Fordmods Logo

engine dying at cruise, fuel related I think 

 

Page 1 of 3 [ 34 posts ] Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

 
 Post subject: engine dying at cruise, fuel related I think
Posted: Sat Jun 17, 2006 10:11 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1549

Joined: 27th Apr 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: AU Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

The auto EA has been stalling at light loads and idle for no apperant reason. On light throttle the revs can suddenly drop, I try pumping the throttle and nothing happens then a few moments later the car kicks back into life. sometimes it completely stalls other times it just drops revs and refuses to make power.

I have changed the fuel filter but this did not fix the problem

I will check the TPS tommorow with a multimeter at the ecu. Does anyone have any other suggestions?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jun 17, 2006 10:21 pm 
Technical Contributor
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 1452

Joined: 27th Apr 2005

Ride: BA

Location: campbelltown
NSW, Australia

injectors?

 

_________________

"Chuck Norris does not sleep. He waits."
"Chuck Norris is so fast, he can run around the world and punch himself in the back of the head."
"Chuck Norris ordered a Big Mac at Burger King, and got one."

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sat Jun 17, 2006 10:58 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1549

Joined: 27th Apr 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: AU Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

is it likely that injectors can be so unpredictable and intermittent? I thought of them but I dont understand how they could be the problem given the symptoms.

I have also cleaned the spark plugs but the probmlem is persisting
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jun 18, 2006 7:16 am 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 31

Posts: 247

Joined: 24th Nov 2005

Location: Brissy
QLD, Australia

tfi module on dizzy breaking down under heat.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jun 18, 2006 2:26 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1549

Joined: 27th Apr 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: AU Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

cheers, what is the job of the tfi? what does it stand for and how do i test it?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jun 18, 2006 6:17 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1549

Joined: 27th Apr 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: AU Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

bump
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jun 18, 2006 7:50 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 38

Posts: 56

Joined: 14th Nov 2005

Ride: ef fairmont, ba futura

Location: GERALDTON
WA, Australia

on the intake throttle body there is an idle control valve (forgoten what it called) it is held on by two 10mm bolts and 1 electrical plug. take that off and check it is not all blocked up.

 

_________________

FORD =
Fun On Rainy Days

got 4g to spend on mods. but dont know were to start.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jun 18, 2006 7:54 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 37

Posts: 1500

Joined: 14th Nov 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: SE Melb
VIC, Australia

I was thinking about the distributor too. Check engine timing too.

 

_________________

Instant Karma is gonna get you!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Sun Jun 18, 2006 9:08 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1549

Joined: 27th Apr 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: AU Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

how can I test the tfi? Timing wouldnt cause this intermittent problem unless it was able to be changed randomly so checking the base timing wont show much
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jun 19, 2006 12:57 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 32

Posts: 2098

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: egas bf xt

Location: Gosford
NSW, Australia

the tfi module has the ability to alter the base timing.

 

_________________

I can see through wooden doors.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jun 19, 2006 1:07 am 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1549

Joined: 27th Apr 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: AU Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

I thought so. How can I test it?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jun 19, 2006 2:33 am 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

just put a new 1 on
u need special computer test equipment from memory

they use the same tfi module from XE/XF's iirc

common problem as they get hot they f**k up!

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jun 19, 2006 9:01 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1549

Joined: 27th Apr 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: AU Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

I know i shoudl ring up ford, but does anyone know roughly how much one will cost?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jun 19, 2006 10:21 pm 
Fordmods Junkie
Offline
User avatar

Age: 38

Posts: 1000491

Joined: 6th Nov 2004

Gallery: 2 images

Ride: AUXR6 HP With Ducati SupA Bike!

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

Blu Falc wrote:
I know i shoudl ring up ford, but does anyone know roughly how much one will cost?


DO NOT CALL FORD

call a decent auto parts store

covs, auto 1 or repco

 

_________________

RIP SCOTT

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jun 19, 2006 10:40 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 1549

Joined: 27th Apr 2005

Gallery: 1 images

Ride: AU Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

ok, I was going to go into ford to pick up a shift boot anyway. Repco is closer. will go in tommorow
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 3  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 24 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 8:13 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names