wrote:
ok i took the dash off .. im guessing i now have to unscrew the actual console thing , im scared that i wont know what to do once i pull that console off ... is it as easy as turning the ignition on and seeing which globes dont work and then replacing them with new globes?

i wanna make sure i dont fcuk something up.


So you got the front dash cover off? Tidy work.

The instrument cluster has 4 screws as i recall. Top left, top right, bottom left and bottom right. Get in there with a torch if you need to see what's going on.

There are two connecting plugs, either side of the bottom of the cluster. Once you unplug these, the whole cluster will come out as 1 piece. You'll see all the bulb holders on the back, pretty easy to tell which one does what - you obviously know which ones arent lighting up so its simply a matter of replacing these.

Will make more sense when you see the back of the cluster :wink:

 

_________________

I promise..... I will never die.

Fordmods Administration Group MINOR PUNKED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 07, 2005 12:43 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 258

Joined: 9th Dec 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EL falcon - Skyline r33

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

4.9 EF Futura wrote:
ThinkTank wrote:
ok i took the dash off .. im guessing i now have to unscrew the actual console thing , im scared that i wont know what to do once i pull that console off ... is it as easy as turning the ignition on and seeing which globes dont work and then replacing them with new globes?

i wanna make sure i dont fcuk something up.


So you got the front dash cover off? Tidy work.

The instrument cluster has 4 screws as i recall. Top left, top right, bottom left and bottom right. Get in there with a torch if you need to see what's going on.

There are two connecting plugs, either side of the bottom of the cluster. Once you unplug these, the whole cluster will come out as 1 piece. You'll see all the bulb holders on the back, pretty easy to tell which one does what - you obviously know which ones arent lighting up so its simply a matter of replacing these.

Will make more sense when you see the back of the cluster :wink:


aha roger that...

gonna give it a shot now..

Bbl

 

_________________

It's set up like a deck of cards, They're sending us to early graves. For all the diamonds, they'll use a pair of clubs to beat the spades.

RATM

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 07, 2005 3:24 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 258

Joined: 9th Dec 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EL falcon - Skyline r33

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

lolz. was a piece of piss..

The only thing was finding the globes and drving around with no dash :D

Repco had one of the sort, but had to drive to ford to get the other blinker ones..

Overall, dificulty 2 of 10 more annoying then anything else.

 

_________________

It's set up like a deck of cards, They're sending us to early graves. For all the diamonds, they'll use a pair of clubs to beat the spades.

RATM

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 14 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 39 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 6:37 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names