Fordmods Logo

ef running crap after plug change 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 10 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: ef running crap after plug change
Posted: Thu Jan 18, 2007 6:57 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 7

Joined: 30th Nov 2006

Location: Gold Coast
QLD, Australia

hi guys i decided to replace the plugs (NGK) with a new set of Bosch... after i did that she runs like a bag of snot! The old plugs were well and truly worn down.

Have i made a mistake by putting the bosch in?

any suggestions?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 18, 2007 7:00 pm 
Fordmods Addict
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 7958

Joined: 1st Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: Falcon

Power: 237 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

You put the leads on the right plugs?
define 'runs like a bag of snot?'

 

_________________

ED XR8 Sprint - S-Trim, V500, 249rwkw
BF MKII F6 Tornado - 237rwkw

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 18, 2007 8:38 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 4609

Joined: 29th Jul 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: BOXCAR

Location: Launceston
TAS, Australia

you probably didn't put one of the leads on the end of your new plug(s) on correctly.

 

_________________

^^^ What He Said

<a href="http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=44952" target="_blank" class="postlink"> TAS Cruises</a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 18, 2007 9:11 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 2550

Joined: 28th Jun 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: EF 5 Speed, XH Uterus :P

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

or the ECU needs to be reset to learn the new plug gap ;)

 

_________________

Maloo - Holden's word for ugly.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 18, 2007 9:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 2280

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: EF Falcon 95

Location: Rosebud
VIC, Australia

ok first check that all the leads are on the plugs tight, and on the points tight.

failing that pull the plugs out and check the gaps. I once did plugs on my s**t, ran like s**t, ended up being plug 6, had no gap at all, was squashed in the box.

 

_________________

Cougar Zero makes my pants fit nice.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 18, 2007 9:50 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 95

Joined: 8th Apr 2005

Location: perth
WA, Australia

and to answer one of you question, no you didnt make a mistake using bosch, i reakon ngk's are better but bosch are right up there especially the super 4 plus with 4 electrodes.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 18, 2007 9:51 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 7

Joined: 30th Nov 2006

Location: Gold Coast
QLD, Australia

bag of snot= poor idle, loss of performance

checked all the plug leads on tight and correct firing order.
The plugs came pregapped @1.1 mm
so im at a loss.....
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 18, 2007 10:00 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 42

Posts: 2893

Joined: 24th May 2006

Gallery: 21 images

Ride: XH B&S ute, Navara 4x4

Power: 202 rwkw

Location: Bordertown
SA, Australia

Sounds stupid but dissconect and reconnect the plugs one at a time. Islotae which cylinder it is and put the old plug back in. Possible you cracked the insulation when fitting (don't be :oops: , we've all done it). If fitting the old plug doesn't fix, try new leads. May have cracked the insulation on those replacing the plugs.

 

_________________

You'll ride a black tornado across the western sky

You'll rope an ol' blue norther and milk it 'till it's dry

Bulldog the Diamantina pin its ears down flat

Long before you take this cowboy's hat

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 18, 2007 10:12 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2644

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 8 images

Ride: 2007

Location: Mount Annan
NSW, Australia

You may have broken a lead taking one off. Remove them one at a time and isolate the one that is not firing.

 

_________________

BF Fairmont Ghia Series II update.
GQ XR6T ghia patrol.

,======o00o
//__|__|_,\_____\,___
|_/--\'_|'__|_/--\_[]IIII[]
_( o ) )_____( o ) )=o=) )__

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 18, 2007 10:17 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 7

Joined: 30th Nov 2006

Location: Gold Coast
QLD, Australia

yeah i'll check that tommorrow
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 10 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 8:09 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names