Fordmods Logo

EF Airbag Diagnostic monitor not mounted to vehicle properly 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 18 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: EF Airbag Diagnostic monitor not mounted to vehicle properly
Posted: Fri Oct 19, 2007 9:35 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 3

Joined: 7th Jan 2005

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Sorry if this is in the wrong spot. A friends EF was knocked back for rego because her airbag light stayed on. Further investigation revealed a 21 fault, "Diagnostic monitor not mounted to vehicle properly" Our friendly Ford dealer quoted her $1000 to repair, approx $500 for the monitor and $500 for labour. Now since the car only cost her $1800 and she's abit strapped for cash she asked me to help. I figure I could pick up another monitor from the wreckers for a lot less than $500, replace it and alls well with the world. My questions are a) Is this doable for an average person or is it really a job best left to the dealer. B) Has anybody here done this and are there any tips or tricks C)Where exactly is the monitor situated (I'm guessing behind the dash because the manual doesn't say) Any and all help greatly appreciated. Thanks
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Oct 20, 2007 1:04 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1079

Joined: 18th Sep 2005

Ride: AUII Fairmont

Location: Belmont
WA, Australia

You can get one cheap from a wrecker

The box is bolted to the pedalbox behind the dash, on the right hand side.

It's a dash out job to replace
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Oct 20, 2007 1:58 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2517

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: LS3 VF

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

TwistedEL wrote:
You can get one cheap from a wrecker

The box is bolted to the pedalbox behind the dash, on the right hand side.

It's a dash out job to replace


i have seen guys at work replace them without pulling the dash off. Its just a prick of a job
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Oct 20, 2007 6:11 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 3

Joined: 7th Jan 2005

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Thanks people, I'll give it a go tomorrow and report back. Have a good one
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Oct 21, 2007 9:44 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 3

Joined: 7th Jan 2005

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Ok guys, job done. Fairly easy except for the two bolts in the center of the dash at the bottom, took me a while to find them. Once I found them, the rest was easy. The workshop manual she had was fairly useless. Thanks for the advice people and have a good one.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: does the new unit need to be programmed?
Posted: Sat Oct 27, 2007 12:25 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 3

Joined: 24th Jun 2007

Gallery: 4 images

Location: queenstown
New Zealand

did a check around the wreckers a while ago the units are no good if they have been activated in an accident.. so you need to find a virgin one.

now my question here is in the subject line..
when it is installed does it need reprogramming?
the ford dealer say's yeah. but I'm suspicious of their motives..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Oct 27, 2007 9:58 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1079

Joined: 18th Sep 2005

Ride: AUII Fairmont

Location: Belmont
WA, Australia

I don't think they need to be programmed, just reset if they have been activated.
xpression will be able to answer this I assume.

You are correct about not reusing them
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 05, 2007 11:12 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 5589

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 96 XH/97 EL

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

You can actually reuse crash sensors and the airbag module (diagnostic monitor), providing there's no physical damage to the units or mounting brackets, they do reset themselves. They are a magnetic device which uses the car's inertia (change in movement) to operate.
The airbag module will blow an internal fuse, if it determines that the airbags are in danger of being unintentionally set off (short circuits, etc), this disables the whole system, and the module will then need to be replaced, and the system reset.

The airbag module does use green screws to mount it, so be sure to use same when replacing.

 

_________________

96 XH Longreach 'S': LPG, Alarm, 3.23:1 LSD, Cruise, Trip Comp, ABS, Power Windows, Mid Series Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl
97 EL Futura S/W: LPG, Alarm, LED int Lts, Trip Comp, F/Lane Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl, T5 Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 05, 2007 12:09 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1079

Joined: 18th Sep 2005

Ride: AUII Fairmont

Location: Belmont
WA, Australia

snap0964 wrote:
You can actually reuse crash sensors and the airbag module (diagnostic monitor), providing there's no physical damage to the units or mounting brackets, they do reset themselves. They are a magnetic device which uses the car's inertia (change in movement) to operate.
The airbag module will blow an internal fuse, if it determines that the airbags are in danger of being unintentionally set off (short circuits, etc), this disables the whole system, and the module will then need to be replaced, and the system reset.

The airbag module does use green screws to mount it, so be sure to use same when replacing.


He's right you can reuse them but I sure as hell wouldn't
They are amazingly simple sensors, if you ever find yourself with a spare one I'd strongly suggest you break it open and see how it works
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Nov 05, 2007 3:04 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 5589

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 96 XH/97 EL

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

TwistedEL wrote:
you can reuse them but I sure as hell wouldn't
I should've added that I'd suspect most people would be hesitant.
The under dash crash sensors are the same as the front, so if you can find a car with minimal damage to get them from, they may be a viable option, also being under cover, they'll have minimal water/UV damage.

 

_________________

96 XH Longreach 'S': LPG, Alarm, 3.23:1 LSD, Cruise, Trip Comp, ABS, Power Windows, Mid Series Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl
97 EL Futura S/W: LPG, Alarm, LED int Lts, Trip Comp, F/Lane Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl, T5 Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF Airbag Diagnostic monitor not mounted to vehicle properly
Posted: Sun Apr 19, 2009 10:11 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 5589

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 96 XH/97 EL

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

As mentioned, the Airbag module can be replaced with the dash in place, however, patience is required. Here's how I did it - obviously not the only way.
EF/EL removal install:
- Inspect your replacement Airbag monitor and note the three 3 x mounting bolt locations, all are 8mm green bolts.
- Drop the white dash connector and bracket down (2 x 12mm bolts).
- Place socket and extension onto the upper green bolt mount closest to the pedalbox - you'll do this blind, and have the extension sit just past the module body, so you can fit the rachet to it. Remove the green bolt. If you remove the fuse box cover, you can see this bolt through the top holes.
- Remove RH side dash air vent - you'll be able to see the other upper bolt, with a number of extensions, remove the green bolt.
- Remove the lower green bolt - the module will drop down. Move it around to get it below the pedalbox.
- Press the locking tabs, remove the electrical connectors.
- Connect replacement Airbag module, fit to mounting location, fit and nip up lower green bolt. Check through the viewing points covered above, that the upper two mount holes are lined up.
Fit the upper two bolts by wrapping in masking tape and pressing into a socket so they are a tight fit, locate mounting holes as above, fit rachet to socket and extension, and do each bolt up.
- Fit white dash connector and bracket.
- Test Airbag system, and reset codes if necessary.

 

_________________

96 XH Longreach 'S': LPG, Alarm, 3.23:1 LSD, Cruise, Trip Comp, ABS, Power Windows, Mid Series Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl
97 EL Futura S/W: LPG, Alarm, LED int Lts, Trip Comp, F/Lane Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl, T5 Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF Airbag Diagnostic monitor not mounted to vehicle properly
Posted: Sun Apr 19, 2009 10:35 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 1061

Joined: 7th Sep 2007

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BF3 Egas wag SY AWD Terry Ghia

Location: Brookfield
VIC, Australia

Thank's for all that info. I will use the airbag sensors from the undamaged car. This should fix the airbag light problem. So how do you reset the faulut codes?

Cheers Richard

 

_________________

BF3 Egas XT Wagon
SY Territory Ghia AWD 6spA :))

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF Airbag Diagnostic monitor not mounted to vehicle properly
Posted: Sun Apr 19, 2009 11:52 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 5589

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 96 XH/97 EL

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

By reading the sticky:
interior-modifications-f14/ef-el-airbag-system-ready-reference-t57569.html

 

_________________

96 XH Longreach 'S': LPG, Alarm, 3.23:1 LSD, Cruise, Trip Comp, ABS, Power Windows, Mid Series Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl
97 EL Futura S/W: LPG, Alarm, LED int Lts, Trip Comp, F/Lane Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl, T5 Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF Airbag Diagnostic monitor not mounted to vehicle properly
Posted: Mon Apr 20, 2009 8:16 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 1061

Joined: 7th Sep 2007

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BF3 Egas wag SY AWD Terry Ghia

Location: Brookfield
VIC, Australia

Thank's Snap.

I will have a good look through all that info when i reconnect everything this week.

Richard

 

_________________

BF3 Egas XT Wagon
SY Territory Ghia AWD 6spA :))

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF Airbag Diagnostic monitor not mounted to vehicle properly
Posted: Mon Apr 20, 2009 3:21 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 1061

Joined: 7th Sep 2007

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BF3 Egas wag SY AWD Terry Ghia

Location: Brookfield
VIC, Australia

I have had an accident at 110kph and the airbag which I had refitted to a new leather wheel worked. I had sratches on my arms from the outer seam which was my only injury.

I am not too worried about playing with the system so long as the battery is removed LOL

 

_________________

BF3 Egas XT Wagon
SY Territory Ghia AWD 6spA :))

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 24 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 7:12 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names