Fordmods Logo

ed ef or au engine???? 

 

Page 2 of 3 [ 42 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

 
Posted: Tue Oct 03, 2006 9:04 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

yea
thanks for your help huggiebear..
i only hope that the engine i put in will pull the same or better 1/4 mile time..

ive seen some of the progress on your car on fastfords..
its coming along .. at least its one colour now!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Oct 03, 2006 9:06 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

hahaha everyone teases me for the green doors but no one teased the old owner for actually putting them on

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 04, 2006 10:17 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

ok
after talking to the guys from macurther parts plus at narellan.
they said that the power steer pump,aircon pump will fit on the el engine but i will have to use a different harmonic balancer..
and apparently the same goes with the au engine there is one or two brackets to modify but its possible ..

so at the moment im looking at a ef/el engine for $600.with about 120,000 kms
or a au engine for $750. with about 100,000 kms
there was a couple of other wreckers that were selling ed and el engines for $300 but they all had over 200,000kms on them

so now all i have to do is decide which one i want

Last edited by TROY. on Mon Oct 30, 2006 11:59 am, edited 3 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 05, 2006 8:27 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 254

Joined: 30th Jan 2006

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: eb 's' and '67 xr fairmont

Location: Sunbury
VIC, Australia

you cant put you pullys and belts on a au motor. i already tryed that. i have an au engine in my eb and its much better than my missus ef, heaps smoother ,

 

_________________

05 BA futura wagon, dumped, 19s, limo tint ( now the wifes car!

BA XLS ute 3V V8 manual, paceys, CAI and underdrives, good work car!

67 XR fairmont factory V8currently in pieces undergoing full resto one day will make a sweet cruiser!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 05, 2006 9:40 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

provked wrote:
you cant put you pullys and belts on a au motor. i already tryed that. i have an au engine in my eb and its much better than my missus ef, heaps smoother ,


ok!
they say they can no worries and ts50eb has just had them put a au motor in his ea and its got the 3 belt set up on it so i dont know exactly how they did it but they did it . ive also been told that i cant use my ea aircon pump.. but they also tell me that it will fit straight on as the blocks are pretty much the same..

im going to macarthur parts plus on saturday to get some details on what i can do and ill let you know because alot of people say no it cant be done ..
but they have done it before and im going to do it to mine..
ill keep you posted...

Last edited by TROY. on Wed Jan 10, 2007 8:21 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Oct 07, 2006 12:07 am 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 254

Joined: 30th Jan 2006

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: eb 's' and '67 xr fairmont

Location: Sunbury
VIC, Australia

no worrys mate wound be interested to see it if it works i just coulnt work out how with out welding or drilling and tapping the block. keep us updated, i will try and look for photos of my car.

 

_________________

05 BA futura wagon, dumped, 19s, limo tint ( now the wifes car!

BA XLS ute 3V V8 manual, paceys, CAI and underdrives, good work car!

67 XR fairmont factory V8currently in pieces undergoing full resto one day will make a sweet cruiser!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Oct 07, 2006 2:35 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

ok
i went to macarthur parts plus today ..
they are very helpfull. i will be going the au engine .
its not to hard to fit at all .my aircon pump will fit straight on so will my power steer pump. i will have to use my ea alternator and to use the 3 belt set up they will use a ea harmonic balancer and the aircon tensioner will fit so other than that the square tube on the k frame will have a groove cut bent forward 1/2" and re welded to clear the sump

so i will be getting it done next week i will post up pics when its all done..

Last edited by TROY. on Fri Oct 27, 2006 7:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Oct 07, 2006 3:08 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline

Age: 36

Posts: 254

Joined: 30th Jan 2006

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: eb 's' and '67 xr fairmont

Location: Sunbury
VIC, Australia

sweet good luk with it.

 

_________________

05 BA futura wagon, dumped, 19s, limo tint ( now the wifes car!

BA XLS ute 3V V8 manual, paceys, CAI and underdrives, good work car!

67 XR fairmont factory V8currently in pieces undergoing full resto one day will make a sweet cruiser!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 18, 2006 7:00 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

hi
well the engine is fitted and going.
what a difference..
its so much smoother.. but there is not that much more grunt but theres more torque..
had a few minor problems like the thermostat had got stuck and the engine got a little hot and had to play with the timing a little because it was pinging ..also my header tank split and had to get a new one..
f**k me it cost $155 from ford :o :x :shock: ...
but its all runing sweet now..

i have attached some pics of the belt set up to show that it all works
we even used a ea balancer/ aircon pump/power steer pump and water pump...

 

 

Attachments:
au bottom.jpg
au bottom.jpg [ 85.37 KiB | Viewed 25 times ]
au engine.jpg
au engine.jpg [ 139.04 KiB | Viewed 40 times ]
au alt.jpg
au alt.jpg [ 89.81 KiB | Viewed 24 times ]
au belt.jpg
au belt.jpg [ 92.33 KiB | Viewed 31 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 18, 2006 7:07 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 136

Joined: 9th Nov 2004

Ride: EA2 'Mont

Location: Warrnambool
VIC, Australia

or you could do the K-frame like this:

Image
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 18, 2006 7:07 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

awsome stuff, glad to see it worked out great. how did you remove the harmonic balancer pulley?

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Oct 18, 2006 7:23 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

hi

just used a universal puller to get the balancer off and the ea one fit straight on...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Oct 21, 2006 9:38 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 497

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: 1989 300ZX Twin turbo Z32

Location: Bardon, Brisbane
QLD, Australia

hey mate. why didn't you just grind the front of the sump back on the au motor instead or cutting the k frame?

 

_________________

Sold my EB :(
Now got my 300zx :)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Oct 21, 2006 1:24 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

thats a good question....????
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Oct 21, 2006 1:31 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

cant you just fit an EA sump to the AU motor for it to fit or is the AU motor offset different?

EDIT: WOO POST 1001 8-)

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 3  [ 42 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 5:17 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names