Fordmods Logo

EL Manifold onto an ED XR6 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 15 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: EL Manifold onto an ED XR6
Posted: Thu Oct 23, 2008 10:22 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 7

Joined: 9th Oct 2008

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: ED XR6 & XY GT

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

Hey, Im looking at doing the mod of an EL intake manifold onto my ED XR6.
I'm aware there needs to be a few changes such as Accelerator cable, air box etc etc...

But what i'm not sure about is which ECU i need to suit my car?

Taking into consideration that my car is a manual and has a Tickford motor in it, i'm thinking it may need a different ECU than if i was putting it into a standard Falcon.

Can anyone help me with this? thank you!

Mark.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 23, 2008 11:20 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 1279

Joined: 5th Apr 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: Toyota Supra RZ

Location: Burwood Nights
VIC, Australia

in terms of which ECU a tickford motor needs, depends on which fuel reg you're running.

if you get anl manifold with a tickford fuel regulator on the rail, you should be running a tickford ecu, and in your case you'd need a manual xr6 ecu.

if you dont have a tickford regulator you'll need a non tickford ecu.

manual xr6 ecu = big bucks btw/rare

im fairly certain you cant use the ED regulator on an EL rail
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 23, 2008 11:27 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3363

Joined: 27th Dec 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: MCMXCV Falcon

Location: G town
VIC, Australia

I wouldnt worry about the fuel reg too much...they run rich under load anyway and the O2 will teach it

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 23, 2008 11:45 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 7

Joined: 9th Oct 2008

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: ED XR6 & XY GT

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

Hmm this is getting a little complex for me.

Alternatively am i able to run my standard ECU but run a separate vacuum switch to change the variable length air runners than the EL has.

...if you catch my drift
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Oct 24, 2008 9:20 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 42

Posts: 1343

Joined: 14th Dec 2007

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: EL fairmont offroader

Location: seaspray
VIC, Australia

shiftkits.com sell rpm triggers, but i don't know if you would have to install a crank angle sensor to get the rpm signal to run it?

 

_________________

wrecking 9/97 EL fairmont sedan burgundy 6cyl auto 270k modBAintake

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Oct 24, 2008 10:31 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 40

Posts: 1667

Joined: 23rd Dec 2004

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: Boosted ED XR6, EBII Mont Wgn

Power: 252 rwkw

Location: Mildura
VIC, Australia

I have an EL XR6 manuel ECU for sale HERE..
http://www.fordmods.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=69615

 

_________________

Image
[SEXYR-6] ED XR6 T5 Turbo Build
[EBW-347] EB Wagon V8 Stroker Build
FordMods Member #1761

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Oct 25, 2008 12:43 am 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 7

Joined: 9th Oct 2008

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: ED XR6 & XY GT

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

Cool, were there any other changes needed to fit the EL ECU into the ED?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Oct 25, 2008 5:33 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 3737

Joined: 22nd May 2006

Ride: BF F6 Tornado - #0077

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

you can make a rpm activated kit from Jaycar for $15. i have one in the shed i was messing around with

 

_________________

** For Sale ** http://www.fordmods.com/ford-parts-for-sale-f17/assorted-e-series-parts-t124697.html

F6 Tornado 2006 Build

Is it about sex? The engine in my car? Or a cure for cancer?
No?

Then f**k off

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Oct 25, 2008 5:39 pm 
Fordmods Newbie
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 7

Joined: 9th Oct 2008

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: ED XR6 & XY GT

Location: adelaide
SA, Australia

So is there any other disadvantages i will have by running a standard ED ECU with an RPM switch?

Will i gain anything by making the change to an EL ECU?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Oct 25, 2008 6:50 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 5582

Joined: 20th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EB1 Fairmont Ghia T5 Wagon

Location: Seven Hills, Sydney
NSW, Australia

The fuel and ignition maps in the ED ECU won't match the BBM.

My advice is do it right, or don't bother. There are many who believe the Log manifold is a better high end performer than the BBM, so doing it half hearted may end up with you being worse off.

You can use an Auto EL ECU and use the resistor trick to make it work with the manual box. Search for an EL Ghia ECU as it has the same tickford maps as the XR ECU. You only have to run a couple of wires from the ECU to the BBM Switch Solenoid (which you will also need), and mess around getting the vac hoses sorted, to get it all working.

Cheers
BenJ

 

_________________

BenJ's EB T5 DOHC Ghia Wagon - Current Ride
BenJ's EB GL Sedan - Previous Ride
My respect and thanks go to - snap0964, Paulmac, SWC and MRE-50L

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Oct 26, 2008 12:20 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 3737

Joined: 22nd May 2006

Ride: BF F6 Tornado - #0077

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

i disargee

the ed head and the rest of the motor will require the same maps essentially. in fact, it will be neither an ED / EF map needed. it will be completely different.

you may find the ED manifold will be better in the high end, but the idea of the BBM was that it gave better drivability and economy in the low end.

but each to their own, maybe im just playing devils advocate.

would be an idea to chuck in the ECU and run the wire while your doing the job tho, save stuffing around with the switching

 

_________________

** For Sale ** http://www.fordmods.com/ford-parts-for-sale-f17/assorted-e-series-parts-t124697.html

F6 Tornado 2006 Build

Is it about sex? The engine in my car? Or a cure for cancer?
No?

Then f**k off

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Oct 26, 2008 12:26 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 5582

Joined: 20th May 2005

Gallery: 11 images

Ride: EB1 Fairmont Ghia T5 Wagon

Location: Seven Hills, Sydney
NSW, Australia

I have tested this. The EL ECU has fuel and ignition maps that are written to work with the switching of the BBM to take advantage of the change in air flow and speed.

Using the incorrect ECU with the incorrect Manifold results a slightly off feeling. Yes, they work, but I was never happy with the way the car drove. It was not as smooth and felt a*** under throttle.

It is not that hard to hook up the correct ECU to make the BBM work as it should.

BenJ

 

_________________

BenJ's EB T5 DOHC Ghia Wagon - Current Ride
BenJ's EB GL Sedan - Previous Ride
My respect and thanks go to - snap0964, Paulmac, SWC and MRE-50L

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Oct 26, 2008 12:28 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3363

Joined: 27th Dec 2004

Gallery: 4 images

Ride: MCMXCV Falcon

Location: G town
VIC, Australia

fiftyone wrote:
you can make a rpm activated kit from Jaycar for $15. i have one in the shed i was messing around with


last time i looked they were heaps more than that ($50) i think

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Oct 26, 2008 12:32 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 3737

Joined: 22nd May 2006

Ride: BF F6 Tornado - #0077

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

gogetta wrote:
fiftyone wrote:
you can make a rpm activated kit from Jaycar for $15. i have one in the shed i was messing around with


last time i looked they were heaps more than that ($50) i think


i may be mistaken. i do get along with the guy in town quite well, he may have helpped me out on that one???

 

_________________

** For Sale ** http://www.fordmods.com/ford-parts-for-sale-f17/assorted-e-series-parts-t124697.html

F6 Tornado 2006 Build

Is it about sex? The engine in my car? Or a cure for cancer?
No?

Then f**k off

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Oct 26, 2008 8:49 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 5540

Joined: 31st Oct 2005

Gallery: 28 images

Ride: NC II Fairlane

Location: morayfield
QLD, Australia

i paid 45 for my old RPM switch, but threw it out and done it right, im running the EL XR6 Hybrid motor and a EL Ticky ECU. there is no point doing it half assed as bej said, do it right or dont do it at all.

i ran the ticky motor but withthe NC computer for a while and the power loss over what i have now is huge.

if you were in QLD you can have seen whats involved. im doing an exchange for someone next sunday.

 

_________________

Member #7418
KB Laser White lightning Turbo - B6T
Turbo NC II Fairlane Ghia
http://www.fordmods.com/the-garage-f53/my-new-nc-ii-fairlane-dial-up-warning-t50380.html

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 15 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 4:22 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names