Fordmods Logo

ef ghia lacking power? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 14 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: ef ghia lacking power?
Posted: Sun Aug 24, 2008 9:10 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 1221

Joined: 11th Nov 2007

Ride: f6 rspec

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Hey guys, about 1 month ago now i bought a ef fairmont ghia and it was great. I figured out it came with the tickford motor after i felt it had some good power for a stock car.

After driving it around for a while, i changed the oil to penrite hpr 15 (15w60) and im not sure if its because of that, but i seem to be lacking/loosing power now.

It used to pull real hard on take offs, and now its feeling like a ordinary falcon..I can just keep in front of holden vr's now (162kw (mine) 130kw (vr)

Has anyone got any suggestions as to whats robbing my motor of power?

The airfilter is clean (k&n panel), other then that i haven't touched the car since i got it. I will try changing fuel filter, along with a few tanks of ultimate.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 24, 2008 9:42 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 66

Posts: 2548

Joined: 18th Mar 2006

Ride: EF-XR8chaser

Location: wollongong
NSW, Australia

oil grade is to heavy,15\40 or check the forums its been done,check compression.

 

_________________

R.I.P HANS HARTMAN

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 24, 2008 11:03 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 462

Joined: 7th Apr 2005

Ride: EA

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

check your cat converter, when they collapse they rob power something shocking

 

_________________

Ford Falcon EA Naturally Aspirated 4.0L i6
13.797 @ 157.16km/h (Limiter Bounce)

1/4 Mile Video

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 24, 2008 11:07 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 1221

Joined: 11th Nov 2007

Ride: f6 rspec

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Grechie wrote:
check your cat converter, when they collapse they rob power something shocking


Hopefully its the cat, im changing exhaust asap with to a 2.5inch with hiflow so hopefully that will improve my performance..

Ill also do a comp. check and chnage the oil to a lighter grade (although it does say suitable for cars recommending a 15w.40 grade
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 25, 2008 1:20 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 86

Joined: 1st Aug 2008

Gallery: 34 images

Ride: EF fairmont + upgrades

Location: Werribee
VIC, Australia

hello

go and see a reputable mechanic they should have a computer thinggy they can hook up to the plug under the dash and it tells you everything

that is the best bet. for a test might get away for free or the might be a small charge but it will save you time and $$ and it might be something as simple as you car accidentaly being reset to standard settings, stupid things happen for no reason some times ??


failing that list of possible reasons

oil
cat converter
timing
o2 sensor failing
coil not 100%
throttle position switch
short in the electical system
fuel injectors blocked

 

_________________

need a rotisserie for a classic resto 0471525912 Tom

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 25, 2008 7:06 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 48

Posts: 1061

Joined: 7th Sep 2007

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: BF3 Egas wag SY AWD Terry Ghia

Location: Brookfield
VIC, Australia

or fuel filter blocked.

 

_________________

BF3 Egas XT Wagon
SY Territory Ghia AWD 6spA :))

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Aug 26, 2008 3:01 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 53

Joined: 8th May 2008

Ride: EL XR8

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Yeh i would say take to shop so they can diagnose it..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Aug 26, 2008 3:02 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 53

Joined: 8th May 2008

Ride: EL XR8

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

But check your fuel filter first
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Aug 26, 2008 3:06 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 1221

Joined: 11th Nov 2007

Ride: f6 rspec

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

well i changed the fuel filter, and can't notice a difference..im hoping its just the oil, so ill change to 15w40 fully synthetic and see it it makes a difference. Exhaust should be going on asap also
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Aug 26, 2008 3:24 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 1087

Joined: 1st Sep 2007

Ride: '07 LT XR5

Power: 133 rwkw

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

id say cat will be hurting you. are the revs slower to rise now?

 

_________________

So much RAM the motherboard twisted off the POST.

I lost 3 cylinders... but gained a turbo...
Proud owner of an '07 XR5Turbo

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Aug 26, 2008 6:28 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 887

Joined: 8th Aug 2006

Ride: Falcon

Location: Central Highlands
QLD, Australia

How km has the engine done? I wouldn't be dropping out Penrite HPR15 oil. I run HPR15 and I actually think it helps my engine rev out better!

 

_________________

97 EL Fairmont 4l OHC .Silver.
Exhaust: Pacemaker's, 2.5" exhaust and Hiflow cat
Intake: FRAM AIRHOG , EL GT snorkel
XR6 300kpa fuel reg Stg 2 Auto Shift Kit.6DJA ECU
PM in Qld looking too buy Toyota 4*4 SR5 Dualcab Hilux 91-97 with 2.8l diesel engine/5spd manual

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Aug 26, 2008 7:27 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 1221

Joined: 11th Nov 2007

Ride: f6 rspec

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

its done 196000.

Also with the fuel filter, don't buy a valvoline one (its too short and a pain to put on) ill be sticking to ryco from now on.

I've already noticed a good gain in fuel economy since I've changed the filter, so I'm glad i did it anyway. Exhaust should go on this Sunday if all goes to plan.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Aug 26, 2008 8:30 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 25

Joined: 30th Jun 2008

Ride: EL XR6, XE Fairmont Ghia, XD Fal

Location: Bundaberg
QLD, Australia

where did you buy it from? my el xr6 was amazing when i bought it, 2 gear would spin so easy, and the tires were good. then a little while later it just wasn't that good. i just assumed they put that octane booster in the fuel.

 

_________________

Only Push bikes are meant to have only two pedals.

Theres no replacement for displacement.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Aug 26, 2008 8:59 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 1221

Joined: 11th Nov 2007

Ride: f6 rspec

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

it was from a dealers yard

I have put some octane booster and fuel saver additives in recently (but stopped for the last 2 tanks) and filled up full of premium today with the new fuel filter.

Hopefully it will help, and no more additives(only put them in cause they were free)
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 14 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 24 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 8:48 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names