Fordmods Logo

do i need to loosen timing chain when changing cams 

 

Page 3 of 3 [ 34 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3

 
 Post subject: Re: do i need to loosen timing chain when changing cams
Posted: Sun May 09, 2010 1:02 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 87

Joined: 7th Sep 2009

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

Have you checked that the rocker cover seal is correctly placed. Sometimes they bulge out when refitting the cover to the head especially at the rear where you cant see easily.

When replacing the tensioner I use teflon tape as used on household plumbing. A lot cheaper than buying a tube of silicone. Probably low risk, but I'm a bit cautious about putting silicone on the tensioner threads. Murphy's law ...sure as eggs, silicone will end up into the oil port that feeds the tensioner.

 

_________________

Any man over the age of 26 that drives a car of less than 8 cylinders with a 0-100kph time greater than 7 seconds must consider himself a failure.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: do i need to loosen timing chain when changing cams
Posted: Sun May 09, 2010 9:10 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 25

Posts: 3355

Joined: 10th Jan 2010

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EL XR6

Location: albion park, wollongong
NSW, Australia

yer ive checked the rocker cover its fine! the oil is coming from up towards the power steering pump and running down the block,

 

_________________

El XR6 Turbo
Dark Agents,Sunroof, bilstein shocks, 6000k HIDS, 329 mm slotted rotors, twin pot calipers , Climate Control, GarrettT04 turbo,log manifold, crow turbo cam, microtech lt10c, 42lb injectors , 044, surge tank , T56 , rebuilt bottom end , alloy plenum .

Aiming for 300 rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: do i need to loosen timing chain when changing cams
Posted: Sun May 09, 2010 9:47 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 25

Posts: 3355

Joined: 10th Jan 2010

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: EL XR6

Location: albion park, wollongong
NSW, Australia

ok ive found where the oil is leaking from , its coming out of the timing chain tension bolt , so how do i fix this?

 

_________________

El XR6 Turbo
Dark Agents,Sunroof, bilstein shocks, 6000k HIDS, 329 mm slotted rotors, twin pot calipers , Climate Control, GarrettT04 turbo,log manifold, crow turbo cam, microtech lt10c, 42lb injectors , 044, surge tank , T56 , rebuilt bottom end , alloy plenum .

Aiming for 300 rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: do i need to loosen timing chain when changing cams
Posted: Sun May 09, 2010 11:46 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 1953

Joined: 1st Feb 2006

Gallery: 25 images

Ride: BA on gas. EL on gas. XF on gas.

Location: Greenacres/Adelaide
SA, Australia

A new O ring from ford is a good idea...

 

_________________

Member Number 8804
Image

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 3 of 3  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 29 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 2:32 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names