Fordmods Logo

do i need a new gasket?on bbm 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: do i need a new gasket?on bbm
Posted: Sat Jan 30, 2010 2:38 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 84

Joined: 9th Jul 2009

Ride: xr6 au 111

Location: perth
WA, Australia

i have just taken my broad band manifold of to polish and now i am puttin it back on do i need to replace the gasket between the upper and lower inlet manifold?and do i smeer oil on the surfaces to seal the gasket
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: do i need a new gasket?on bbm
Posted: Sat Jan 30, 2010 2:41 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

provided its not kinked I have reused them several times by a smear of silicon sealant applied to both sides.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: do i need a new gasket?on bbm
Posted: Sat Jan 30, 2010 2:45 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 64

Posts: 3452

Joined: 11th Jan 2009

Ride: BA Falcon XT

Location: Smithfield
NSW, Australia

If it were me, I would get a NEW one. They do absorb fuel after a time.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: do i need a new gasket?on bbm
Posted: Sat Jan 30, 2010 3:03 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 84

Joined: 9th Jul 2009

Ride: xr6 au 111

Location: perth
WA, Australia

does ford sell the gasket i need
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: do i need a new gasket?on bbm
Posted: Sat Jan 30, 2010 3:06 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 64

Posts: 3452

Joined: 11th Jan 2009

Ride: BA Falcon XT

Location: Smithfield
NSW, Australia

Yes they do matey, part number EF 9461 B $45.50. :)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: do i need a new gasket?on bbm
Posted: Sat Jan 30, 2010 3:30 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 11739

Joined: 17th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont, VFR400 racer

Power: 144 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

that's one expensive gasket :shock:

I have reused mine...but I'm cheap and this has caused a minor leak I believe. Better off getting a new one :D

 

_________________

phongus = Post whore 2006
EL XR6 motor, EL ECU + J3 chip, WADE 1673 Camshaft, 3" S/S intake, Pacy 4480, 2.5" Hi flow cat, 2.5" Lukey exhaust.
Max Power = 144.6 rwkw (03/05/2008)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: do i need a new gasket?on bbm
Posted: Thu Feb 11, 2010 12:54 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

Just reading my BRC LPG installation guide and part of the installation requires the removal of the upper part of BBM, the reinstallation says to reinstall the gasket after applying Hylomar joining compound- sounds like its cheaper than replacing the gasket.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 8:08 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names