Fordmods Logo

Ef pings for a sec under load 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 12 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Ef pings for a sec under load
Posted: Fri Aug 22, 2008 7:49 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 108

Posts: 927

Joined: 27th Sep 2007

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Got an ef futura with a slight problem, when you nail it the motor will ping for a second or so and then it will be fine and rev to redline no worries.
It almost seems like the computer is slow to react to the sudden opening of the throttle .
I have checked tps and all the usual stuff.
The car has extractors,auto,2.5 cat and redback exhaust,intake mods,3.45 diff and is always run on vortex 98.
I thought maybe the au head and gasket would bring up the comp slightly but not enough to make it ping?
It just seems weird that it only does it for a second or two.
Any ideas?

 

_________________

165 Killer Wasps all packaged in a green kmart car, almost an explorer in a way...

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Aug 22, 2008 7:57 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 887

Joined: 8th Aug 2006

Ride: Falcon

Location: Central Highlands
QLD, Australia

try resetting your ECU, other than that I would say replace fuel filter and maybe get your injectors cleaned. How's your Idle quality?

 

_________________

97 EL Fairmont 4l OHC .Silver.
Exhaust: Pacemaker's, 2.5" exhaust and Hiflow cat
Intake: FRAM AIRHOG , EL GT snorkel
XR6 300kpa fuel reg Stg 2 Auto Shift Kit.6DJA ECU
PM in Qld looking too buy Toyota 4*4 SR5 Dualcab Hilux 91-97 with 2.8l diesel engine/5spd manual

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Aug 22, 2008 8:44 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

Mines the same, I blame the head gasket too.

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Aug 22, 2008 10:42 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 1934

Joined: 8th Nov 2004

Ride: BA Falcon XR8

Location: Bunbury
WA, Australia

The old SOHC engine i had used to do the same thing. Lack of fuel when opened up quickly?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Aug 22, 2008 11:11 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 49

Posts: 763

Joined: 5th Nov 2005

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: oberon
NSW, Australia

One of my old bosses had an eb and suggested to keep it running at peek he would dissconect the battery for 30min then go for a short run and use full throttle atleast twice so the computer could reset it self. Weather it works or not I have no idea. Otherwise sounds like your timing is slightly out.

 

_________________

ef fairmont ghia 5.0L
classy cruiser

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 23, 2008 9:25 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 4093

Joined: 20th Mar 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 2.0 Turbo VW

Power: 142 rwkw

Location: Seaford State:
VIC, Australia

You cant adjust ignition timing in ef's.

I was going to steam clean the pistons when running to remove carbon deposits and see if this resolves it, however, the inside was spotless when i changed the head.
Its done it ever since I installed an AU gasket.

BUT

If i use vortex the car runs great!
Optimax/synergy just don't seem to like my car.

Sure I know how to work around it, but it shouldn't ping under a bit of load ever imo.

 

_________________

Carefree, we may not be number one, but we're up there.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 23, 2008 11:49 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 1966

Joined: 13th Aug 2005

Ride: 2000 Au wagon

Location: some where in nsw
NSW, Australia

no no,,your car don't like optimax or synergy.

the car will tell you what fuel it likes and what it don't like,you just need to learn how to hear it.

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 23, 2008 12:45 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 108

Posts: 927

Joined: 27th Sep 2007

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

The fuel filter and fuel pump are both almost new.
I wouldnt say it would be starvation of fuel because it would be more noticeable at higher revs.
I have checked the timing and it looked ok, but not being able to adjust it i dont really see the point.
To get it to ping i dont even have to nail the throttle, i can squeeze it on and it will still ping for a second or two.
Could it be one of the sensors might be f**k?
It gets about 500km per tank around town and runs really well apart from the damn detonation.

 

_________________

165 Killer Wasps all packaged in a green kmart car, almost an explorer in a way...

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 23, 2008 5:18 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 49

Posts: 763

Joined: 5th Nov 2005

Ride: EF Fairmont

Location: oberon
NSW, Australia

Krytox wrote:
You cant adjust ignition timing in ef's.

I was going to steam clean the pistons when running to remove carbon deposits and see if this resolves it, however, the inside was spotless when i changed the head.
Its done it ever since I installed an AU gasket.

BUT

If i use vortex the car runs great!
Optimax/synergy just don't seem to like my car.

Sure I know how to work around it, but it shouldn't ping under a bit of load ever imo.


Looks like you answered your own question has to be fuell quality

 

_________________

ef fairmont ghia 5.0L
classy cruiser

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 23, 2008 5:22 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

try a colder plug..
this sometimes helps with detonation under load..
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 23, 2008 10:14 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 3737

Joined: 22nd May 2006

Ride: BF F6 Tornado - #0077

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

no suprises there mate, optimax is a load of s**t. not supprised at all your car makes rude faces when you use it

 

_________________

** For Sale ** http://www.fordmods.com/ford-parts-for-sale-f17/assorted-e-series-parts-t124697.html

F6 Tornado 2006 Build

Is it about sex? The engine in my car? Or a cure for cancer?
No?

Then f**k off

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Aug 24, 2008 8:10 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 108

Posts: 927

Joined: 27th Sep 2007

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

TROYMAN wrote:
try a colder plug..
this sometimes helps with detonation under load..

I did consider changing to a colder plug but i am mystified why it doesnt ping until redline, it only ever seems audible at around 2500-3500.
When ive had cars pinging before they started pinging under load and didnt stop and thats the way it normally is.
Do any of you guys run colder plugs?

 

_________________

165 Killer Wasps all packaged in a green kmart car, almost an explorer in a way...

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 12 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 26 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 6:42 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names