Fordmods Logo

Elec Problem 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 4 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: Elec Problem
Posted: Thu Jan 18, 2007 9:44 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 539

Joined: 30th Nov 2004

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

hi i have a EA falcon originaly 3.9MPFI 3speed , converted to EB 4.0MPFI and 5speed (was done before i got the car)

i am having some electrical problems, seems like a bad earth.

i wanted to know what ECU was in it, followed the Gregory's manual. i didn't remove the Plugs at all from the ECU i just moved it forward alittle bit so i could read the code. got the code put it back re-atached the Neg terminal
Then when i tried to start it instead of it cranking over the Dash lights come on some ticking noise form the engine bay.

as i got out of car doors locked. they wouldnt open using remote.
checked the neg terminal on the battery and when i removed the Black cover the doors opened. so seems like it is a bad earth problem.

Any idea's how to diagnose ?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 18, 2007 9:47 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 30

Posts: 95

Joined: 8th Apr 2005

Location: perth
WA, Australia

check all your fuses. are all the ligts working? power windows? i wouldnt see it being because you moved the ecu, unless when you replaced the earth back on it poped a fuse? I dunno on that car but the ef's have some igniion fuses undewr the bonnet. but check the inside ones first
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Jan 18, 2007 9:58 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 539

Joined: 30th Nov 2004

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

indicators are not working properly rest seemed fine.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Jan 19, 2007 4:14 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 539

Joined: 30th Nov 2004

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Checked all fuses inside - 1 top left corner 15A was blown replaced, still same problem.

all relays seem to work fine, one looked a bit dodgy (was the one on my twin thermo's i think) so i replaced with the High Beam relay (left that empty) and same thing

most electrics work fine - except Fan switch and Hazard lights switch when i turn either of them on - the power to the car seems to shut off and resets.

can u start the car with the high beam/horn/low beam replays not in ?

and the replay closest to the front of the car is a different type (Pin 30 and 87 are swapped to the others) is this normal ?
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 4 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 24 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 11:52 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names