Fordmods Logo

ECU Change for EF XR6 into ED Ghia 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: ECU Change for EF XR6 into ED Ghia
Posted: Fri Jan 02, 2009 7:28 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 6

Joined: 27th Apr 2008

Ride: ED Fairmont Ghia/AT Telstar Ghia

Location: Redcliffe
QLD, Australia

Hi guys,Happy New Year!!
We are building an EF series 2 Tickford engine to put in our ED Ghia.We wish to run the BB manifold from the EF.What do we need to make this a smooth transition?We would prefer the looks and KW from the BBM.
Do we need to change our ECU and if so,what is the best combo to have in regards to ECU and manifold setup to gain the kickass KW that we like?

Thanks guys,

Rachel & Caroline

 

_________________

Like a memory in motion...you were only passing through......OH Caroline!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 02, 2009 8:50 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6449

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

EF ecu will not fit the ed harness.

you'll need an EL ecu. then you have to work out if you want to use the factory BBM switching hardware, in which case you need to find it on a donor car.

or switch it some other way.

 

_________________

PERMANENTLY BANNED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 02, 2009 9:14 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3363

Joined: 27th Dec 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: MCMXCV Falcon

Location: G town
VIC, Australia

this post make me happy in pants

u could run any EL ecu...u do not need to use the tickford one....

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 02, 2009 9:46 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 6

Joined: 27th Apr 2008

Ride: ED Fairmont Ghia/AT Telstar Ghia

Location: Redcliffe
QLD, Australia

tickford_6 wrote:
EF ecu will not fit the ed harness.

you'll need an EL ecu. then you have to work out if you want to use the factory BBM switching hardware, in which case you need to find it on a donor car.

or switch it some other way.


We already have the vacuum switch to work the butterflies on the BBM.Is an EL ECU better for our car as it already runs a dist. We would like the extra kw that a tickford would produce,so are we better off with a tickford ECU from an EL XR6.We are good at wiring so we are not scared to graft a connector into our harness,we just want to know the best way to go as
us girls want to feel the power!!

 

_________________

Like a memory in motion...you were only passing through......OH Caroline!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 02, 2009 9:48 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 5889

Joined: 2nd Mar 2006

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: '14 Grand Cherokee

Location: Port Lincoln
SA, Australia

you will need an EL ECU because EF's run coil packs, ED's and EL's dont.

 

_________________

11/93 ED OPT20 GLi | Full Boat Spec

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 02, 2009 10:11 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 6

Joined: 27th Apr 2008

Ride: ED Fairmont Ghia/AT Telstar Ghia

Location: Redcliffe
QLD, Australia

alfy wrote:
you will need an EL ECU because EF's run coil packs, ED's and EL's dont.


Cheers alfy!!
So if we get hold of an EL ECU,we just need the pinouts to hook up to our ED.Or do we need the EL connector as well?

 

_________________

Like a memory in motion...you were only passing through......OH Caroline!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 03, 2009 12:01 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6449

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

RachelandCarolinesEDGhia wrote:
tickford_6 wrote:
EF ecu will not fit the ed harness.

you'll need an EL ecu. then you have to work out if you want to use the factory BBM switching hardware, in which case you need to find it on a donor car.

or switch it some other way.


We already have the vacuum switch to work the butterflies on the BBM.Is an EL ECU better for our car as it already runs a dist. We would like the extra kw that a tickford would produce,so are we better off with a tickford ECU from an EL XR6.We are good at wiring so we are not scared to graft a connector into our harness,we just want to know the best way to go as
us girls want to feel the power!!




http://www.fordmods.com/forums/tuning-y ... 68577.html

 

_________________

PERMANENTLY BANNED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 03, 2009 12:04 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 3737

Joined: 22nd May 2006

Ride: BF F6 Tornado - #0077

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

tickford_6 wrote:
http://www.fordmods.com/forums/tuning-your-ef-el-falcon-eec-v-with-a-j3-chip-t68577.html


seems to be the answer to pritty much everything now doesnt it

 

_________________

** For Sale ** http://www.fordmods.com/ford-parts-for-sale-f17/assorted-e-series-parts-t124697.html

F6 Tornado 2006 Build

Is it about sex? The engine in my car? Or a cure for cancer?
No?

Then f**k off

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 03, 2009 12:06 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 6449

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

fiftyone wrote:
tickford_6 wrote:
http://www.fordmods.com/forums/tuning-your-ef-el-falcon-eec-v-with-a-j3-chip-t68577.html


seems to be the answer to pritty much everything now doesnt it


unless you drive an AU

 

_________________

PERMANENTLY BANNED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 03, 2009 12:11 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 6467

Joined: 18th Dec 2006

Ride: 93 ED sedan

Power: 161 rwkw

Location: Rockhampton
QLD, Australia

tickford_6 wrote:
EF ecu will not fit the ed harness.

you'll need an EL ecu. then you have to work out if you want to use the factory BBM switching hardware, in which case you need to find it on a donor car.

or switch it some other way.


Correct....EF has a 106 pin ECU and the ED has a 60 pin ECU.

 

_________________

http://youtu.be/jJTh9F3Vgg0

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ECU Change for EF XR6 into ED Ghia
Posted: Thu May 28, 2009 5:17 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 613

Joined: 5th Aug 2007

Location: Ararat
VIC, Australia

I'd be using a EL XR6 ecu, or an EL Ghia ECU - as said before this would be a correct fit- with no mucking around - and would certainly match the Ef Ghia T- motor
Id be dropping in a 3.45 LSD from one of the above cars while your at it.

You wont notice a huge "Power" difference, unless other mods are done- what you will definently get is a more responsive motor with a more usable torque range- a nice constant surge above 2,500 - redline .This is where these motors benefit imo.

I actually prefer driving my EF2 6 more then my Ef ghia V8- apart from the Windsors sound *lol*

 

_________________

EF Ghia 5L V8
BAMk2 XR8 Velocity/Cobra 19's

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 11 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 19, 2017 3:47 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names