Fordmods Logo

ef or el ecu needed???? HELP!!! 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: ef or el ecu needed???? HELP!!!
Posted: Thu Aug 23, 2007 3:44 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 109

Joined: 24th Mar 2007

Ride: ef futura

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

hi guys.

i have a 96 ef falcon but have been told it was the last month (october build) before the el came out. and the diffrence is ef's have a trans dip stick an el engine does not. is that true?? cause mine does not have a trans dip stick. my ecu is rooted would this mean i would need an el ecu?? cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 23, 2007 5:06 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 1132

Joined: 11th Jun 2006

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: ef fairmont,

Location: brisbane
QLD, Australia

you need to see if it has a dizzy or coilpack ignition set up, if its a coilpack that is an ef if dizzy that is el if it is an ef i got an ecu here ya can have for $50

 

_________________

95 ef montfor sale pm for info, 88 hilux mud truck

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 23, 2007 9:48 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 109

Joined: 24th Mar 2007

Ride: ef futura

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

if this helps i looked at my bbm and it is blue. my car is an ef futura... i looked on the tec docs on this website and it said the el version has a blue bbm..... has any1 else got one of these in there ef??
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 23, 2007 9:54 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1863

Joined: 30th Apr 2006

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

EF series 2 (yours is being a 96) did not have the dipstick fitted.

If it's an EF you need an EF ECU simple as that!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 23, 2007 9:57 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 5589

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 96 XH/97 EL

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

Steve_1241 wrote:
my ecu is rooted would this mean i would need an el ecu?? cheers

And how do you know the ECU is cactus ???

 

_________________

96 XH Longreach 'S': LPG, Alarm, 3.23:1 LSD, Cruise, Trip Comp, ABS, Power Windows, Mid Series Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl
97 EL Futura S/W: LPG, Alarm, LED int Lts, Trip Comp, F/Lane Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl, T5 Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 23, 2007 10:00 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 109

Joined: 24th Mar 2007

Ride: ef futura

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

whn i drive around it will be fine. i slow down it idles fine. willdo this for ages then after a while once i slow almost down to a compete stop th revs will go below 500rpm and feel like its going to stall. then after doing that, re adjusts it self once again and it will work god for a few days... so i assumed it was that?!?!? or has any1 had a similar problem??
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Aug 23, 2007 10:17 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 109

Joined: 24th Mar 2007

Ride: ef futura

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

bump!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Aug 24, 2007 3:44 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 2983

Joined: 15th Apr 2006

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Aberfoyle Park
SA, Australia

might be the idle controller. Its just a 2 bolt valve on top of the throtle body. Take this off and replace/clean it. That SHOULD fix that problem.

 

_________________

HOLDENS go like rockets. They fall apart in stages!!!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 25, 2007 11:35 am 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Posts: 109

Joined: 24th Mar 2007

Ride: ef futura

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Cheers mate, will try that and see how it goes...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 25, 2007 12:07 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1079

Joined: 18th Sep 2005

Ride: AUII Fairmont

Location: Belmont
WA, Australia

If the ISC checks out it's probably the ECU, I have seen exactly this on someones car before. We changed the ECU and it was fine.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 25, 2007 12:31 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 1319

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: 66 Coupe

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

clean out the T/B and reset the base idle
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 11 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 32 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 6:08 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names