Fordmods Logo

Disconnecting the computer Idle control 

 

Page 2 of 2 [ 24 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2

 
Posted: Tue May 17, 2005 1:59 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 1102

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BA MkII XR6 Ute

Location: Gippsland
VIC, Australia

Kit wrote:
I must make that led for retrieving codes.


Ditto.

 

_________________

We'll keep our cow s**t in the country, you keep your bull s**t in the city.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 17, 2005 4:44 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 79

Posts: 1233

Joined: 7th Apr 2005

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: GTHO PH 1 EF ex chaser

Location: Willow vale, GOLD COAST
QLD, Australia

tomcolahan wrote:
The cold starts are the only real disadvantage i can find of not running the ISC, which is why i think having a switch for it could be a good idea.

Only other thing i wondered about is whether error codes are logged when ISC is not functioning?

Yes if the isc is not connected error codes ARE generated :roll: :cry:

 

_________________

Rotten Old Revhead!!! XW GTHO + EF ex cop car (exractors 2.5 cat back zorst !6" Simmons K&N +airbox mods Lowered with Bilstein shocks+Whiteline Bars NEXT THING Swap HO for GTP or Ferrari!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue May 17, 2005 5:14 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 1102

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BA MkII XR6 Ute

Location: Gippsland
VIC, Australia

All of the time? or just at startup?

 

_________________

We'll keep our cow s**t in the country, you keep your bull s**t in the city.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed May 18, 2005 12:03 am 
Smokin em up
Offline

Posts: 280

Joined: 30th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

tomcolahan wrote:
Ever noticed how little engine braking the I6 has for a reasonably large displacement engine? ... I had been told this was due to the ISC holding revs (hence the 'hanging revs' that people talk about in regard to these engine) to decrease emmissions.

My turbo 323 4WD uses a little damper on the throttle for similar reasons - forgot about that one :D So it seems that the ISC has a big part in reducing emissions then - learn something every day :D

For you guys not wanting the ISC connected when the engine is warm, all you need is a comparator circuit commented to the temp gauge and a relay. This circuit would senses the temperature and trip a relay to disconnect the ISC when the engine is warm. You should be able to find little comparator kits that could be used as a base for this in d**k smiths.

Cheers.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed May 18, 2005 1:15 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 1102

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BA MkII XR6 Ute

Location: Gippsland
VIC, Australia

That would be a nice automatic way of doing a similar thing to a switch, but you also give up some aspect of control of not being able to switch it yourself. The problem with error codes still remains though.

 

_________________

We'll keep our cow s**t in the country, you keep your bull s**t in the city.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu May 19, 2005 1:32 am 
Smokin em up
Offline

Posts: 280

Joined: 30th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

tomcolahan wrote:
That would be a nice automatic way of doing a similar thing to a switch, but you also give up some aspect of control of not being able to switch it yourself. The problem with error codes still remains though.

Not really, a switch could be incorporated in the circuit to override the disconnection function (or force the disconnection function).

As for error codes, that depends on how the ECU handles the ISC. If it only checks ISC operation at start up (moves the valve to its limits and checks for changed engine speed?) then you may avoid triggering faults by having a delay function so that it always starts with ISC connected and then disconnects after a set time or when the engine is warm (whichever is the later) If the ISC is tested by ECU during engine operation, then your stuffed.

Cheers.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu May 19, 2005 1:54 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 179

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EBII GLi

Location: East Melbourne
VIC, Australia

hey if you read my post named "help please.. car stalling" then you might think, like me, that it could be my ISC.

when i have a look at my engine there is a blue connector not attached to anything towards the front of the engine, its square looking. is that the ISC?

cheers

Daniel

 

_________________

1992 Ford EBII GLi Sedan Auto
|| Darkest Legal || Stereo: Focal Polyglass, Alpine deck and rears, Audison and Clarion amps, kicker 12" || Alarm || Clear Front Blinkers || Redback zorst 4" chrome dumpy! || Lowered (lows) || 15" EB S-Pack rims || Fairmont Ghia doortrims

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu May 19, 2005 2:09 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 3097

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 29 images

Ride: VU SS

Location: Ivanhoe
NSW, Australia

Nah that's nothing (unless you got a fairmont), just a plug for a temperature sensor of some description....
Just make sure your base idle is high enough man...

 

_________________

EF Fairmont now Sold!
Guides: Polishing|Modifications |Manual Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu May 19, 2005 2:11 am 
Smokin em up
Offline

Posts: 280

Joined: 30th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

EBII Falcon wrote:
hey if you read my post named "help please.. car stalling" then you might think, like me, that it could be my ISC.

when i have a look at my engine there is a blue connector not attached to anything towards the front of the engine, its square looking. is that the ISC?

cheers

Daniel

The ISCon my EF is on top of the throttle body and the plug is black and a b**ch to get off.

EB's i have seen at wrecking yards, there is a blue connector that plugs into the coolant sensor on the thermostat housing. EBs seem to have a seperate coolant sensor for the ECU and another for the temperature gauge in the cluster and from memory there is some other plug there aswell :) Anyway have a look at the thermostat housing for some connector without a plug in it :D

Cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 2  [ 24 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 15 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 19, 2017 4:32 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names