Fordmods Logo

EA T5 to EF 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 18 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: EA T5 to EF
Posted: Wed Nov 22, 2006 10:14 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 2983

Joined: 15th Apr 2006

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Aberfoyle Park
SA, Australia

Hey guys...

Is it possible to fit a EA T5 to my EF?

Reason i ask is because T5 conversions are hard to come by and i can get a EA S Pack with a 5 speed and a LSD really cheap.

I know ECU's are different but is it as simple as changing the trans over or will a bell housing need changing.

Also it has a LSD. Can i fit this to the EF. Being a GLi it DOES HAVE ABS.

Is it a straight fit in? Can i just swap the axels over so its abs compatiable.

cheers

 

_________________

HOLDENS go like rockets. They fall apart in stages!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Nov 22, 2006 10:20 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

Yes it is possible, things to note are the EA box has a lower first so it may be annoying , there is no reverse syncro on the EA not a biggie either and the flywheel has less bolts and a smaller diameter clutch plate but unless you are chasing big HP it should not be an issue. The ea pedal box requires some mods to get it into an EF.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Nov 22, 2006 11:36 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3083

Joined: 22nd Sep 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: EF

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

im doing it next week, have had the conversion for ages now im putting it together.

get an ef flywheel (6 bolt as opposed to the 3 bolt ea) though, as it allows you to use better ef/el clutches. pedal box will fit with "some adjustment" or get the pin kit.

 

_________________

Image
latest mod: A Service
MY BUILD THREAD

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 9:08 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 2983

Joined: 15th Apr 2006

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Aberfoyle Park
SA, Australia

OK so i just need a EF Flywheel. Can i use the auto flywheel?

So i can use the EA flywheel BUT i will ony be able to use 3 of 6 bolts?

What are 'some adjustments' i have to do to the pedal box?

 

_________________

HOLDENS go like rockets. They fall apart in stages!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 9:08 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 2983

Joined: 15th Apr 2006

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Aberfoyle Park
SA, Australia

OK so i just need a EF Flywheel. Can i use the auto flywheel?

So i can use the EA flywheel BUT i will ony be able to use 3 of 6 bolts?

What are 'some adjustments' i have to do to the pedal box?

 

_________________

HOLDENS go like rockets. They fall apart in stages!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 9:34 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 1966

Joined: 13th Aug 2005

Ride: 2000 Au wagon

Location: some where in nsw
NSW, Australia

auto flex plate,,i don't think so,,take a look at the two side by side and you'd understand why...

Image
Image

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 10:00 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

stomper wrote:
OK so i just need a EF Flywheel. Can i use the auto flywheel?

So i can use the EA flywheel BUT i will ony be able to use 3 of 6 bolts?

What are 'some adjustments' i have to do to the pedal box?

No you can't use the Auto flywheel but the 3 bolter will be fine.

See here for the pedal box detail.
http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=39358

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 12:34 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 2983

Joined: 15th Apr 2006

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Aberfoyle Park
SA, Australia

naughtyfalcon wrote:
auto flex plate,,i don't think so,,take a look at the two side by side and you'd understand why...

Image
Image


Pics dont work...


So i pull the EA clutch pedal out and i can mod a EF pedal box to take the EA clutch pedal.

Also i can use the EA flywheel, but its worth getting a EF/EL one and clutch.

 

_________________

HOLDENS go like rockets. They fall apart in stages!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 12:57 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 1966

Joined: 13th Aug 2005

Ride: 2000 Au wagon

Location: some where in nsw
NSW, Australia

the peddle box should be ok so long as it's been strenthened,,,the fly wheel should be ok but the more bolts the stonger it will be...

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 1:00 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3083

Joined: 22nd Sep 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: EF

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

you can use the manual ea flywheel and clutch, they have 6 crank bolts, but onnly 3 bolts holing the pressure plate, wheras the ef/el has 6 pressure plate bolts, thats the differance.

the auto/manual flywheels are TOTALY differant, the manual one is about 1cm thincker, even the crank bolts are differant, ie longer.

 

_________________

Image
latest mod: A Service
MY BUILD THREAD

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 1:38 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

rushed wrote:
the auto/manual flywheels are TOTALY differant, the manual one is about 1cm thincker, even the crank bolts are differant, ie longer.
This one may byte :) me, I did not get the crank bolts with my conversion I had assumed they are the same manual to Auto, has anyone used the auto bolts on a manual flywheel?

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:35 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 2983

Joined: 15th Apr 2006

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Aberfoyle Park
SA, Australia

awesomework guys. Ill have a loo when i get the car but i wanted to seeif it would work before i go out and spend $500 on a car to get a trans that wont work...

What about the ECU side of things. Isnt there a Hack to make a auto a manual. Maybe ill send a ecu off to data-mine for a reprogram.

 

_________________

HOLDENS go like rockets. They fall apart in stages!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 2:49 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

Just two resistors will make the Auto ECU happy with a manual box.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 5:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 2983

Joined: 15th Apr 2006

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Aberfoyle Park
SA, Australia

twason wrote:
Just two resistors will make the Auto ECU happy with a manual box.


What two resistors and where?

 

_________________

HOLDENS go like rockets. They fall apart in stages!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Nov 23, 2006 8:18 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 5589

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 96 XH/97 EL

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

twason wrote:
rushed wrote:
the auto/manual flywheels are TOTALY differant, the manual one is about 1cm thincker, even the crank bolts are differant, ie longer.
This one may byte :) me, I did not get the crank bolts with my conversion I had assumed they are the same manual to Auto, has anyone used the auto bolts on a manual flywheel?
Yes I did - I found they were the same as the manual ones I had. If you are concerned, just measure the crank hole depth, bolt thread length, flywheel hole area thickness, and calculate whether they'll fit.
And of course use Loctite 262 or similar when tightening them.

 

_________________

96 XH Longreach 'S': LPG, Alarm, 3.23:1 LSD, Cruise, Trip Comp, ABS, Power Windows, Mid Series Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl
97 EL Futura S/W: LPG, Alarm, LED int Lts, Trip Comp, F/Lane Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl, T5 Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 32 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 2:52 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names