Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

Post subject: EF rebuild questions
Posted: Tue Aug 15, 2006 8:56 pm 
Technical Contributor

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: '95 EF's

WA, Australia

hey all

just need some help clarifying thoughts in my head/parts needed/prices/what to get done etc for my rebuild. i've got some of it sorted, but i'm pretty new to all this so confusing myself with a lot of it!

so, the deal is as follows: EF I6, taken from EFII Ghia w/ 150,000kms. all in v. good condition. stripped right down for rebuild.

starting from the top:

-have new lifters, will get injectors sorted (either recon stds or upgrade to 24's - have unichip to run), crow double valve springs, RPD Rspec4 cam, RPD rocker gear, tickford head, AU head gasket

questions: how much to shave head? how much to port & polish head? port-match? what to do with valves etc? i'm not too sure on all this, need to have some direction lol

bottom end:

-have new oil/water pumps, gaskets etc, want to redo all welch plugs, std crank, new harmonic balancer & pulleys etc, ACL race-series pistons & rings

questions: to hone/bore or not to? mechanic has looked over block, reckons its very clean, doesn't *need* any, but open to suggestions! what ACL pistons/rings to get? i realise this is based on any boring etc, but assuming stock, should i get replacement EF ACL ones, or go for earlier/later model ones?

please give an idea on costs - its going into the mechanic (i have *most* parts sorted) but need to know how much to have in the bank - all parts & machining will be at trade price, labour is not an issue - thats being sorted outside of these prices!

anything else, please suggest. motor is intended to be a strong N/A build (so i'm gunning for higher compression? 10.5:1 or so?) with unichip to run it all, in front of a T5 - just to give an idea what it'll be running with!

cheers!

R.I.P. Scotty

Posted: Wed Aug 16, 2006 4:09 pm 
Getting Side Ways

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: SF5 Forester

NSW, Australia