Fordmods Logo

EB2 5-spd Wagon LPG Cam Questions.... 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 6 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: EB2 5-spd Wagon LPG Cam Questions....
Posted: Wed May 21, 2008 12:44 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 613

Joined: 5th Aug 2007

Location: Ararat
VIC, Australia

I am going to upgrade the Cam of the old Wagon- I love the old thing, and wanna give her a perk up. Although being on gas shes not a waste of time, - shes still a match for EF XR6's and even manual 6cly BA's. Really funny but true :shock:

It has a great Gas setup, a full impco system with a 225, which I believe is used on 5.0 applications also.

Should I look at a replacement Cam, or a regrind suitable for Gas use?

I still want to retain economy when driven nicely( it returns an easy 500'ks out of 68l's) and have a reasonable Idle- and still retain it as a daily driver.

Any ideas? I have had a look though the threads....but not much info on Cams/Regrinds for Cars running on gas. Car also has a 94AB Head Cast.

 

_________________

EF Ghia 5L V8
BAMk2 XR8 Velocity/Cobra 19's

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed May 21, 2008 10:22 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 973

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Ride: el wagon

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

Strangely, with the proliferation of LPG cars nowadays, no-one makes a cam for LPG for the more common engines (Ford etc.)

I am running a Crow cam atm (can't remember which one tho') , and it seems satisfactory. I also have JMM streetfighter head and JMM zorst, and it gave 133rwkw, at which JMM expressed surprise.

I guess you pays your money and makes your choice.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed May 21, 2008 10:30 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 653

Joined: 2nd May 2006

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: FG G6E Turbo

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

I'm running a Wade 1673 cam, cannot fault it when my car runs on gas and behind the T5

 

_________________

FG G6E Turbo
Grandpa Spec!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed May 21, 2008 10:46 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 613

Joined: 5th Aug 2007

Location: Ararat
VIC, Australia

bArNsY wrote:
I'm running a Wade 1673 cam, cannot fault it when my car runs on gas and behind the T5


And how much did this set u back?? Can I Install Myself?? I have a basic mechanical knowlege- but not that good.

 

_________________

EF Ghia 5L V8
BAMk2 XR8 Velocity/Cobra 19's

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri May 23, 2008 7:06 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 973

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Ride: el wagon

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

Cams are pretty easy to install, if you get a manaul and follow it, you should be o.k. You need a tension wrench tho'.

I think there is a sticky somewhere about installing cams??
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat May 24, 2008 11:42 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 653

Joined: 2nd May 2006

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: FG G6E Turbo

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

raff-26 wrote:
bArNsY wrote:
I'm running a Wade 1673 cam, cannot fault it when my car runs on gas and behind the T5


And how much did this set u back?? Can I Install Myself?? I have a basic mechanical knowlege- but not that good.


I think they are $130 change over these days from Wade's, Its not to difficult to do, just remember you may need extra shims depending on the cam

 

_________________

FG G6E Turbo
Grandpa Spec!

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 6 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 8:50 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names