Fordmods Logo

EL motor losing power under load 

 

Page 3 of 3 [ 43 posts ] Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3

 
 Post subject: Re: EL motor losing power under load
Posted: Wed Feb 13, 2013 7:11 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 1110

Joined: 27th Dec 2011

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: ef falcon futura

Power: 154 rwkw

Location: Koo Wee Rup
VIC, Australia

what chip is it? if its a t.i. chip you can send it back and get a retune if need be. but that doesnt fix your problem if its got a mechanical fault

 

_________________

ef futura, pacemakers, 2.5inch catback, k&n panel filter and 3.45 lsd. extractors/cat, ticky head, custom cam grind, t5. now onto cosmetics.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EL motor losing power under load
Posted: Wed Feb 13, 2013 7:13 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 25

Joined: 4th Apr 2012

Ride: AUI Fairmont Ghia 5.0L V8

Location: Toowoomba
QLD, Australia

It isn't a T.I chip. I'm still trying to find out what chip it is, the guy who got it only asked what fuel we are running, didn't check a dyno sheet and it was before the car was started or run in.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EL motor losing power under load
Posted: Wed Feb 13, 2013 7:21 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 1110

Joined: 27th Dec 2011

Gallery: 6 images

Ride: ef falcon futura

Power: 154 rwkw

Location: Koo Wee Rup
VIC, Australia

can you get a pic of it. we may be able to identify it.

 

_________________

ef futura, pacemakers, 2.5inch catback, k&n panel filter and 3.45 lsd. extractors/cat, ticky head, custom cam grind, t5. now onto cosmetics.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EL motor losing power under load
Posted: Wed Feb 13, 2013 7:22 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 25

Joined: 4th Apr 2012

Ride: AUI Fairmont Ghia 5.0L V8

Location: Toowoomba
QLD, Australia

I'll try to take a photo and post it Saturday.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EL motor losing power under load
Posted: Wed Feb 13, 2013 7:31 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 218

Joined: 17th Sep 2012

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: EL Fairmont

Power: 12 rwkw

Location: in the 'beff
SA, Australia

it wouldnt be the bbm not switching over at high revs would it?

 

_________________

EL Mont- mods: 2.5" catback, clear indicator repeaters.

Planned mods: Boooooooooooooossssssssst :D

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EL motor losing power under load
Posted: Wed Feb 13, 2013 7:31 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 25

Joined: 4th Apr 2012

Ride: AUI Fairmont Ghia 5.0L V8

Location: Toowoomba
QLD, Australia

buckets4LTR wrote:
it wouldnt be the bbm not switching over at high revs would it?


What's a BBM?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EL motor losing power under load
Posted: Wed Feb 13, 2013 7:40 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 218

Joined: 17th Sep 2012

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: EL Fairmont

Power: 12 rwkw

Location: in the 'beff
SA, Australia

The el intake manifold is a broad band manifold. the intake runners are variable length/volume because it has a flappy doodad (technical term!) that switches over at high rpm. Im not sure if would cause the problems you are having if it wasnt working though.

 

_________________

EL Mont- mods: 2.5" catback, clear indicator repeaters.

Planned mods: Boooooooooooooossssssssst :D

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EL motor losing power under load
Posted: Wed Feb 13, 2013 7:42 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 25

Joined: 4th Apr 2012

Ride: AUI Fairmont Ghia 5.0L V8

Location: Toowoomba
QLD, Australia

buckets4LTR wrote:
The el intake manifold is a broad band manifold. the intake runners are variable length/volume because it has a flappy doodad (technical term!) that switches over at high rpm. Im not sure if would cause the problems you are having if it wasnt working though.


How can I check and/or fix this problem?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EL motor losing power under load
Posted: Wed Feb 13, 2013 7:57 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 33

Posts: 218

Joined: 17th Sep 2012

Gallery: 3 images

Ride: EL Fairmont

Power: 12 rwkw

Location: in the 'beff
SA, Australia

Got a gregorys? like i said im not even sure it would cause the problems you are having mate, maybe one of the big boys will be able to help ya out. If it is stuffing up though it should throw a code.

 

_________________

EL Mont- mods: 2.5" catback, clear indicator repeaters.

Planned mods: Boooooooooooooossssssssst :D

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EL motor losing power under load
Posted: Sat Feb 16, 2013 1:47 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 25

Joined: 4th Apr 2012

Ride: AUI Fairmont Ghia 5.0L V8

Location: Toowoomba
QLD, Australia

It's a running a Moates chip at the moment. but they didn't know AFRs before it was tuned.

Also, I just noticed that someone has written "EL Auto" on the computer but it's got a manual box. Does this mean I need to get the new chip set up for a manual conversion?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EL motor losing power under load
Posted: Sat Feb 16, 2013 2:03 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 1507

Joined: 14th Aug 2009

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: BA XT V8

Location: Gosnells, Perth
WA, Australia

buckets4LTR wrote:
flappy doodad (technical term!).


probly looking for the term "butterflies".

but i like flappy doodad better too :lol: :lol: :lol: :P :P

 

_________________

BA XT V8. Ice Mint. 18" Speedys. XR6T LSD. Full Pacemaker twin 2 1/2inch Stainless Steel system. Custom CAI. Black XR interior with white trimming. Powerbond underdrive kit 25%.
13.65@102mph. 2800 hi-Stall.
230RWKW@5250 rpm. 625NM.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EL motor losing power under load
Posted: Sat Feb 16, 2013 2:12 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 25

Joined: 4th Apr 2012

Ride: AUI Fairmont Ghia 5.0L V8

Location: Toowoomba
QLD, Australia

Could it have anything to do with ISC not functioning correctly?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: EL motor losing power under load
Posted: Thu Feb 21, 2013 12:18 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Age: 26

Posts: 25

Joined: 4th Apr 2012

Ride: AUI Fairmont Ghia 5.0L V8

Location: Toowoomba
QLD, Australia

It was done by Bullet Performance and he is of the opinion that it is just blocking smartshield/smartlock but he doesn't have any notes on what he did to it.

At a guess I think this might mean that the car is running a stock tune. Could that be why it has around 50hp missing at the rear wheels?
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 3 of 3  [ 43 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 14 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 5:15 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names