Fordmods Logo

EFI to carby conversion 

Page 1 of 2 [ 25 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

Post subject: EFI to carby conversion
Posted: Wed Oct 19, 2005 12:56 am 
Oompa Loompa

Ride: G60

VIC, Australia

Hi guys, newbie here, been looking for the past couple of hours but I can't find the info.

I have just purchased a carby XF and I was wondering if I got a 4.0L donk, some compatiable mounts, sway bar and stuff. Would I be able to get an intake manifold, or use existing manifold to fit a carby to the 4.0L motor?

As I will be running the car on LPG 98% of the time, this sort of negates the advantages of MPFI, and if I keep it carbified this should in theory take away alot of the trouble of looms and computers.

Do all the 4.0L engines have computer controlled spark? If not, which ones don't? either way there should be a relatively affordable spark/timing computer available to do the job. (I've seen them for $300 to suit chevs)

Ultimately a BA I6 would be the go but can these motors run without the ECU? I've read somewhere here that the AU I6 can't because of the VCT, does the BA I6 have VCT?

My aim is to get the newest/smoothest style of I6 that can be made to run on a carby, and go into an XF.

Cheers guys and thanks for any help.

Posted: Wed Oct 19, 2005 1:07 am 
Getting Side Ways

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: 1994 ED XR8 Sprint

QLD, Australia

afaik, you wont legally be able to do it, you'll have to keep to the emissions standards of the replacement engine

Banned

Posted: Wed Oct 19, 2005 1:32 am 
Oompa Loompa

VIC, Australia

Aha, that puts a bit of a downer on the subject, bummer.

I was obviously under the incorrect understanding that the emission standards were to suit the year of the car, not of the engine, maybe that should have been the first thing to look into.

Posted: Wed Oct 19, 2005 9:48 am 
Tyre Shredder

Ride: EB 5Spd

QLD, Australia