Fordmods Logo

eec-v self test (help) 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: eec-v self test (help)
Posted: Sun Feb 05, 2006 3:43 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 33

Joined: 9th Jun 2005

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Hi

Does anyone have the time and the patience to give me a quick explanation of the EEC-V self test? Say i connected the sti pin and ground like it says...and the sto to a test lamp and ground aswell then turn the key on....what will happen and how do i interpret these into the codes on the table thingy? What should it read on a multimeter, should it display the corresponding code as a voltage?

Further to this..heres a picture of what i did. I connected the fifth pin from the left, top row...to a working test light. I then turned on the ignition until i heard the injectors. Nothing happened.

Image

Thanks
adaM
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Feb 06, 2006 6:48 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 33

Joined: 9th Jun 2005

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

cmon...surely someone knows how to do this test :shock:
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Feb 06, 2006 7:33 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 8655

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 37 images

Ride: V8 EF Futura

Location: Adelaide CBD
SA, Australia

Hi Jizm,

First up im not sure if you've read this:

http://www.fordmods.com/forums/documents.php?doc=52

This explains quite well how to translate the flashes to error codes.

Seems like you're on track. You ground the top-left pin. Im pretty sure the bottom-left pin is GND.

And place an LED between the 5th pin from the left on the top row and ground. Now turn the key to ON and see what she does.

Be sure to use only an LED or an anlaogue multimeter. People using light globes have been known to blow the output circuit...

 

_________________

I promise..... I will never die.

Fordmods Administration Group MINOR PUNKED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Feb 06, 2006 7:44 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3893

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII V8 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

why would the circuit blow :?

to much current draw?

has anyone made a decide so that its easy to connect to the pins? what did you use to connect to the pins?

 

_________________

2007 Steel BF Ghia MKII V8 - 19" GTP's + Superlows

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Feb 06, 2006 9:46 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 5587

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 96 XH/97 EL

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

I made up a testbox a while ago for this purpose, I have switches mounted on the box for the fuel pump, ABS, Airbag, and ECU catch codes - which has a LED mounted for this. You can also test the thermo fans as well with it. The plug that fits the diagnosis connector is the lower EF BEM connector (low and mid series).
I got this idea from Xyphoid, who said he had his own testbox, and mentioned about the plug.

Certainly makes testing and getting the catch codes easier.
Some guys were going to make a digital readout one, but AFAIK it never eventuated.

 

_________________

96 XH Longreach 'S': LPG, Alarm, 3.23:1 LSD, Cruise, Trip Comp, ABS, Power Windows, Mid Series Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl
97 EL Futura S/W: LPG, Alarm, LED int Lts, Trip Comp, F/Lane Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl, T5 Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 8:54 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 8655

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 37 images

Ride: V8 EF Futura

Location: Adelaide CBD
SA, Australia

Gaz wrote:
why would the circuit blow :?

to much current draw?



Correct. The circuit only designed to power an LED.

 

_________________

I promise..... I will never die.

Fordmods Administration Group MINOR PUNKED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Feb 07, 2006 11:46 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 33

Joined: 9th Jun 2005

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

thanks for the input guys but in my case...it is no use...and i have given up :x
Could not get an of the lights/leds i tried to light up from that switch under any circumstances...but then agian i was improvising with a little alligator clip and bits of wire.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Feb 08, 2006 12:56 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 61

Posts: 437

Joined: 11th Nov 2004

Ride: EL GHIA

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

did you solder a 560ohm resistor wired in series with the LED - IF NOT U HAVE PROBABLY BLOWN IT

and it is polarity sensitive- will only work one way

easy to make temporary connector- just strip ends of wires then cover with insulation tape or heat shrink or flare plastic insulation with nail
or small screwdriver and push onto diagnostic pins
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Feb 08, 2006 9:43 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 33

Joined: 9th Jun 2005

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

No i didn't solder anything at all. If anything is blown..it hasn't affected the way my car runs at all
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 9 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 34 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 8:44 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names