Fordmods Logo

EL engine into EB... 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 17 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: EL engine into EB...
Posted: Fri Aug 11, 2006 11:22 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 1279

Joined: 5th Apr 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Toyota Supra RZ

Location: Burwood Nights
VIC, Australia

Hey guys,

I know that the EL engine will bolt into the EB and I'm gonna have to sort out things such as pulleys and what not..

a) BBM - I want to keep the BBM (I know the EEC-V's tune will be out etc..) because i will have my MSII running the show at some point, and i know i'll need an ef/el throttle cable but my question lies here.. can i retain my cruise control with the BBM??

b) Serpentine - Can I retain my old AC Compressor or will I need an EF/EL one?

Anything else to keep an eye out for?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 12, 2006 2:01 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

ill have a guess

a) if you can swap the cruise cable over to the EF/EL it would work fine (or modify the eb cable)

b) I think as long as you swap the mount over to the EF/EL style your OK. I think the compressors are the same but Ill check tomorrow to be sure.

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 12, 2006 2:09 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 3097

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 29 images

Ride: VU SS

Location: Ivanhoe
NSW, Australia

Modify the cable, that what I'm running at the moment, and the cruise works fine :)

 

_________________

EF Fairmont now Sold!
Guides: Polishing|Modifications |Manual Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 12, 2006 2:20 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 1279

Joined: 5th Apr 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Toyota Supra RZ

Location: Burwood Nights
VIC, Australia

Sweet as. Good to know.

Now i've just gotta

1) get the motor
2) get it in :\

But yeah I'm sure theres gonna be plenty more problems ;)
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 12, 2006 2:48 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 242

Joined: 17th Dec 2004

Ride: falcon eb

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

hey guys im looking at doing this same thing.

only prob is i have a t5 in it with a manualecu .wouldi have tochanged to a el ecu then modifi it to except the manualif i cant find a el manual ecu ?if that makes sence>?

also is there ne differance from the el fairmont motors to the std?


cheeres
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 12, 2006 2:53 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 1279

Joined: 5th Apr 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Toyota Supra RZ

Location: Burwood Nights
VIC, Australia

Well,

You could find an Auto EL ecu and fool it into thinking its running the auto by doing the resistor tricks (make it thing the cars in park, make it think the gearbox temp is nominal..

Could also use that as a temporary thing..

I suppose the other solution would be keep your manual ECU, and not use the BBM manifold and find some way to switch the thermos on and off..

Got a few choices but nothings ideal hey :idea: :idea:
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 12, 2006 2:58 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3772

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 33 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

bah ive got a nice low k's EL motor sitting here that needs a home, but is a lil heavy to post :(
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 12, 2006 3:02 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 1279

Joined: 5th Apr 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Toyota Supra RZ

Location: Burwood Nights
VIC, Australia

does it have 140k, full log books, had extra cooling lines tapped into the rear water jacket in the head and registered as a church company car??
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 12, 2006 3:02 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 242

Joined: 17th Dec 2004

Ride: falcon eb

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

lol true.

already have thermos in atm hooked up to a thermostat switch.

was looking at going to the bbm so yeh
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 12, 2006 3:12 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 1279

Joined: 5th Apr 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Toyota Supra RZ

Location: Burwood Nights
VIC, Australia

Well thats one less problem..

So now you know your options....

Run the old manifold....

or

Run the BBM and dont switch it? or leave it open? (no point really?)

or

Trick an Auto EL ECU and use BBM

or

use BBM and a manual el ecu! :P
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Aug 12, 2006 3:38 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 242

Joined: 17th Dec 2004

Ride: falcon eb

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

yeh but trying to come across a el manual ecu .is becoming a task. . al well ive got a lilltime illsee what i can dig up .cheeres for ya help guys
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EL engine into EB...
Posted: Sat Aug 12, 2006 10:47 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 5589

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 96 XH/97 EL

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

glenneaux wrote:
Serpentine - Can I retain my old AC Compressor or will I need an EF/EL one?
Can't remember from past threads whether the A/C pulley is the same all through, as mentioned you could remount it, optionally, leave it where it is and run an XH tensioner & belt.

 

_________________

96 XH Longreach 'S': LPG, Alarm, 3.23:1 LSD, Cruise, Trip Comp, ABS, Power Windows, Mid Series Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl
97 EL Futura S/W: LPG, Alarm, LED int Lts, Trip Comp, F/Lane Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl, T5 Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 14, 2006 2:00 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 1279

Joined: 5th Apr 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Toyota Supra RZ

Location: Burwood Nights
VIC, Australia

When fitting an EL engine into another car, obviously the easiest thing to do short of putting all the EB s**t onto it is to fit the EL ECU.

What's the easiest way to fit the EL ECU? Which looms do i need off the EL and is it plug and play with the correct looms??
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 14, 2006 2:06 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 11739

Joined: 17th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EL Fairmont, VFR400 racer

Power: 144 rwkw

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

i thought u could just take the whole EB engine out and chuck the EL engine in and change the ECU?.....like the EL engine with alternator, water pump, AC compressor...etc........into the EB engine bay? gee i feel dumb today

 

_________________

phongus = Post whore 2006
EL XR6 motor, EL ECU + J3 chip, WADE 1673 Camshaft, 3" S/S intake, Pacy 4480, 2.5" Hi flow cat, 2.5" Lukey exhaust.
Max Power = 144.6 rwkw (03/05/2008)

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Aug 14, 2006 2:12 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 1279

Joined: 5th Apr 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Toyota Supra RZ

Location: Burwood Nights
VIC, Australia

Well yeah man,

Basically i wanna take an el motor with el everything and drop it all in an EB and swap the looms in so i can use the el ecu.

I think the EL ecu can just be plugged in but theres a few extra wires .. so why run a bodgy one when you can just have the EL loom?

The extra stuff is with the EL motor/ecu is the BBM, the knock sensor and the thermo fans..
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot] and 18 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Tue Dec 19, 2017 2:13 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names