Fordmods Logo

Hanging Revs 

 

Page 1 of 2 [ 23 posts ] Go to page 1, 2  Next

 
 Post subject: Hanging Revs
Posted: Thu Oct 12, 2006 6:34 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 416

Joined: 7th Apr 2006

Ride: ea falcon

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

Ay boys,

Im having issues with my revs hanging at idle at about 1250-1700rpm but sometimes it sits "normal" at 900rpm but more often than not its hanging up higher! Any suggestions?

Details, it is a manual, 3.9ltr, with head work, exhaust, cam and intake, with other bits and pieces!

Have already changed the IAC and fiddled with other things to no success, any help greatly appreciated!

 

_________________

EB XR6 project almost complete!

Soon on road with pics!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 12, 2006 6:40 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 1310

Joined: 12th Dec 2005

Location: Perth
WA, Australia

you using the auto or manual ecu? or does it not matter with EAs?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 12, 2006 6:43 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Probably a sticky ISC/IAC. Unplug it for a while and see if it stops. If it does, pull it off and give it a clean out with some carby cleaner or similar.

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 12, 2006 7:19 pm 
Stock as a Rock
Offline

Age: 41

Posts: 158

Joined: 10th Apr 2006

Ride: XE 351 & BA XT FALCON

Location: Thornlie
WA, Australia

My ed was doing similiar.I got a new distibutor(worn)and coil (small crack)and shes now sweet.
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 12, 2006 9:59 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 416

Joined: 7th Apr 2006

Ride: ea falcon

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

stockstandard wrote:
Probably a sticky ISC/IAC. Unplug it for a while and see if it stops. If it does, pull it off and give it a clean out with some carby cleaner or similar.


Can you safely drive without the IAC as it only plays up after the first time I pull up(ie not on startup ever) I have had a look at the IAC(pain in the a*** to get to) And it was pretty dirty but when I changed units (for a second handy) it had the same problem.

 

_________________

EB XR6 project almost complete!

Soon on road with pics!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 12, 2006 10:03 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 416

Joined: 7th Apr 2006

Ride: ea falcon

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

paul3518 wrote:
My ed was doing similiar.I got a new distibutor(worn)and coil (small crack)and shes now sweet.


What did a dizzy and coil cost you?

Instant result?

 

_________________

EB XR6 project almost complete!

Soon on road with pics!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 12, 2006 10:11 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Posts: 3115

Joined: 20th Dec 2004

Ride: Falcon

Location: Adelaide
SA, Australia

Yep you can drive around without an IAC (most people with big cams end up doing it). You may have to screw the idle up a little though.

Paul: id say if replacing your dizzy fixed a high idle then the problem was the timing was to advanced and when the new dizzy went it it went in the right spot.

 

_________________

Stoke me a clipper, I'll be back for Christmas

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 12, 2006 10:14 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 4305

Joined: 6th Jul 2005

Ride: BA xr8 Magnet ute

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

Well buddy, You did mention you have modded the exhaust, extractors, Hot cam and intake, your bound to have idle problems, just out of curiosity, which camshaft are you running?
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 12, 2006 10:15 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 416

Joined: 7th Apr 2006

Ride: ea falcon

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

Alright sweet will give it a crack over the weekend

 

_________________

EB XR6 project almost complete!

Soon on road with pics!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 12, 2006 10:18 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 416

Joined: 7th Apr 2006

Ride: ea falcon

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

Southy wrote:
Well buddy, You did mention you have modded the exhaust, extractors, Hot cam and intake, your bound to have idle problems, just out of curiosity, which camshaft are you running?


Its a crow cam they advertise it in car mags as "instant 120rwkw for your ford 6" Think its stage 2, not sure of the specs though, it hardly effected the idle before the T5 went in it was only slightly lumpy and now it hangs, but it didnt hang straight after T5 conversion, it took about a month.

 

_________________

EB XR6 project almost complete!

Soon on road with pics!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 12, 2006 10:22 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 4305

Joined: 6th Jul 2005

Ride: BA xr8 Magnet ute

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

check all your map sensor pipes are correctly fitted, also pay to check the pipes leading into the rocker cover and also the black valve can sometimes fail
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 12, 2006 10:27 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline

Posts: 416

Joined: 7th Apr 2006

Ride: ea falcon

Location: melbourne
VIC, Australia

Southy wrote:
check all your map sensor pipes are correctly fitted, also pay to check the pipes leading into the rocker cover and also the black valve can sometimes fail


You mean the hoses from the rocker cover? how would these affect?

 

_________________

EB XR6 project almost complete!

Soon on road with pics!

Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Thu Oct 12, 2006 10:28 pm 
Getting Side Ways
Offline
User avatar

Age: 28

Posts: 4305

Joined: 6th Jul 2005

Ride: BA xr8 Magnet ute

Location: Melbourne
VIC, Australia

go start it up and pull that valve out and ull find out :lol:
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Oct 13, 2006 12:03 am 
Parts Gopher
Offline

Posts: 76

Joined: 1st Oct 2005

Location: Cairns
QLD, Australia

test the power steering switch
Top
 Profile  
 
 
Posted: Fri Oct 13, 2006 12:14 am 
Tyre Shredder
Offline

Age: 32

Posts: 353

Joined: 27th Nov 2005

Gallery: 9 images

Ride: AUII XR6 VCT

Location: Canning Vale
WA, Australia

coils are $50 and i got a brand new bosch dizzy with a bosch module for $280 but ive heard of places like cov's selling them for $300+. Makes a hell of a difference but.

 

_________________

www.aufalcon.com/dunkly

Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:
Sort by  
 Page 1 of 2  [ 23 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Swalgerman and 26 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

 

 

It is currently Thu Dec 14, 2017 7:50 pm All times are UTC + 11 hours

 

 

(c)2014 Total Web Solutions Australia - Australian Web Hosting and Domain Names