Fordmods Logo

EF Fails to run 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 21 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: EF Fails to run
Posted: Sun Sep 07, 2008 10:53 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 852

Joined: 15th Nov 2007

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

Hi everyone got a 95 EF Fairmont an the other day just hopped in the car for a drive an as i started it, an as it started the revs dropped straight away an the car just stalled

then the 2nd time i tried to keep the revs up an the car was still on but then it was like it back fired

anyone no what it could be


thx
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 08, 2008 9:37 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 852

Joined: 15th Nov 2007

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

bump
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 09, 2008 11:15 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 852

Joined: 15th Nov 2007

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

anyone had this prob?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 09, 2008 11:54 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 1087

Joined: 1st Sep 2007

Ride: '07 LT XR5

Power: 133 rwkw

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

could be a few things,

the fuel filter could be severly clogged, the injectors could be clogged.

Does it crank over easily enough? if so, i would say that ignition is fine (ie spark etc) but could be worth checking out leads and spark plugs to see that they are in good nick.

That's a starting point

 

_________________

So much RAM the motherboard twisted off the POST.

I lost 3 cylinders... but gained a turbo...
Proud owner of an '07 XR5Turbo

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 09, 2008 4:07 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 852

Joined: 15th Nov 2007

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

yeah it kicks over fine, jus as soon as it starts it cuts out,

could it be a sensor that has gone ?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 09, 2008 10:01 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 1061

Joined: 7th Sep 2007

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BF3 Egas wag SY AWD Terry Ghia

Location: Brookfield
VIC, Australia

hose popped off the Map sensor

 

_________________

BF3 Egas XT Wagon
SY Territory Ghia AWD 6spA :))

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 15, 2008 9:34 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 852

Joined: 15th Nov 2007

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

thx, where abouts could i find the map sensor
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 15, 2008 9:56 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 313

Joined: 9th Jan 2006

Ride: EF2 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Eltham
VIC, Australia

Its on the side of the intake manifold

see the picture :D

 

 

Attachments:
15092008125.jpg
15092008125.jpg [ 92.43 KiB | Viewed 917 times ]

 

_________________

Cobra Motorsports

1996 EF2 Fairmont Ghia For Sale

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Sep 15, 2008 9:58 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 313

Joined: 9th Jan 2006

Ride: EF2 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Eltham
VIC, Australia

some times they come off, it was such a big problem that in the EL's they mounted the MAP's on the intake manifold instead.

 

_________________

Cobra Motorsports

1996 EF2 Fairmont Ghia For Sale

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 16, 2008 12:38 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 852

Joined: 15th Nov 2007

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

with my pic below wat is in the red that i hav drawn

Image
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 16, 2008 1:18 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 3737

Joined: 22nd May 2006

Ride: BF F6 Tornado - #0077

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

idle speed control

 

_________________

** For Sale ** http://www.fordmods.com/ford-parts-for-sale-f17/assorted-e-series-parts-t124697.html

F6 Tornado 2006 Build

Is it about sex? The engine in my car? Or a cure for cancer?
No?

Then f**k off

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 16, 2008 1:14 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 852

Joined: 15th Nov 2007

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

ah k well we got the racv bloke to come around an the last thing he did was disconect that then reconect it, we just left the car as is, then the next day i tried starting it

and what do u no it started fine, jus now most times i go to start it it just cuts out an then the 2nd time it starts fine
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 16, 2008 10:36 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 249

Joined: 20th May 2007

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: el gli manwel

Location: Brisvegas baby
QLD, Australia

well now thats a pickle

 

_________________

THE LOOSEST MUTHA FUKA YOU'VE EVER MET

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 16, 2008 10:45 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 852

Joined: 15th Nov 2007

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

yep i just changed the rev limiter module an yeh still doesnt help

no idea wat to do
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Sep 16, 2008 10:45 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 852

Joined: 15th Nov 2007

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

or that idle speed control module
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 27 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 11:16 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names