Fordmods Logo

guages? 

 

Page 1 of 1 [ 11 posts ] 

 
 Post subject: guages?
Posted: Tue Feb 16, 2010 12:13 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 84

Joined: 9th Jul 2009

Ride: xr6 au 111

Location: perth
WA, Australia

hey all i thinking bout getting some gauges ,I know they mointior your engine but our they worth buying?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: gauges?
Posted: Tue Feb 16, 2010 1:00 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 54

Posts: 844

Joined: 12th Aug 2007

Gallery: 22 images

Ride: AU2 XR8 ute & 91 EA bitsa

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

It all depends on what you want them for. For example, if you've got a race car or an engine with forced induction temperatures & oil pressure, etc are more critical. Hence the need for accurate gauges. If your existing gauges are faulty, you might choose to install some better ones.

Then there's people, like me, who add gauges as dressup items even though they're not really needed. If you're particular about the presentation of your car interior, then making them look like a factory installation can be a challenge at times.

 

_________________

AU2 XR8 with Raptor VL, ported Yella Terra GT40P heads, Scorpion 1.6 RRs, XE264HR-14 Comp Cam, ceramic coated Hurricane Headers, 60lb injectors, Walbro 255, 200cfi cats, 3" exhaust & Snow Performance water methanol injection

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: guages?
Posted: Tue Feb 16, 2010 3:02 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 4326

Joined: 30th Oct 2006

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: Envi EF

Location: Grafton
NSW, Australia

I'm guessing that in your AU you'll have oil pressure, temp and volts already.
I bought a vacuum gauge today, and its something I would recommend. Oil temp and gauges with actual numbers for oil pressure and water temp would also be pretty handy, though not necessary.

 

_________________

>>>EF Futura T build<<<

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: guages?
Posted: Tue Feb 16, 2010 8:12 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 107

Posts: 164

Joined: 25th Jan 2010

Ride: 1999 au series 1

Location: sydney
NSW, Australia

talking of gauges in au's! do one of you members happen to have a picture of where to mount maybe three gauges !i dont want to to start drilling holes in my dashboard !
and the centre panel wich to me looks like a coffin is useless !
is there a gauge holder wich can be fixed somewhere in the au maybe up the door front pillar . :(
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: guages?
Posted: Tue Feb 16, 2010 10:37 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 54

Posts: 844

Joined: 12th Aug 2007

Gallery: 22 images

Ride: AU2 XR8 ute & 91 EA bitsa

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Here's an example what one chap made up. Looks great, but it's in an EA. I suppose you could make up something to fit an AU pillar.

post846891.html?highlight=

On another web site, they mention it's illegal to have pillar-mounted gauges in NSW. Maybe someone else here can verify this.

http://www.fordforums.com.au/archive/in ... 23577.html

 

_________________

AU2 XR8 with Raptor VL, ported Yella Terra GT40P heads, Scorpion 1.6 RRs, XE264HR-14 Comp Cam, ceramic coated Hurricane Headers, 60lb injectors, Walbro 255, 200cfi cats, 3" exhaust & Snow Performance water methanol injection

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: guages?
Posted: Tue Feb 16, 2010 11:06 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 4326

Joined: 30th Oct 2006

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: Envi EF

Location: Grafton
NSW, Australia

Yeh its above a certain height or something, I cant be fuked looking it up but it basically means a pillar gauges are illegal.
I've got mine sitting flat on the dash up against the a pillar atm, and am looking for a 2/3 gauge holder that is slimline. I'll take a pic tomoro sometime
btw if you want a pillars,
http://www.modyourcar.com.au/dual-pilla ... lcon-p5989 ea-ed
http://www.modyourcar.com.au/dual-pilla ... lcon-p5990 ef-el
http://www.modyourcar.com.au/dual-pilla ... lcon-p5986 au-ba

 

_________________

>>>EF Futura T build<<<

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: guages?
Posted: Wed Feb 17, 2010 8:38 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 84

Joined: 9th Jul 2009

Ride: xr6 au 111

Location: perth
WA, Australia

wats the go on the vacum gauge is it handy to pik up leaks?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: guages?
Posted: Wed Feb 17, 2010 8:42 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 84

Joined: 9th Jul 2009

Ride: xr6 au 111

Location: perth
WA, Australia

wat would u guys recomend i should get its a NA xr6 au
i was thinking vacum and fuel to air.due to the car is flash tuned im thinking fuel to air would be a good choice.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: guages?
Posted: Wed Feb 17, 2010 8:53 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 4326

Joined: 30th Oct 2006

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: Envi EF

Location: Grafton
NSW, Australia

Have a look at that for what the vac gauge is good for.
http://www.secondchancegarage.com/public/186.cfm

Air/fuel is no good as the sensor in the exh. is either on or off, so your gauge will swing from full rich to full lean. Not sure what other gauge you should get, I'm in the same boat atm, I want another 1 or 2 but want them to be functional :|

My phone f**k up today and wont go into the camera so I cant take pics atm.

 

_________________

>>>EF Futura T build<<<

Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: guages?
Posted: Wed Feb 17, 2010 9:11 pm 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Age: 27

Posts: 84

Joined: 9th Jul 2009

Ride: xr6 au 111

Location: perth
WA, Australia

so when i install one i just hook it up to the pcv hose and the other to the battery?haha i never done this before
Top
 Profile  
 
 
 Post subject: Re: guages?
Posted: Wed Feb 17, 2010 9:37 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 4326

Joined: 30th Oct 2006

Gallery: 18 images

Ride: Envi EF

Location: Grafton
NSW, Australia

Ok well it does depend on what gauge you get. I can recommend the Calibre (supercheap) brand, they are quite good quality and accurate. Plus the white face with blue backlight is pretty good looking too.
Anyway, yeh you'll need to tap into the vac line, I cut the line running to the fuel reg in half and fitted the supplied T piece in there, and then ran the smaller 2.5mm hose from there to the gauge. The length of 2.5mm hose is just long enough to go from the fpr to the gauge, and it goes through the firewall about halfway up. IMHO it would be worth buying another piece 2m in length. its not expensive.
Also needed to wire in constant 12v, an earth, and a 0/12v illumination wire to tell it to light up at night. Just tap into the wires in the dash.

 

_________________

>>>EF Futura T build<<<

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 1  [ 11 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], johny23 and 14 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 1:41 am All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names