Fordmods Logo

el fairmont ghia ecu trouble 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 7 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: el fairmont ghia ecu trouble
Posted: Sun Oct 30, 2011 9:41 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 25

Posts: 21

Joined: 19th Apr 2008

Gallery: 42 images

Location: brisbane
QLD, Australia

gday just wondering if someone could help me out, or point me in the right direction. i have a el fairmont with a manual gear box in it, and i have a j3 chip in the auto ecu to make it think its manual, but i think the j3 chip is playing up and making my car run real rough. so i took the chip out and it runs fine, just doesnt go hard. is there another way to make the auto ecu into a mannual,?????


help would be much appreciated!
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: el fairmont ghia ecu trouble
Posted: Mon Oct 31, 2011 12:41 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline
User avatar

Age: 24

Posts: 130

Joined: 27th Jul 2011

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: 93 ed fairmont ghia

Location: Bulli
NSW, Australia

you can add resistors to specific wires on the ecu to trick it, but i would just get your j3 chip re programed.. if your car is stock and not running any cams or modifications an auto to manual tune is easy to achieve. if you dont already know. www.tiperformance.com.au j3 tuning soloutions.

 

_________________

ED Fairmont Ghia. t5 conversion w h/d exedy, 3:45:1 lsd, pacemaker extractors, 2.5" custom exhaust, waggott cam,K&N high flow panel filter, TI performance chip w/ 4 tune switch(2 ED, 2 EL tunes) king 18's, el thermo fan w/ Davis Craig switch. 5000K hids,led lighting, doof box in boot.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: el fairmont ghia ecu trouble
Posted: Tue Nov 01, 2011 12:48 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 25

Posts: 21

Joined: 19th Apr 2008

Gallery: 42 images

Location: brisbane
QLD, Australia

c james wrote:
you can add resistors to specific wires on the ecu to trick it, but i would just get your j3 chip re programed.. if your car is stock and not running any cams or modifications an auto to manual tune is easy to achieve. if you dont already know. http://www.tiperformance.com.au j3 tuning soloutions.



yeah i was thinking of looking into doing that resistor trick, but iv got no idea where to start or which wires to look for. but ill look at the j3performace website again, see if it can help me. but yer it has a 1673 cam? in it if thats what causing the problem?
thanks
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: el fairmont ghia ecu trouble
Posted: Tue Nov 01, 2011 1:13 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

auto to manual ecu resistor trick............
To trick the ecu into thinking it is it neutral you will have to add a 7k 1% rated resistor or a 6.8k-ohm resistor to pin 30.
And the other end of the resistor is to be spliced into pin 46(signal ground).

The next step is to trick the ecu into thinking the transmission temp is ok, by adding a 2.2k or a 1.2k rated resistor to pin 42 and splice the other end of the resistor to pin 46 as well. (The only difference in the resistors is that the higher the ohm on the resistor the cooler the ecu thinks the temperature is).
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: el fairmont ghia ecu trouble
Posted: Thu Nov 03, 2011 3:39 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 29

Posts: 2563

Joined: 19th Feb 2007

Gallery: 21 images

Ride: 98 EL Futura

Power: 199 rwkw

Location: Lilydale
VIC, Australia

I would do a proper tune, are your thermo fans stuck on?

 

_________________

EL Futura: CVE head, Wolf V500, ICE Ignition and Coil, 36lb injectors, Walbro 255lb, Paci comps, 3" exhaust, T5, Harrop Truetrac with 3.9s. Now with 198.9rwkw, (~185rwkw and 13.80 @99.1mph) with more power to come

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: el fairmont ghia ecu trouble
Posted: Fri Jan 06, 2012 5:32 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 22

Posts: 3

Joined: 19th Jun 2011

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Ford EF Falcon GLi

Location: Mildura
VIC, Australia

can anyone help me with the resistor trick on a ef fairmont, some step by step guide lines would be great, just stuck on this in the manual convertion
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: el fairmont ghia ecu trouble
Posted: Fri Jan 06, 2012 5:55 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 44

Posts: 3805

Joined: 22nd Apr 2007

Gallery: 5 images

Ride: DENTED UP OLD AUT WAGON

Location: Wellington
New Zealand

Just do as the PDF document says... You can trace the wires back to ECU if you want, I think they may be on different pins to the ED or EL ECU's...
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 23 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 1:33 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names