Fordmods Logo

ed motor in ea 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 18 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: ed motor in ea
Posted: Sun Nov 18, 2012 6:31 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 9

Joined: 18th Nov 2012

Ride: ford ea s pac

Location: lithgow
NSW, Australia

hi every one i have just put a ed motor and box in my ea the thing is my car runns with the ea computer but whan i start it it almost stalls than the revs pick up and its fine i have a prob with the timing i can get it to nere top center mark but the line on the harmonic is jumping around and not staying on the top mark i was told its becose im running the ea computer i need to run the ed one is that right also what can i do about the ed computer my ea hasent got smart lock whan i put the ed computer in the car just turns over hasent got spark is the a way to bypass this any info would be grate i brout the ea cheep than found out the head was gorn thats whay i put the ed motor and gearbox in it
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ed motor in ea
Posted: Sun Nov 18, 2012 7:32 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

is your ea mpfi??
if it is you dont need the ed computer, it will run fine on the ea one..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ed motor in ea
Posted: Sun Nov 18, 2012 8:08 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 9

Joined: 18th Nov 2012

Ride: ford ea s pac

Location: lithgow
NSW, Australia

hi mate ya my ea is mpfi not the strange carb set up whats the best way to get some good horse power from the ed motor
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ed motor in ea
Posted: Mon Nov 19, 2012 12:14 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 112

Joined: 18th Aug 2005

Location: hobart
TAS, Australia

are you setting the timing with it in diagnostics mode?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ed motor in ea
Posted: Mon Nov 19, 2012 10:22 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 9

Joined: 18th Nov 2012

Ride: ford ea s pac

Location: lithgow
NSW, Australia

no how do i do that i payd the guy down the road to fix my car he has a heap of ea and ebs but my timing jumps alover the place how can i do the diagnostics mode thanks heaps every one
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ed motor in ea
Posted: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:17 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 9

Joined: 18th Nov 2012

Ride: ford ea s pac

Location: lithgow
NSW, Australia

viper1431 wrote:
are you setting the timing with it in diagnostics mode?

hi mate how do i set the car to diagnostics mode to set the timing thanks mate
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ed motor in ea
Posted: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:21 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 112

Joined: 18th Aug 2005

Location: hobart
TAS, Australia

That's why your timing is way out then.
Umm going by what's in other threads as it's been a while since i did it
"EA and EB1 have a white with red trace wire near the brake booster which needs to be earthed. If you look at the lable on the radiator support panel it tells you"

From memory it's in a connector with a few pins so look for the pin that corresponds to the red/white wire and then run a wire from it to ground. You will hear the engine speed change etc. check the timing then, i think you only have a couple minutes before it goes out of diagnostics mode so be quick.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ed motor in ea
Posted: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:32 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 112

Joined: 18th Aug 2005

Location: hobart
TAS, Australia

Found my manual
it says, switch engine ogg and jumper the wire, start the engine, it should run at 1300-1600rpm for a short period. Check the timing and set it to the IGN mark (one on the left i think)
you have 2 minutes to do it in.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ed motor in ea
Posted: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:40 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 9

Joined: 18th Nov 2012

Ride: ford ea s pac

Location: lithgow
NSW, Australia

grate thanks i will give it a go now is there any diff in the computers like better maping i have the ea one ib my car and i have the ed one that maches the motor but its smart lockd and my car isnt
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ed motor in ea
Posted: Mon Nov 19, 2012 11:50 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 9

Joined: 18th Nov 2012

Ride: ford ea s pac

Location: lithgow
NSW, Australia

is it the red white wire thats part of the plug thats nere the booster thers 3 wires thats red and white and after i do the test the white and red wire do i leve it grounded or put back the way it was thanks mate
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ed motor in ea
Posted: Mon Nov 19, 2012 12:13 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 112

Joined: 18th Aug 2005

Location: hobart
TAS, Australia

yep there is a black plug and then a seperate little plug with a white + red stripe wire, that seperate one is the one you earth. Disconnect it after you're done.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ed motor in ea
Posted: Thu Nov 22, 2012 6:36 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 9

Joined: 18th Nov 2012

Ride: ford ea s pac

Location: lithgow
NSW, Australia

grate thanks i have one more prob now the first 2 injectors are pulsing slower than the other 4 culd that be whay im going through a lot of petty its burning more than a v8
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ed motor in ea
Posted: Thu Nov 22, 2012 6:51 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

if your timing is fluctuating and the car is running like crap, check for side to side movement in the dizzy shaft, your dizzy could be worn
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ed motor in ea
Posted: Thu Nov 22, 2012 6:57 pm 
NSW Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 39

Posts: 7331

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: TE50

Location: ɹǝpun uʍop
NSW, Australia

could also be a rooted harmonic balancer not allowing you even set the timing accuratly in the first place.

 

_________________

Image

I have a car.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: ed motor in ea
Posted: Thu Nov 22, 2012 7:17 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 9

Joined: 18th Nov 2012

Ride: ford ea s pac

Location: lithgow
NSW, Australia

could be i got the motor from a werckd car but the motor just hand a new head put on by a hikks automotive in lithgow the motor starts and runns well just the timing thing and exessive petty concumtion i put a spanner on the injectors to my ear to hear tham pulsing the first 2 are pulsing slower than the rest do you know what can make that happen or is that how thay run thanks for your help
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 16 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 4:11 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names