Fordmods Logo

Digital Speedometer Project (EF-EL) 

 

Page 3 of 4 [ 50 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

 
Posted: Mon May 16, 2005 6:40 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 6047

Joined: 12th Nov 2004

Ride: Ford Ef Futura

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

f**k hell mna, thats a freaking aweosme effort.

Firstly, I would love to have this idea in my dash. Maybe situated inside the analogue presented speedometer.

Seocndly, what sort of background do you have in thsi stuff? Not being a smart a** but im curious to know how hard it is to do for Joe Citizen like myself.

Thirdly, I would turn this into a doco.

Keep up the awesome work amte. I didnt know half the stuff you guys are on about.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon May 16, 2005 9:56 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 243

Joined: 16th Nov 2004

Ride: 03 BA Fairmont

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

data_mine wrote:
EL Futuras and above (for EF's it was Fairmont and up) got speed sensitive intermittant, as well as the stalk adjustment.

Try a test, set your stalk to the slowest speed, and while stationery, time how long between wipes (for me IIRC it's 8 secs), then take off to about 60kM/H, still with the stalk set to the slowest, time the time between wipes again, for me this drops to about 5 secs.


tested mine, stays the same all the time, 8 secs for slowest setting, stopped or 100kph .... had to get a new BEM a while back, should've got an EL one, wonder what else is different

and back on topic, i think it was a shame they dropped the digital dashes, the only b**ch i had with mine was the tacho, that was just a series of leds with a number next to it.., that was pretty crappy, but the speedo was great

at one time i had an after market digital clock that also had a tacho function as well (numerical display), i cut a part of the dash out in the car i had at the time and set this thing into it and it was great, easy to read and precsise
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 17, 2005 3:12 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 54

Joined: 9th May 2005

Gallery: 5 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

2 days to go on the eBay cluster with broken speedo, I hope I get it.

Quote:
Seocndly, what sort of background do you have in thsi stuff?
Not being a smart a** but im curious to know how hard it is to do for Joe Citizen like myself.
Thirdly, I would turn this into a doco.


When I'm finished the software, I will draw a schematic, document, and provide the software so anyone
can make it. I'm not trying to make money out of it. I started out programming to help me steal
pay TV. I have no professional background with it.. or I'd have it finished by now :D
It does take some time to get a grip on assembler, but you can start with BASIC and go from there.

Quote:
tested mine, stays the same all the time, 8 secs for slowest setting, stopped or 100kph ....
had to get a new BEM a while back, should've got an EL one, wonder what else is different


The EL smartlock document on this site covers that, it also has to be at least Futura I think...
"Mid Series Features (Red EF / Blue EL Colour)
The Mid series Body Electronics Module had all the features of the Low series, and additional features such as,
Dome Lamp Delay/Fade
Power Window Operation with Key off
Variable vehicle speed sensitive intermittent Wipe (EL Only)"

Quote:
Instead of counting pulses per second measure the pulsewidth of the signal.
It's much faster and if you dont want it to jump around just keep averaging the input
untill it is updating as fast as you want.
What sort of micro are you using. I did this with a picaxe (see vehicle datalogger)
but with no hardware access to the timers it was frustrating. My new micro can count these pulses in the background.

I would have finished it by now if I could use PWM, but since it's a multiplexed LED display,
It has to be constantly driven, If I timed a pulse it would make the display flicker at a rate that varied with the speed of the car,
and I couldn't handle that. I'm using a 16F84A for this, so I can use timer tmr0 in the background, or interrupts.

Quote:
I wouldn't bother trying to read and decode serial comms from the car.
Too hard and model specific. Just use the direct signal from the gearbox and it will work the best.

I'm going back to this way, with some good advice from dang who gave me an easier formula (2 in fact).
waiting around for serial data would also neglect the display routine.
Cheers, Art.

 

_________________

Gamer = Lamer

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat May 21, 2005 11:31 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 54

Joined: 9th May 2005

Gallery: 5 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

There is a schematic in my gallery of a simplified digital speedometer.
I used orange displays for this one since they closely match the colour
of the odometer in the cluster. Blue LED displays can be used with this
design.

Drop me an email if you would like to try the project, and I'll email you
d**k Smith/ Jaycar catalogue numbers for major parts, circuit notes,
and hex file for pic microcontroller. The cost of the bare electronics is
about $30.

Cheers, Art
art@austech.info

ps. If you don't have a pic programmer, and want to biuld the project,
I will send a pre-programmed microcontroller for a reasonable price.

 

_________________

Gamer = Lamer

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat May 21, 2005 12:00 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 54

Joined: 9th May 2005

Gallery: 5 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

I also have a completed unit that I am prepared to sell.
It has red displays, and will connect straight to an EF or EL Falcon
without the need for any adjustment. The unit is callibrated to the
digital speedometer that appears on the instrument cluster in
diagnostic mode.
Cheers, Art
art@austech.info

 

_________________

Gamer = Lamer

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 31, 2005 6:10 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 54

Joined: 9th May 2005

Gallery: 5 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Finally got it installed into my instrument cluster,
although only the display part is mounted in the cluster.
There is ribbon cable runnng from the display routed through
to an area under the stereo where the speedometer electronics is.

Image


Image


The question is whether to replace my tachometer as well....
Cheers, Art.

 

_________________

Gamer = Lamer

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 31, 2005 6:20 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 8655

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 37 images

Ride: V8 EF Futura

Location: Adelaide CBD
SA, Australia

That's very cool @rt. Great little modification you've knocked up.

 

_________________

I promise..... I will never die.

Fordmods Administration Group MINOR PUNKED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 31, 2005 7:06 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 3516

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

[self-deleted]

Last edited by blackjack_original on Fri Jun 06, 2014 3:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 31, 2005 7:12 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 54

Joined: 9th May 2005

Gallery: 5 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

I still have the needle :)
Email me, and I will provide parts list & schematic when complete.
art@austech.info
I am not sure if it affects roadworthiness to replace the original speedo yet.
worst case scenario is I have to replace with original from the wreckers
when it comes to selling the car.
My insurance company was OK with it.
Art.

 

_________________

Gamer = Lamer

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 31, 2005 7:19 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 3516

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

[self-deleted]

Last edited by blackjack_original on Fri Jun 06, 2014 3:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 31, 2005 7:38 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 54

Joined: 9th May 2005

Gallery: 5 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

I mean replacing an original speedo with one that you made
may not be acceptable. ZL digital speedo is original.

Green & blue displays are both available, although you have
to got to Jaycar to get blue ones. I haven't seen white seven
segment displays yet..
Art.

 

_________________

Gamer = Lamer

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 01, 2005 2:24 am 
Smokin em up
Offline

Posts: 280

Joined: 30th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

blackjack_original wrote:
..... My plan is to still keep the needle.... maybe mount the display above it or something... Maybe even in the corner where a mid series cluster has the battery and the oil gauges....

Good effort :D
You could have a slightly smaller display mounted above or under a working speedo gauge. From memory, there is some room as the gauge motor is the same size as the other gauge motors in the cluster and all are rather small :)

Also why not a factory looking reverse LCD with black numbers on an amber backgroung like the oddometer ?

Cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 01, 2005 1:24 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 204

Joined: 8th Mar 2005

Ride: BA Fairmont Ghia V8

Location: City
NSW, Australia

yeah that would be cool , to have the original one and the digital readout

:P
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 01, 2005 1:29 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 1102

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BA MkII XR6 Ute

Location: Gippsland
VIC, Australia

What about the strip at the bottom that houses the cruise and economy lights as a potential location? Surely there is some room somewhere down there?

 

_________________

We'll keep our cow s**t in the country, you keep your bull s**t in the city.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Jun 01, 2005 5:21 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 54

Joined: 9th May 2005

Gallery: 5 images

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

The analogue speedometer is small, and the display could be
mounted above it, but at some speeds, the needle would be
in the way.

Mounting the display where the high series voltmeter would be
is another possibility, but the downside of this is that the steering
wheel is in the way of this when I have my seat & steering wheel
adjusted to my preference.
Art.

 

_________________

Gamer = Lamer

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 3 of 4  [ 50 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 32 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 5:02 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names