Fordmods Logo

engine running rough only when in gear 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 9 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: engine running rough only when in gear
Posted: Wed Dec 17, 2008 6:26 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 29

Joined: 10th Oct 2007

Location: Toowoomba
QLD, Australia

Hi everyone

I recently changed the head on my 95 ef wagon, and after swearing a hell of alots after finding four rounded head bolt i finally got it all done and back together, thanks for the help in getting them off.

The problem i now have is that the engine is running smooth when you rev it but when you put it in gear the revs drop and it run rough.

does anyone have an idea on what could be wrong or have i just missed something.

any help
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Dec 17, 2008 7:47 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Age: 37

Posts: 266

Joined: 8th Aug 2007

Gallery: 30 images

Ride: xd 351, AUII XR6.... R.I.P ef fa

Location: Prestons
NSW, Australia

probably vaccum leak from a hose some where

 

_________________

<a href="http://s154.photobucket.com/albums/s278/stephen351/?action=view¤t=resize2.jpg" target="_blank"><img src="http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s278/stephen351/resize2.jpg" border="0" alt="resize"></a>

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Dec 17, 2008 8:03 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 222

Joined: 21st Apr 2008

Ride: EBII

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Mine did the same before it went into hibernation.
I changed my spark plugs to new ones. The old ones were brownish and covered in soot. The new ones made a huge difference to idle. Most notably when the engine was warm, with the new plugs, it hardly dropped revs at all

 

_________________

Brand New Distributor: $50 + other stuffs
forums/viewtopic.php?t=73696&highlight=ebii
... "And the mountains shall drop sweet wine and the hills shall melt"...

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Wed Dec 17, 2008 9:57 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 1221

Joined: 11th Nov 2007

Ride: f6 rspec

Location: Sydney
NSW, Australia

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Dec 18, 2008 1:48 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 222

Joined: 21st Apr 2008

Ride: EBII

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Would engine mounts cause intermittent roughness at idle though?

 

_________________

Brand New Distributor: $50 + other stuffs
forums/viewtopic.php?t=73696&highlight=ebii
... "And the mountains shall drop sweet wine and the hills shall melt"...

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Dec 18, 2008 4:24 pm 
NSW Cruise Moderator
Offline
User avatar

Age: 39

Posts: 7331

Joined: 5th Nov 2004

Gallery: 12 images

Ride: TE50

Location: ɹǝpun uʍop
NSW, Australia

how long have you had it running for? taken it for a drive? remeber when you disconnect the battery you reset the ECU. If you have taken this into account, I would suggest you look at leads, sounds like as soon as the car goes into gear the engine is under load and thats when your miss develops, or runs rough as you put it.

 

_________________

Image

I have a car.

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 19, 2008 4:55 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 29

Joined: 10th Oct 2007

Location: Toowoomba
QLD, Australia

Thanks for your replies.

i have taken it for a drive and this has helped quite a bit but there is still a miss there.

I have also cleaned the contact points on the TP, MAP senors.

It actually feels like a fuel blockage but it is not there all the time.

I will be putting new plugs in as soon a i get home and maybe some leads if needed.

How does one reset the ECU after having the battery discounted?

Cheers
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Dec 19, 2008 7:20 pm 
Smokin em up
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 222

Joined: 21st Apr 2008

Ride: EBII

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

The ECU resets when the positive terminal is disconnected from the battery for say 10 mins

 

_________________

Brand New Distributor: $50 + other stuffs
forums/viewtopic.php?t=73696&highlight=ebii
... "And the mountains shall drop sweet wine and the hills shall melt"...

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Mon Dec 22, 2008 1:28 pm 
Oompa Loompa
Offline

Posts: 29

Joined: 10th Oct 2007

Location: Toowoomba
QLD, Australia

I went back over everything i did and found that i didnt replace the plugs, a big oversight but it is all fixed now.
Thanks to everyone for there help and merry vmas to u all
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 9 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 14 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 11:51 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names