Fordmods Logo

ef cutting out 

 

Page 2 of 3 [ 32 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

 
Posted: Sun Dec 16, 2007 9:42 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2550

Joined: 28th Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: EF 5 Speed, XH Uterus :P

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

done an ECU diagnosis?

 

_________________

Maloo - Holden's word for ugly.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 16, 2007 9:46 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 181

Joined: 7th Sep 2006

Ride: EF Mont

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

No, every time I ask someone if they know how to do it, they all tell me there's no point because EF's dont give you any codes, but people on here seem to get heaps of info out of it, lol.

I wouldnt know how to do one anyway.

 

_________________

Sanity is for the Weak!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 16, 2007 10:25 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2550

Joined: 28th Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: EF 5 Speed, XH Uterus :P

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

i'ms ure a search would bring up how to do it.

i have one of the unit's that muzza was selling on here - well worth the $$'s

PM me if you want to give that a try

 

_________________

Maloo - Holden's word for ugly.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Dec 16, 2007 10:44 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 181

Joined: 7th Sep 2006

Ride: EF Mont

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

I think i tried to find it once before and failed, lol. Oh well, try again. I mite have to catch up with ya sometimes soon and bash that unit on then. See what it tells us.

 

_________________

Sanity is for the Weak!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Dec 20, 2007 8:09 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 266

Joined: 8th Aug 2007

Gallery: 30 images

Ride: xd 351, AUII XR6.... R.I.P ef fa

Location: Prestons
NSW, Australia

Did fuel pump today it had one from a wreckers in it. It had EL written in that texta they use..... see how it goes tomorrow...
other wise next is crank angle sensor...

 

_________________

<a href="http://s154.photobucket.com/albums/s278/stephen351/?action=view¤t=resize2.jpg" target="_blank"><img src="http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s278/stephen351/resize2.jpg" border="0" alt="resize"></a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 21, 2007 5:45 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 67

Posts: 25

Joined: 23rd Sep 2007

Ride: EF Falcon

Location: Kingaroy
QLD, Australia

change map sensor and vacume hose located on firewall passenger side same prob with mine type in map sensor on this site it will show you photo

 

_________________

Try me I know it!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 21, 2007 8:34 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 266

Joined: 8th Aug 2007

Gallery: 30 images

Ride: xd 351, AUII XR6.... R.I.P ef fa

Location: Prestons
NSW, Australia

WILL DO!!! changes fuel pump still does it, but.. its more responsive!!!!!...
I was thinking map sensor...
Should i go new or second hand???

 

_________________

<a href="http://s154.photobucket.com/albums/s278/stephen351/?action=view¤t=resize2.jpg" target="_blank"><img src="http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s278/stephen351/resize2.jpg" border="0" alt="resize"></a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 21, 2007 9:58 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 266

Joined: 8th Aug 2007

Gallery: 30 images

Ride: xd 351, AUII XR6.... R.I.P ef fa

Location: Prestons
NSW, Australia

got a brand new map sensor organised... stand bye.. till after xmas...

 

_________________

<a href="http://s154.photobucket.com/albums/s278/stephen351/?action=view¤t=resize2.jpg" target="_blank"><img src="http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s278/stephen351/resize2.jpg" border="0" alt="resize"></a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 04, 2008 7:51 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 266

Joined: 8th Aug 2007

Gallery: 30 images

Ride: xd 351, AUII XR6.... R.I.P ef fa

Location: Prestons
NSW, Australia

Map sensor and hose changed.... results tomorrow..

 

_________________

<a href="http://s154.photobucket.com/albums/s278/stephen351/?action=view¤t=resize2.jpg" target="_blank"><img src="http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s278/stephen351/resize2.jpg" border="0" alt="resize"></a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jan 05, 2008 7:40 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 55

Posts: 153

Joined: 6th Dec 2004

Ride: ef gli

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

check the fuel pump relay.it can create this sort of issues. it is mounted with a couple of others near the battery and connections can be affected by corrosion. just see how the connections look and wriggle it around a bit, maybe try a different relay

 

_________________

Garthr

Those who say "it can't be done" shouldn't interrupt those who are doing it.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 5:21 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 266

Joined: 8th Aug 2007

Gallery: 30 images

Ride: xd 351, AUII XR6.... R.I.P ef fa

Location: Prestons
NSW, Australia

Another waste of money, map sensor didnt fix it, if anything its worse.
Its kinda like a vaccume leak, but its intermident. of there is no fuel for a split second.
changed the hose too... pump relay next..
maybe even injectors... maybe tps

 

_________________

<a href="http://s154.photobucket.com/albums/s278/stephen351/?action=view¤t=resize2.jpg" target="_blank"><img src="http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s278/stephen351/resize2.jpg" border="0" alt="resize"></a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 07, 2008 12:09 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 61

Joined: 27th Jan 2005

Ride: Falcon

Location: geelong
VIC, Australia

Ragvaror wrote:
I'm having similar issues with my EF mont, but mine's so bad that as soon as you take ur foot off the gas pedal, it'll stall. Rev's just drop right off, as if there's no idle control at all. Myself, and a few mechanic friends have had a bit of a look at it, but we cant figure it out yet. I've replaced the IAC and PCV valve, but no joy. I'm thinking now maybe wiring issue with IAC / TPS or the crank angle sensor.

I dont spose any of you blokes could tell me the correct test data for putting a multimeter across the IAC and TPS? Also the crank angle sensore? I did do a search and had a good look thru the tech doco section, but could find what I was looking for.



just had one like this in my workshop....ECU!!!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 07, 2008 12:14 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 61

Joined: 27th Jan 2005

Ride: Falcon

Location: geelong
VIC, Australia

as gutza said

check the crank angle sensor
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jan 07, 2008 12:59 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 181

Joined: 7th Sep 2006

Ride: EF Mont

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

clydetj wrote:
Ragvaror wrote:
I'm having similar issues with my EF mont, but mine's so bad that as soon as you take ur foot off the gas pedal, it'll stall. Rev's just drop right off, as if there's no idle control at all. Myself, and a few mechanic friends have had a bit of a look at it, but we cant figure it out yet. I've replaced the IAC and PCV valve, but no joy. I'm thinking now maybe wiring issue with IAC / TPS or the crank angle sensor.

I dont spose any of you blokes could tell me the correct test data for putting a multimeter across the IAC and TPS? Also the crank angle sensore? I did do a search and had a good look thru the tech doco section, but could find what I was looking for.



just had one like this in my workshop....ECU!!!


So is that a new unit job, or can they be re flashed or something. Silly question, I know, but they arent cheap.

Hey, if I had to replace my ecu, would it be worth getting an after market one? lol

 

_________________

Sanity is for the Weak!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 11, 2008 1:37 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 140

Joined: 21st Feb 2007

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: EF Citric Acid

Location: Newcastle
NSW, Australia

is it Auto?
Mine did this for months everytime i slowed down the revs dropped, and also stalled if i didn't give it some, but this was only until i hit 80km/h+ which is when the converter locks and when you slow down it's ment to release mine never did unless i gave it some, i would check it.

Acidic

 

_________________

96 R33 Skyline

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 2 of 3  [ 32 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 14 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 2:26 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names