Fordmods Logo

EF Auto oil level?? help... 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 19 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: EF Auto oil level?? help...
Posted: Thu Sep 22, 2005 4:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 575

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EF

Location: Wodonga
VIC, Australia

Ok, dumb question for today.
I was going to top up my auto oil, as I've installed a new radiator, my auto is one of the ones that ford didn’t put a dipstick on :evil:. So under the car, on the drivers side of the gearbox there is a nut about half way up, just above the BTR label, is this the one I use to top the oil up. And I guess when it starts to flow back out of that hole that that’s enough oil....

Anyone know for sure??

Thanks.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Sep 22, 2005 4:16 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 1040

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EA Fairmont Ghia

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

That nut is the band adjustment for either the front or rear band DO NOT TOUCH IT.

You have pump the fluid throught the gearbox return line.

 

_________________

Full working BA Shifter now upgraded to BF Shifter.
BA headlight inserts in my EA headlights.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Sep 22, 2005 4:19 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 575

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EF

Location: Wodonga
VIC, Australia

damn, that was a quick reply,, so how do I know there is enough oil in there???
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Sep 22, 2005 4:26 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 575

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EF

Location: Wodonga
VIC, Australia

Also I'm fairly sure only the early EA auto's had the external band adjustors. They are those really big looking nuts right?. This one is similar to a sump nut.. ????
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Sep 22, 2005 4:54 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 46

Posts: 1040

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: EA Fairmont Ghia

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

yes all 4 speed auto's have them.

Ok then can yuo post a pic, I havent played with gearboxes with no filler, but I have heard its done via the return lines, if you only swapped the radiator, you probably about 200ml at most.

 

_________________

Full working BA Shifter now upgraded to BF Shifter.
BA headlight inserts in my EA headlights.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EF Auto oil level?? help...
Posted: Thu Sep 22, 2005 4:56 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

tjb45 wrote:
Ok, dumb question for today.
I was going to top up my auto oil, as I've installed a new radiator, my auto is one of the ones that ford didn’t put a dipstick on :evil:. So under the car, on the drivers side of the gearbox there is a nut about half way up, just above the BTR label, is this the one I use to top the oil up. And I guess when it starts to flow back out of that hole that that’s enough oil....

Anyone know for sure??

Thanks.
EF Auto refill, just make sure the car is level then as you thought remove the Bolt on the drivers side of the box and fill her up until it starts to flow out.
Cheers
TW.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Last edited by twase on Thu Sep 22, 2005 4:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Sep 22, 2005 4:57 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 10126

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EF Gli Ghia, XP Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

which models of ef's did Ford take the dipstick off?

 

_________________

Owning 1 of 67612 EF GLi Sedans made
FACT: "Chuck Norris owns the greatest Poker Face of all-time. It helped him win the 1983 World Series of Poker despite him holding just a Joker, a Get out of Jail Free Monopoly card, a 2 of clubs, 7 of spades and a green #4 card from the game Uno."

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Sep 22, 2005 5:58 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 988

Joined: 4th Dec 2004

Ride: el faimont, dual fuel

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

it'd have to be an late 95 orearly 96 ef as mid 95's still had dipsticks.
and have fun fillin it up as that nut is in the stupidest place it could be, the exhaust gets in the way, i used an electric oil pump and even that was a pain.

 

_________________

why do u write in here.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Sep 23, 2005 3:57 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 575

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EF

Location: Wodonga
VIC, Australia

Yer I found it.. stupid place all right,, if it was on the other side it would be so much easier. The only thing, I've put a new radiator in, and a larger auto oil cooler. When I went to top the oil up it was still full.. I ran the car for about 2 minutes with it in drive whilst on the hoist, but still it was full... I know it must of lost some oil in the last radiator and auto cooler. Is it possible that last time I had it serviced that they put a bit extra in somehow????

Thanks for the help anyway....

Cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Sep 23, 2005 8:40 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1960

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 22 images

Power: 315 rwkw

Location: Under the flight path of incoming packpackers
NSW, Australia

Hows your auto holding up generally? Mines playing up now...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 27, 2005 8:08 am 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 21

Joined: 31st Aug 2005

Ride: au2 forte

Location: newcastle
NSW, Australia

Dellboy999 wrote:
That nut is the band adjustment for either the front or rear band DO NOT TOUCH IT.

You have pump the fluid throught the gearbox return line.



dont mean to be rude but i think u wiil find that the ed was the last adjustable auto ,late94( first of the ef) was a full electronic box there was no band adjustment :D
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 27, 2005 9:50 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1960

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 22 images

Power: 315 rwkw

Location: Under the flight path of incoming packpackers
NSW, Australia

So is it posible for a novice to climb under and adjust the bands on an ED box?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 28, 2005 3:47 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 988

Joined: 4th Dec 2004

Ride: el faimont, dual fuel

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

tjb45 wrote:
Yer I found it.. stupid place all right,, if it was on the other side it would be so much easier. The only thing, I've put a new radiator in, and a larger auto oil cooler. When I went to top the oil up it was still full.. I ran the car for about 2 minutes with it in drive whilst on the hoist, but still it was full... I know it must of lost some oil in the last radiator and auto cooler. Is it possible that last time I had it serviced that they put a bit extra in somehow????

Thanks for the help anyway....

Cheers


the ford service manual recomend you take it for a drive and then check the level, and ot just let it idle for a minute or two.

 

_________________

why do u write in here.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 28, 2005 5:28 am 
Fordmods Addict
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 7958

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 237 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

CHEF wrote:
So is it posible for a novice to climb under and adjust the bands on an ED box?

According to the Haynes Service Manual I have in front of me now, it's piss easy CHEF.
I'm gonna have a bash at mine when I've got the car on stands for the new suspension and diff.

Theres apprently band adjusting screws on either side of the trans.
The Front bands scew is on the left side, the rear is on the right.
To adjust the front band, loosen the adjusting screw locknut.
Tighten the adjusting screw to 10Nm
Loosen the adjusting scew exactly 3 turns
Hold the adjusting screw securely and tighten locknut to 40Nm

For the rear band, loosen locknut again, tighten screw to 15Nm, then loosen it exactly 1 turn.
Again, hold it secure and torque lock nut to 40Nm

Apparently a symptom of the bands being out of adjustment is slipping into and out of 2nd Gear.
Let me know how you go if you give it a bash before I do.

 

_________________

ED XR8 Sprint - S-Trim, V500, 249rwkw
BF MKII F6 Tornado - 237rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Sep 28, 2005 9:04 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1960

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 22 images

Power: 315 rwkw

Location: Under the flight path of incoming packpackers
NSW, Australia

Awesome! Slipping in to and out of 2nd is exactly what mine is doing... I'll climb under it tomorow and have a go :D
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 19 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 24 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 6:15 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names