Fordmods Logo

el police ecu 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 25 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: el police ecu
Posted: Fri Apr 14, 2006 12:09 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 68

Joined: 6th Jan 2006

Ride: EL Futura

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

I have an el futura with extractors and a stage 1 alted cam. I'm thinking about making my next step a police ecu. What I want to know is the difference in air-fuel mixtures compared to my standard computer, and how it will affect the gearchanges. Will it allow the engine to rev out more, does it change gears at different speeds, does it kickdown faster and change any firmer. Also, does it change how the economy switch works??
Anything you can tell me about it will be great. Cheers.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Apr 14, 2006 12:31 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 95

Joined: 22nd Jan 2006

Ride: Falcon XR6

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Just a wild guess, but I'm guessing it wouldn't have the speed limiter?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Apr 14, 2006 12:49 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 1618

Joined: 12th May 2005

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: BA 3V Tunna

Location: S.E. Melbourne
VIC, Australia

yeah i'm pretty sure there's no speed limiter, different shift pattern, there's a few more too
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Apr 14, 2006 1:52 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 41

Posts: 59

Joined: 18th Jan 2006

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AU II Fairmont

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

I've recently put an ex cop pcm back into my el. the qld police used to remove them b4 selling their cars. I've noticed smoother running, sharper response, and terrible fuel consumption. i mite as well have a v8 with the fuel consumption- i've on average lost 80-100 klms to a tank. it frys the tyres, tho... :roll:

 

_________________

AU II Fairmont congo green FG mags

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Apr 14, 2006 4:17 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1079

Joined: 18th Sep 2005

Ride: AUII Fairmont

Location: Belmont
WA, Australia

No speed limiter
Different shift points

Economy switch still works
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Apr 14, 2006 4:24 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 376

Joined: 9th Feb 2006

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

hmmmmm did the cop BA sixes (nonturbo) have cop ecu's? if so, where can you get them?

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Apr 14, 2006 4:32 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1079

Joined: 18th Sep 2005

Ride: AUII Fairmont

Location: Belmont
WA, Australia

You can't buy them from Ford you have to take them out of an ex cop car

Not sure how it works now but my car still has all the cop bits in it
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Apr 14, 2006 5:37 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 41

Posts: 59

Joined: 18th Jan 2006

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AU II Fairmont

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

TwistedEL wrote:
You can't buy them from Ford you have to take them out of an ex cop car

Not sure how it works now but my car still has all the cop bits in it


Dont know if they are a different computer anymore- the police department receives the new cop cars programmed into police mode- and when they sell them, they de-activate the police mode before releasing them to auction. A friend of mine had a GOOD contact with-in a ford dealership, and his BA now has police mode with speed capture reactivated.

in the days of when they were different, you needed a vin number to order the opt20 parts. eg- EF to AU3

 

_________________

AU II Fairmont congo green FG mags

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Apr 14, 2006 5:42 pm 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 376

Joined: 9th Feb 2006

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

i wish it were as simple as going to the dealership and someone will program it for the BA

do you reckomend anywhere to go?

also, can i allow the rev limiter to kick in at 6500 or 7000 instead of 6000?

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Apr 14, 2006 5:50 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1079

Joined: 18th Sep 2005

Ride: AUII Fairmont

Location: Belmont
WA, Australia

It probably doesn't get "activated" as much as reflashed with totally new data
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Apr 14, 2006 5:50 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline
User avatar

Age: 41

Posts: 59

Joined: 18th Jan 2006

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AU II Fairmont

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

He was posted at Emerald at the time. you could try your luck, but dont hold your breath..

 

 

Attachments:
File comment: Heres His speedo re-activated
BAspeedo.jpg
BAspeedo.jpg [ 26.91 KiB | Viewed 18 times ]

 

_________________

AU II Fairmont congo green FG mags

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Apr 14, 2006 8:50 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

EL cop ecus run a 210Km/h speed limit, also no change in fuel maps, different shift points (very similar to XR6). The only reason youd get one is to go up to 210Km/h.. and thats not really even a rational reason.


Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Apr 15, 2006 11:19 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 68

Joined: 6th Jan 2006

Ride: EL Futura

Location: Brisbane
QLD, Australia

justfordima wrote:
EL cop ecus run a 210Km/h speed limit, also no change in fuel maps, different shift points (very similar to XR6). The only reason youd get one is to go up to 210Km/h.. and thats not really even a rational reason.


Cheers


That's disappointing, I thought it would at least have an xr6 fuel map. So you don't think it's worth it even for sharper gear changes?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Apr 15, 2006 2:26 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3083

Joined: 22nd Sep 2005

Gallery: 13 images

Ride: EF

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

not when the $10 shift kit will do it even better for a fraction of the price, a very good mod for the cost.

 

_________________

Image
latest mod: A Service
MY BUILD THREAD

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Apr 15, 2006 2:53 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 2799

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 7 images

Ride: Falcon

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

shift kits is a whole different ball game, if you want the gears to hold out longer, and be more aggressive, then yeah... I mean, if you get one for free, stick it in, not worth like $100 but.

Shift kit is a good idea...

But yeah, dont bother with tickford or excop ecus, the differences are so minimal, you just HOPE there was a change.


Cheers

 

_________________

;++JustForDimSim++;

Cheap, fast and reliable.. choose 2.

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 1:21 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names