Fordmods Logo

EL Falcon in Limp Home Mode after polishing throttle body 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 17 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: EL Falcon in Limp Home Mode after polishing throttle body
Posted: Wed Apr 11, 2012 2:16 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 24

Posts: 332

Joined: 9th Dec 2010

Ride: EL GLi

Ok, yesterday I polished and half-shafted my throttle body. I put it all back together but with a new gasket I made on my idle control solonoid. When I drove it this morning, it was in LHM, wouldn't go into top gear, idles at anywhere from 1000 - 1500 rpm etc.

I've got the battery off to reset the ECU (for 1+ hours I seem to recall?), made a thicker gasket for my idle control solonoid, and also cleaned it out. I'll see if that works but I'm just after some info if there's any other main culprits for this. The only things I can think of are:

Broke wire to idle control solonoid
Broken idle control solonoid (dunno why it should suddenly break after I took it off?)
Leaking gasket
ECU s**t a brick because I turned the key onto accesory while the throttle position sensor and idle control solonoid were disconnected.

Cheers

 

_________________

Build Thread

the-garage-f53/benno-the-viking-s-el-t111731.html

Ain't nuthin' to it but do it!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EL Falcon in Limp Home Mode after polishing throttle body
Posted: Wed Apr 11, 2012 2:32 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 4307

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: EF Falcon XT-T

Location: Mornington Peninsula
VIC, Australia

did you plug the TPS back in?
is the TPS on the throttle body properly?

TPS is a major input to the auto, thats where i'd be looking.

 

_________________

FALCN6 - EF GLi Turbo, 20" Rims, Air Bag Suspension, Straight LPG, 225rwkw
DTHWGN - EA GL Wagon, LTD Interior, Satin Black, 5.0, Turbo
RACER - EF Futura , 5.0, 5 Speed
PROJECT - 83 Thunderbird, Lowered, 18" Billet Wheels
DAILY - BA Fairmont Ghia 5.4 3V

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EL Falcon in Limp Home Mode after polishing throttle body
Posted: Wed Apr 11, 2012 4:22 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 24

Posts: 332

Joined: 9th Dec 2010

Ride: EL GLi

Yeah I double checked it, when I put it on I made certain it was on properly, but as you said, I'll check it again. One thing I did notice when I took it off, I wound it around a bit to check it was all good, and it didn't spring back as freely as it did the time before. Perhaps it's buggered, I'll check with the voltmeter. 3000rpm @100km is painful :(

I unplugged the ISC and it stalled, so I assume it is at least working slightly?

 

_________________

Build Thread

the-garage-f53/benno-the-viking-s-el-t111731.html

Ain't nuthin' to it but do it!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EL Falcon in Limp Home Mode after polishing throttle body
Posted: Wed Apr 11, 2012 4:49 pm 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

i would say your tps is buggered...
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EL Falcon in Limp Home Mode after polishing throttle body
Posted: Wed Apr 11, 2012 4:55 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 24

Posts: 332

Joined: 9th Dec 2010

Ride: EL GLi

TROYMAN wrote:
i would say your tps is buggered...


Yeah, it seemed like I might have busted something inside of it when I turned it. I'm going to run the diagnostic test and see what's what.

 

_________________

Build Thread

the-garage-f53/benno-the-viking-s-el-t111731.html

Ain't nuthin' to it but do it!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EL Falcon in Limp Home Mode after polishing throttle body
Posted: Wed Apr 11, 2012 5:20 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 24

Posts: 332

Joined: 9th Dec 2010

Ride: EL GLi

Spot on guys, diag gave me a 122, which is TPS circuit low input, which can be caused by a ground in it where it shouldn't be IIRC. I guess I'll go pick up one from the wreckers...bugger. Might get 2 just in case.

 

_________________

Build Thread

the-garage-f53/benno-the-viking-s-el-t111731.html

Ain't nuthin' to it but do it!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EL Falcon in Limp Home Mode after polishing throttle body
Posted: Wed Apr 11, 2012 8:19 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 24

Posts: 332

Joined: 9th Dec 2010

Ride: EL GLi

I hate to be a pest, but has anyone had any luck from these from the wreckers? I'd assume if the car was running it'd be alright, I might grab a few if they aren't too expensive just to be on the safe side.

 

_________________

Build Thread

the-garage-f53/benno-the-viking-s-el-t111731.html

Ain't nuthin' to it but do it!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EL Falcon in Limp Home Mode after polishing throttle body
Posted: Wed Apr 11, 2012 10:32 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 24

Posts: 332

Joined: 9th Dec 2010

Ride: EL GLi

Cheers man. I took 2 off of our old EA (nifty setup on the CFI throttles, isn't it?) so I might just rig one of them up and see if it works. I will have to make a plug of some kind because I don't want to cut my loom.

Thanks heaps of all the help guys, I really appreciate it. :D

 

_________________

Build Thread

the-garage-f53/benno-the-viking-s-el-t111731.html

Ain't nuthin' to it but do it!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EL Falcon in Limp Home Mode after polishing throttle body
Posted: Thu Apr 12, 2012 12:30 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 5589

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 96 XH/97 EL

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

Might be better to get one off an EA MPFI or later - don't know if the CFI one's have the same resistance range. EA/EBI's MPFI will have two piggybacked - grab both.

 

_________________

96 XH Longreach 'S': LPG, Alarm, 3.23:1 LSD, Cruise, Trip Comp, ABS, Power Windows, Mid Series Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl
97 EL Futura S/W: LPG, Alarm, LED int Lts, Trip Comp, F/Lane Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl, T5 Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EL Falcon in Limp Home Mode after polishing throttle body
Posted: Thu Apr 12, 2012 6:46 am 
Moderator
Offline

Posts: 14513

Joined: 7th Nov 2004

Ride: ford falcon au3 xr8

Location: a shit suburb in sydney
NSW, Australia

if you can afford it, just buy a new one, put it on plug it in and its done...
otherwise a tps from eb2 and ed is the same as ef/el.....
i wouldnt bother trying to get a cfi one to fit and work.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EL Falcon in Limp Home Mode after polishing throttle body
Posted: Thu Apr 12, 2012 10:07 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 24

Posts: 332

Joined: 9th Dec 2010

Ride: EL GLi

snap0964 wrote:
Might be better to get one off an EA MPFI or later - don't know if the CFI one's have the same resistance range. EA/EBI's MPFI will have two piggybacked - grab both.


Yeah, the CFI I took it off has 2 stacked up, like how you see 2 variable resistors in the volume control of old stereos and amplifiers.

Bugger if the CFI one doesn't work. I'll look in the Gregories manual and compare the values to mine. I'll probably just do as Troyman said and hunt a new one down, less dramas.

Any idea why the CFI one needs 2? Because they both signal the same position as they are both on the same shaft?

 

_________________

Build Thread

the-garage-f53/benno-the-viking-s-el-t111731.html

Ain't nuthin' to it but do it!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EL Falcon in Limp Home Mode after polishing throttle body
Posted: Thu Apr 12, 2012 11:27 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 1322

Joined: 21st Dec 2004

Gallery: 40 images

Ride: EF GLi/Ghia bitsa

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Benno The Viking wrote:
snap0964 wrote:
Might be better to get one off an EA MPFI or later - don't know if the CFI one's have the same resistance range. EA/EBI's MPFI will have two piggybacked - grab both.


Yeah, the CFI I took it off has 2 stacked up, like how you see 2 variable resistors in the volume control of old stereos and amplifiers.

Bugger if the CFI one doesn't work. I'll look in the Gregories manual and compare the values to mine. I'll probably just do as Troyman said and hunt a new one down, less dramas.

Any idea why the CFI one needs 2? Because they both signal the same position as they are both on the same shaft?


One sends a signal to the engine ECU, and the other sends a signal to the automatic transmission controller (TCM) Theese are seperate modules on the EA and do not talk to each other.

Gab
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EL Falcon in Limp Home Mode after polishing throttle body
Posted: Thu Apr 12, 2012 11:51 am 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 53

Posts: 5589

Joined: 14th Jan 2005

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: 96 XH/97 EL

Location: South Coast
NSW, Australia

Looks like the CFI specs are the same, but as mentioned, get an EBII or later one, 2nd hand, and be done with it.

 

_________________

96 XH Longreach 'S': LPG, Alarm, 3.23:1 LSD, Cruise, Trip Comp, ABS, Power Windows, Mid Series Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl
97 EL Futura S/W: LPG, Alarm, LED int Lts, Trip Comp, F/Lane Dome Lt, Climate Ctrl, T5 Conversion

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EL Falcon in Limp Home Mode after polishing throttle body
Posted: Thu Apr 12, 2012 12:24 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 24

Posts: 332

Joined: 9th Dec 2010

Ride: EL GLi

Gab1 wrote:
One sends a signal to the engine ECU, and the other sends a signal to the automatic transmission controller (TCM) Theese are seperate modules on the EA and do not talk to each other.

Gab


I thought it must have been a case of something like that.

snap0964 wrote:
Looks like the CFI specs are the same, but as mentioned, get an EBII or later one, 2nd hand, and be done with it.


Yeah, the CFI bolt holes are different, and that brings in the other issue of the axis not lining up exactly with the end of the shaft etc. I've gotta go into town anyway so I'll get one. Thanks for all the help guys. :D

 

_________________

Build Thread

the-garage-f53/benno-the-viking-s-el-t111731.html

Ain't nuthin' to it but do it!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EL Falcon in Limp Home Mode after polishing throttle body
Posted: Thu Apr 12, 2012 12:46 pm 
Site Admin
Offline
User avatar

Age: 34

Posts: 8831

Joined: 18th Dec 2002

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: AUII V8 LTD

Power: 270 rwkw

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

I generally have found the TPS units to be reliable from the wreckers. That said, last time I was too lazy to go to the wreckers and just grabbed a new cheap one from eBay - it works great (so far)!

 

_________________

WAG363: AUII LTD Supercharged 363 Dart Stroker [Supercharged 363 LTD Build]
WAGGIN: 2012 Volkswagen Passat Wagon - V6 4Motion.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 9:06 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names