Fordmods Logo

el 98 futura.. won't take off 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 18 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: el 98 futura.. won't take off
Posted: Mon Jun 09, 2008 2:07 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 8

Joined: 17th Sep 2007

Location: Blacktown
NSW, Australia

Hello good people out there..

'have an intermittent problem with my EL 98 futura .. the engine is idling perfectly on a street corner, turning left or sometimeds turning right .. as soon as traffic is clear .. put my foot down normally to accelerate (turning to the left or to the right).. the rev would come up but the car won't take off it just set there... after several prostrating seconds it will eventually start moving..
Please is there anybody knows how I can fix this problem.

Bernie
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jun 09, 2008 2:10 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 10126

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EF Gli Ghia, XP Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

the engine revs up but you don't move or the engine fails to rev up ?

if the former sounds like your tranny needs a service - low on fluid ?

 

_________________

Owning 1 of 67612 EF GLi Sedans made
FACT: "Chuck Norris owns the greatest Poker Face of all-time. It helped him win the 1983 World Series of Poker despite him holding just a Joker, a Get out of Jail Free Monopoly card, a 2 of clubs, 7 of spades and a green #4 card from the game Uno."

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jun 09, 2008 3:05 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 8

Joined: 17th Sep 2007

Location: Blacktown
NSW, Australia

Thanks Happy,

The engine is revving up but won't move forward.. I just have the trasmission replaced (swapped with newly overhouled) couple of months back.... could it be the mapping sensor?

Kind regartds,
Bernie
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jun 09, 2008 3:18 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 1966

Joined: 13th Aug 2005

Ride: 2000 Au wagon

Location: some where in nsw
NSW, Australia

if it was the map sensor you'd see nothing but black smoke out the back and it wouldn't idle..has to be transmission related,,torque converter may be.

just so people know I'd suggest taking the hose off the map sensor just to see what happens,,then you'd know what i mean.

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jun 09, 2008 3:26 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 741

Joined: 29th May 2007

Ride: EF XR8 347

Power: 232 rwkw

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Did they put fluid in the tranny when they replaced it?... doesnt sound like it.

 

_________________

347 XR8 Build Thread

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jun 09, 2008 3:27 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 11739

Joined: 17th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont, VFR400 racer

Power: 144 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

s-tranzor wrote:
Did they put fluid in the tranny when they replaced it?... doesnt sound like it.


Another apprentice at work?

Take it back to the transmission place and tell them my car doesn't go as hard as it used to and tell them it only happened after they put the transmission in. They should check things over for you.

phong =P~

 

_________________

phongus = Post whore 2006
EL XR6 motor, EL ECU + J3 chip, WADE 1673 Camshaft, 3" S/S intake, Pacy 4480, 2.5" Hi flow cat, 2.5" Lukey exhaust.
Max Power = 144.6 rwkw (03/05/2008)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jun 09, 2008 3:27 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 8

Joined: 17th Sep 2007

Location: Blacktown
NSW, Australia

Thanks naughtyfalcon,

Hummmn, torque converter sounds bad & expensive I don't think I can do that kinda job.. maybe a transmission specialist to look @ the
torque converter ... is there anyway of testing a torque converter?

Kind regards,
Bernie
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jun 09, 2008 3:30 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 1966

Joined: 13th Aug 2005

Ride: 2000 Au wagon

Location: some where in nsw
NSW, Australia

can't really test them out of the vehicle,,they are either working or not working,,,if it had no fluid it would of died a painfull death by now.....

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jun 09, 2008 3:32 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 8

Joined: 17th Sep 2007

Location: Blacktown
NSW, Australia

Thanks Guys,
Sounds like a good idea to take it back to that transmission specialist eh?
Kid regards,
Bernie
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jun 09, 2008 3:36 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2098

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: egas bf xt

Location: Gosford
NSW, Australia

Does it change gear? Might be in limp home mode..?

 

_________________

I can see through wooden doors.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jun 09, 2008 3:36 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 8

Joined: 17th Sep 2007

Location: Blacktown
NSW, Australia

Thaks Guys,
I thought it was something I could have a go at and fixed it up myself..
Kind regards,
Bernie
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jun 09, 2008 3:43 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 8

Joined: 17th Sep 2007

Location: Blacktown
NSW, Australia

Thanks,
Its funny it seem to work properly on a straight line, gear selects and shift normally.. but when I'm in a corner turning left or right .. then thing plays up and won't move.
Kind regards,
Bernie
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jun 09, 2008 4:02 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 10126

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: EF Gli Ghia, XP Fairmont

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

check your tranny fluid - you can do that yourself..

 

_________________

Owning 1 of 67612 EF GLi Sedans made
FACT: "Chuck Norris owns the greatest Poker Face of all-time. It helped him win the 1983 World Series of Poker despite him holding just a Joker, a Get out of Jail Free Monopoly card, a 2 of clubs, 7 of spades and a green #4 card from the game Uno."

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jun 09, 2008 4:05 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 1966

Joined: 13th Aug 2005

Ride: 2000 Au wagon

Location: some where in nsw
NSW, Australia

hmm,,turning corners aye,,check the power steering switch,,they are on the same circuit,,if its shorting out it will stuff up the transmission as well.

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jun 09, 2008 4:21 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Posts: 8

Joined: 17th Sep 2007

Location: Blacktown
NSW, Australia

Thans Happy,
I'll be checking the tranny fluid..

Thanks naughtyfalcon,
The power steering switch, you wouldn't mind telling me its exact location?

Kind regards,
Bernie
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Alexa [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot] and 29 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 1:47 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names