Fordmods Logo

Engine not reaching temp 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 17 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: Engine not reaching temp
Posted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 4:38 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 3737

Joined: 22nd May 2006

Ride: BF F6 Tornado - #0077

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

Hi guys,

cars not getting to temp. heard that the radiator needs a flush and the temp sensor needs replacing cause it could be full of sand. the reason its so cool is because the probe is sending a faulty signal to the thermostat and not allowing it to warm up.

Any other idea's?

Cheers

 

_________________

** For Sale ** http://www.fordmods.com/ford-parts-for-sale-f17/assorted-e-series-parts-t124697.html

F6 Tornado 2006 Build

Is it about sex? The engine in my car? Or a cure for cancer?
No?

Then f**k off

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 4:42 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 35

Posts: 1993

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Ride: BA2 XR6T

Location: Mount Colah
NSW, Australia

thermostat might be stuck open ?

 

_________________

BOOSTED

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jun 13, 2006 5:21 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 54

Posts: 4102

Joined: 18th Nov 2004

Gallery: 10 images

Ride: PX2 Ranger 4x4 XLT Dual CAB

Location: Carrum Downs
VIC, Australia

The temp probe doesn't control the thermostat! Thermostat contains a wax, when the wax melts enough themostat starts to open.

If its not getting hot enough, themostat is faulty.

If radiator needed cleaning out the engine would be running too hot.

 

_________________

Image
She's meanness put to music and the b**ch is born to run!
Like the sign says, "speed's just a question of money. How fast can you go?"

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 03, 2006 3:51 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 3737

Joined: 22nd May 2006

Ride: BF F6 Tornado - #0077

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

My engine still isn't getting really hot on the dash, dont know what to do. ive already replaced the thermo and it warms up a bit quicker.

 

_________________

** For Sale ** http://www.fordmods.com/ford-parts-for-sale-f17/assorted-e-series-parts-t124697.html

F6 Tornado 2006 Build

Is it about sex? The engine in my car? Or a cure for cancer?
No?

Then f**k off

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 03, 2006 4:31 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3772

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 33 images

Ride: EL Fairmont Ghia

Location: Hobart
TAS, Australia

does your heater work fine still or is it blowing cold air?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 03, 2006 4:48 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 3737

Joined: 22nd May 2006

Ride: BF F6 Tornado - #0077

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

heater works fine

 

_________________

** For Sale ** http://www.fordmods.com/ford-parts-for-sale-f17/assorted-e-series-parts-t124697.html

F6 Tornado 2006 Build

Is it about sex? The engine in my car? Or a cure for cancer?
No?

Then f**k off

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 03, 2006 6:41 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 1966

Joined: 13th Aug 2005

Ride: 2000 Au wagon

Location: some where in nsw
NSW, Australia

its winter,,how hot do you expect it to get ?

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 03, 2006 8:27 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 3737

Joined: 22nd May 2006

Ride: BF F6 Tornado - #0077

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

dont really know, but the temp dial has only ever gotten to the 'a' in "NORMAL" on the dash.

 

_________________

** For Sale ** http://www.fordmods.com/ford-parts-for-sale-f17/assorted-e-series-parts-t124697.html

F6 Tornado 2006 Build

Is it about sex? The engine in my car? Or a cure for cancer?
No?

Then f**k off

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 03, 2006 8:35 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 49

Posts: 1966

Joined: 13th Aug 2005

Ride: 2000 Au wagon

Location: some where in nsw
NSW, Australia

so long as it doesn't go over half way and you know it's not over heating then don't get to worried about it.

 

_________________

Image

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Jul 03, 2006 8:40 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 31

Posts: 3893

Joined: 15th Nov 2004

Gallery: 24 images

Ride: BF MKII V8 Fairmont Ghia

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

fiftyone wrote:
dont really know, but the temp dial has only ever gotten to the 'a' in "NORMAL" on the dash.


well, it appears to be "A" is within "NORMAL" so its fine ;)

 

_________________

2007 Steel BF Ghia MKII V8 - 19" GTP's + Superlows

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jul 04, 2006 2:00 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 70

Posts: 55

Joined: 19th Mar 2005

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

'A' is normal but if you are worried take out the thermostat put in a kitchen pot of warm water put on stove and see if it opens and closes, or there is a number on the thermostat than is the degree C it opens you can buy different degree C e.g yours is probaly 84(degrees C) put in a 91 for a later opening , thus you should see your gauge go to about 'M' KEEP yor old one just in case you have overheating next summer
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jul 04, 2006 2:31 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 30

Posts: 3737

Joined: 22nd May 2006

Ride: BF F6 Tornado - #0077

Location: Bendigo
VIC, Australia

no, brand new 91.

 

_________________

** For Sale ** http://www.fordmods.com/ford-parts-for-sale-f17/assorted-e-series-parts-t124697.html

F6 Tornado 2006 Build

Is it about sex? The engine in my car? Or a cure for cancer?
No?

Then f**k off

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jul 04, 2006 4:33 pm 
ACT Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 36

Posts: 6275

Joined: 24th Nov 2004

Ride: '06 BF GT-P

Power: 293 rwkw

Location: Canberra
ACT, Australia

Replaced my themostat last week, engine wouldn't even move the needle above the C. And was running uber rich.

After replacement it sits at the A in NORMAL. And is running as it should.

 

_________________

1998 DL LTD in Sparkling Burgundy, daily, 302W, stereo, slow - 97.5rwkw
2006 BF GT-P in Ego, mods. 293rwkw - 12.427@109 - 0-1000m 24.838@221

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jul 04, 2006 8:05 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 29

Posts: 3928

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: ED 5 Speed GLiXR

Location: Now in Brisbane
QLD, Australia

Geez mine rarely goes over A, if at all it reaches A. normally only gets to L.

 

_________________

17" Tezza Steelies, King F**king lows, pedders sports ryders, 2.5" cat back exhaust, pacemaker extractors, T5 manual
Low, loud and Slow

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Tue Jul 04, 2006 9:25 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Age: 34

Posts: 756

Joined: 21st Nov 2005

Gallery: 25 images

Ride: 1999 AU futura

Location: griffith
NSW, Australia

My XH ute runs between the M and L i see the needle go up and down when the thermostat opens.I think you are worrying abit if you start your car and the needle goes straight up and keeps going i would be worried if its been running high than it has been like up near the N or O i would suggest you reverse flush the cooling system and replace your thermostat and get your radiator flushed and cleaned also the outside cleaned in between the fins.

 

_________________

COMING SOON,XD WITH A TURBO...CLEVO STYLE

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 24 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 12:19 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names