Fordmods Logo

EA loses power/cuts out when i turn my stereo up? 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 22 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: EA loses power/cuts out when i turn my stereo up?
Posted: Sun Aug 16, 2009 5:07 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 130

Joined: 6th Jan 2008

Ride: 2 XF's, XE, EA Ghia

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

hi all got a prob with my EA, it drives great but as soon as u turn the stereo up it starts to coff and splutter as if it was out of fuel. now i am running 15's and a big amp so im thinkin that im draining power from the car which is making it lose power, could the altenator be screwed?or is the battery on the way out? ne help would be great thanks
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EA loses power/cuts out when i turn my stereo up?
Posted: Sun Aug 16, 2009 10:55 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 6467

Joined: 18th Dec 2006

Ride: 93 ED sedan

Power: 161 rwkw

Location: Rockhampton
QLD, Australia

Have you checked the charge rate of the alternator...stereo off...stereo on??????????

 

_________________

http://youtu.be/jJTh9F3Vgg0

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EA loses power/cuts out when i turn my stereo up?
Posted: Sun Aug 16, 2009 11:00 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 2563

Joined: 19th Feb 2007

Gallery: 21 images

Ride: 98 EL Futura

Power: 199 rwkw

Location: Lilydale
VIC, Australia

Are you using a capacitor?? you will need one for sure with 15's. im pretty sure you can stuff your alternator and drain your battery when the stereo is pulling to much power like that.

 

_________________

EL Futura: CVE head, Wolf V500, ICE Ignition and Coil, 36lb injectors, Walbro 255lb, Paci comps, 3" exhaust, T5, Harrop Truetrac with 3.9s. Now with 198.9rwkw, (~185rwkw and 13.80 @99.1mph) with more power to come

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EA loses power/cuts out when i turn my stereo up?
Posted: Sun Aug 16, 2009 11:13 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 130

Joined: 6th Jan 2008

Ride: 2 XF's, XE, EA Ghia

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

nah i havent checked the charge of the altinator will do that tomoro. and i dont have a capacitor. what exactly do they do, sorry for the noob question lol
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EA loses power/cuts out when i turn my stereo up?
Posted: Sun Aug 16, 2009 11:17 pm 
SA Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 916

Joined: 7th Oct 2007

Ride: Ford Ed

Location: Edwardstown, Adelaide
SA, Australia

Yep your stereo will be killing your battery and alternator! i had the same problem running My monoblock.. and that was only a 750WattRMS amp lol.. Get your self a 85amp alternator that should be a lil better! :)

 

_________________

Adelaide E Series

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EA loses power/cuts out when i turn my stereo up?
Posted: Sun Aug 16, 2009 11:20 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 4326

Joined: 30th Oct 2006

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: Envi EF

Location: Grafton
NSW, Australia

Caps are stupid. Dont get a cap.

Get a decent alternator, battery, and earthing cables.
EL alts are 100 amp, EF 110.

 

_________________

>>>EF Futura T build<<<

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EA loses power/cuts out when i turn my stereo up?
Posted: Sun Aug 16, 2009 11:21 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 3440

Joined: 23rd Dec 2007

Gallery: 32 images

Ride: BA XR6T (mix of BA, BF and FG)

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Batteries have an internal resistance.. . Stiffening caps don't.. or at least its so tiny as to not matter..

That means they will discharge almost instantly, powering the amps during huge current draw periods and charge back up in between....

basically evens up the power load and provides a sharper peak to your sound since the amps are getting the power they need when they need it.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EA loses power/cuts out when i turn my stereo up?
Posted: Sun Aug 16, 2009 11:22 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 2563

Joined: 19th Feb 2007

Gallery: 21 images

Ride: 98 EL Futura

Power: 199 rwkw

Location: Lilydale
VIC, Australia

krisisdog wrote:
Caps are stupid. Dont get a cap.

Get a decent alternator, battery, and earthing cables.
EL alts are 100 amp, EF 110.


What? you need a capacitor if your stereo is half decent. If you would also like your headlights to stay bright and not dull down everytime you get a bassy low note.

 

_________________

EL Futura: CVE head, Wolf V500, ICE Ignition and Coil, 36lb injectors, Walbro 255lb, Paci comps, 3" exhaust, T5, Harrop Truetrac with 3.9s. Now with 198.9rwkw, (~185rwkw and 13.80 @99.1mph) with more power to come

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EA loses power/cuts out when i turn my stereo up?
Posted: Sun Aug 16, 2009 11:27 pm 
SA Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 916

Joined: 7th Oct 2007

Ride: Ford Ed

Location: Edwardstown, Adelaide
SA, Australia

GeZza200 wrote:
krisisdog wrote:
Caps are stupid. Dont get a cap.

Get a decent alternator, battery, and earthing cables.
EL alts are 100 amp, EF 110.


What? you need a capacitor if your stereo is half decent. If you would also like your headlights to stay bright and not dull down everytime you get a bassy low note.


I did not have a capacitor in my setup and at one stage i had 3 amps running.... All i had was a 85amp alternator and a newish battrey! and was running 2 4ga cables down! and i had very little light dim! Its all about the earth cables you are running as well!

 

_________________

Adelaide E Series

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EA loses power/cuts out when i turn my stereo up?
Posted: Sun Aug 16, 2009 11:31 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 3440

Joined: 23rd Dec 2007

Gallery: 32 images

Ride: BA XR6T (mix of BA, BF and FG)

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

A good hi end system nearly always has a cap..

but having said that, a cap won't fix a crap alternator/battery..

You've got an EA... do the serp belt conversion and put an EF alternator in there.. I've read that they are 120 amps.. thats 35 amps more than your EA job assuming its still outputting properly at all.

Then get yourself a good 500-600 CCA battery.. and a 1 Farad cap... (depending on how many amps your system draws you may need to revise your cap size.)

Sometimes I miss doing this for a job...... but not usually for very long.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EA loses power/cuts out when i turn my stereo up?
Posted: Sun Aug 16, 2009 11:33 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 4326

Joined: 30th Oct 2006

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: Envi EF

Location: Grafton
NSW, Australia

GeZza200 wrote:
krisisdog wrote:
Caps are stupid. Dont get a cap.

Get a decent alternator, battery, and earthing cables.
EL alts are 100 amp, EF 110.


What? you need a capacitor if your stereo is half decent. If you would also like your headlights to stay bright and not dull down everytime you get a bassy low note.


You need a cap if you want to extend the length of your penis. Its not guaranteed to work, but it will give others the impression that you're trying.


I've got a 1000rms Alpine amp driving a 1500w 15" sub, plus the speaker amp.
No dimming.
Why?
Because I have a decent battery, decent alternator and have nice fat earths in the engine bay and boot, as well as thicker alternator wire.

 

_________________

>>>EF Futura T build<<<

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EA loses power/cuts out when i turn my stereo up?
Posted: Sun Aug 16, 2009 11:36 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 2563

Joined: 19th Feb 2007

Gallery: 21 images

Ride: 98 EL Futura

Power: 199 rwkw

Location: Lilydale
VIC, Australia

good for you, you must have a freak battery and alternator because i still reckon you need a cap

 

_________________

EL Futura: CVE head, Wolf V500, ICE Ignition and Coil, 36lb injectors, Walbro 255lb, Paci comps, 3" exhaust, T5, Harrop Truetrac with 3.9s. Now with 198.9rwkw, (~185rwkw and 13.80 @99.1mph) with more power to come

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EA loses power/cuts out when i turn my stereo up?
Posted: Sun Aug 16, 2009 11:42 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 4326

Joined: 30th Oct 2006

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: Envi EF

Location: Grafton
NSW, Australia

Take your 'I rekon' and piss off.
You dont NEED a cap, ever.

 

_________________

>>>EF Futura T build<<<

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EA loses power/cuts out when i turn my stereo up?
Posted: Sun Aug 16, 2009 11:42 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 130

Joined: 6th Jan 2008

Ride: 2 XF's, XE, EA Ghia

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

is it hard to install a EF alternater? or is it a straight boilt in?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EA loses power/cuts out when i turn my stereo up?
Posted: Mon Aug 17, 2009 1:44 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 45

Posts: 3440

Joined: 23rd Dec 2007

Gallery: 32 images

Ride: BA XR6T (mix of BA, BF and FG)

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

krisisdog wrote:
Take your 'I rekon' and piss off.
You dont NEED a cap, ever.


You people crack me up....

Hook up one of your amps to an sillyscope and crank the crap out of it...

Then do the same except with a suitably sized cap...

Then you'll see the reason for it... Depending on the system you can sometimes even hear the difference in the bass.
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 25 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 8:15 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names