Fordmods Logo

EF Major Oil Loss 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 13 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: EF Major Oil Loss
Posted: Mon Feb 26, 2007 9:12 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 2983

Joined: 15th Apr 2006

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Aberfoyle Park
SA, Australia

I was parked at blackwood this morning and when i came out from the shops there was a massive woil patch under the car.

I checked the oil and it was barly touching the dipstick. I poured a couple liters in just to get me to school (2-4km downhill).

When i got to school i checked it out further and there is alot of oil on the passenger side of the block. It seems to be coming from the oil pressure switch or the oil filter.

Is there anything else it can come from.....Do things like this usually happen (oil pressure switch suddenly crap out)..

Help please...i got till 3:20 when school ends so about 7 hours.

 

_________________

HOLDENS go like rockets. They fall apart in stages!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Feb 26, 2007 10:53 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 79

Posts: 1233

Joined: 7th Apr 2005

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: GTHO PH 1 EF ex chaser

Location: Willow vale, GOLD COAST
QLD, Australia

Usual place is oil switch filters seldom leak exept at initial start after fitting if not fitted correctly or if the old gasket was left behind when changing the filter :P

 

_________________

Rotten Old Revhead!!! XW GTHO + EF ex cop car (exractors 2.5 cat back zorst !6" Simmons K&N +airbox mods Lowered with Bilstein shocks+Whiteline Bars NEXT THING Swap HO for GTP or Ferrari!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Feb 26, 2007 11:02 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 17

Joined: 20th Jul 2005

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Sounds like the same problem i had yesterday, get a torch start the car have a look at the oil pressure switch see if you can see it leeking,my was leeking like a fast driping tap replaced switch all ok now.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Feb 26, 2007 11:26 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 4401

Joined: 25th Mar 2005

Ride: BA XT, BA XR6T, ED Ghia 5.0

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

GTBob wrote:
Usual place is oil switch filters seldom leak exept at initial start after fitting if not fitted correctly or if the old gasket was left behind when changing the filter :P


Yep I did that the other day.. left the old gasket stuck to the block and put the new filter over the top.... made a big bloody mess, probably lost two or three litres of brand new oil :evil:

 

_________________

What's the difference between a Holden and a sheep? It's less embarrasing getting out of the back of a sheep..

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Feb 26, 2007 12:06 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 2983

Joined: 15th Apr 2006

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Aberfoyle Park
SA, Australia

I think its the oil pressure switch. There was oil around it but i can be certain. I think its not the filter, because the oil filter is still white and free of oil.

I think its not the sump because oil it much higher then the sump.

 

_________________

HOLDENS go like rockets. They fall apart in stages!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Feb 26, 2007 12:20 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 2280

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EF Falcon 95

Location: Rosebud
VIC, Australia

i dare say it would be the oil pressure switch.

i just replaced one in mine, leaked little drops sometimes, and other times big patches. Apparently they can leak a little by a little, then all of a sudden drop all your oil in one go. Best to change very quickly.

they are a painfull C*** of a thing to replace to, just to make you feel better about having to do it ;)

 

_________________

Cougar Zero makes my pants fit nice.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Feb 26, 2007 12:20 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 2280

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EF Falcon 95

Location: Rosebud
VIC, Australia

double post.

 

_________________

Cougar Zero makes my pants fit nice.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Feb 26, 2007 4:40 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 2637

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EL TURBO GHIA

Power: 372 rwkw

Location: penrith
NSW, Australia

hahaha have fun replaceing it ,and you need a very long deep socket to do it depending on which one you have

 

_________________

HMMMM BOOST !!!


ED fairmont R.I.P

STREET FORDS FEATURE CAR ISSUE 42

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Feb 26, 2007 4:48 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

years ago people carried a spare... fan belt, leads, a plug or 2, points and a oil sender (idiot light one) oil and 5ltrs fuel just in case!

good idea still to do it... minus the fuel and points i guess.

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Feb 26, 2007 11:12 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 2983

Joined: 15th Apr 2006

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Aberfoyle Park
SA, Australia

Krytox wrote:
years ago people carried a spare... fan belt, leads, a plug or 2, points and a oil sender (idiot light one) oil and 5ltrs fuel just in case!

good idea still to do it... minus the fuel and points i guess.


Yeah well when oil cost $50 for 5 liters (fully synthetic) then its not easy to jsut keep 5 liters in the boot and an oil pressure switch. I dont expect this to happen.

 

_________________

HOLDENS go like rockets. They fall apart in stages!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Feb 27, 2007 1:37 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 2983

Joined: 15th Apr 2006

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Aberfoyle Park
SA, Australia

Going down to my wreckers soon to get a oil pressure switch or sender. Im considering a sender for futura upgrade of the cluster. Im going to buy the socket for it too.

 

_________________

HOLDENS go like rockets. They fall apart in stages!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Feb 28, 2007 4:06 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 2983

Joined: 15th Apr 2006

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Aberfoyle Park
SA, Australia

All Fixed. Bastard of a thing to replace cause i couldnt get to it so i got a mate with girly arms and hands to help. Sprints didnt have a deep socket that would fit so i bent the pin down and tightened it with the socket then bent it back.

 

_________________

HOLDENS go like rockets. They fall apart in stages!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Feb 28, 2007 10:11 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 33

Posts: 43

Joined: 24th Apr 2006

Location: Rockhampton
QLD, Australia

with the sender for the futura it is a lot bigger so a normal oil pressure socket wont fit it. I found when i did my dash conversion none of the aftermarket ones would work so i went with a genuine one and it was about the same price

Cheers Andrew
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 13 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 18 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 19, 2017 1:49 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names